[Important Que] How do sg get more land without invading other countries?

xllms

If sg never sell away Christmas Island, we would have land overseas and natural resources
SG had little to no control in the sales of Christmas Island as it was all made by the British Government. Singapore was given the money of the sales but had no power to stop nor negotiate the transfer. Still don't understand why this is brought up time and again.

fortunecat

There is only so much SG can reclaim land within the internationally recognised and accepted boundaries. There is also only so much population such land can accommodate. Assuming SG can gradually increase population beyond the projected 10M to approx.15M (as an example purely for discussion purpose) with a controlled yet near optimised manner to benefit the economy and provide fairly balanced comfort to the general population. After that what‘s next?

In addition, doing this intensive increase in population within this limited land, any screw ups will have significant impact on the population living the country. How will the people react? Will the people hold the government responsible? And in what manners?

End of the day, there is so much land the population can live on. One fine day, we have to face the reality that the country will need more land. The issue then is when will we have the political will to face this issue squarely and objectively.

Or will the world move beyond the concept of “countries?
Since when we projected a 10m population? :eek:

xllms

Just build taller buildings.
overly simplistic solution with little to no consideration to ppl living within. As i said, there is only so much we can reclaim and build which include intensifying land use without drastically affecting the balance on comfort. Yes, if we push to the extreme we can build upwards with no care on comfort and just ensure meeting KPIs and earning more money. This is not the way SG should move forward in terms of development, imo.

cpuer

"They have got all the resources. If they would just educate the Chinese and Indians, use them and treat them as their citizens, they can equal us and even do better than us and we would be happy to rejoin them.” Lao Lee interview 1996

fortunecat

everyone can denounce it officially to avoid all the negative feedbacks, but signs are pointing towards that direction, imo.
10m is a 66% increase from now. I dun know what signs are pointing to that

AndroidComa

you are looking at official residents number to base that 66%
but if we include tourists, FDWs and FWs, FTs, i think the increase will be smaller

fortunecat

you are looking at official residents number to base that 66%
but if we include tourists, FDWs and FWs, FTs, i think the increase will be smaller
Dun get what you mean. Current 6 million population already include majority of these except tourists

cyke69sg

overly simplistic solution with little to no consideration to ppl living within. As i said, there is only so much we can reclaim and build which include intensifying land use without drastically affecting the balance on comfort. Yes, if we push to the extreme we can build upwards with no care on comfort and just ensure meeting KPIs and earning more money. This is not the way SG should move forward in terms of development, imo.

I agree with you.
Years back I assessed the situation. SG already so crowded!!!!! So competitive!!!! Cost of housing already so high!!!!

So what will happen if SG progresses and does well economically? Likely more or less people? MORE PEOPLE!!!!

Need more or less housing??? MORE HOUSING!!!!! Build smaller units and taller buildings!!!! MORE CROWDED!!!!

Property price go up? If SG economy good and more people likely MORE EXPENSIVE!!!!

Now what if......what if somehow SG less people. Property price drop drop drop cheaper and cheaper. SG less and less crowded. Less demand for housing and space. Cars also cheaper. COE no need.

That would mean SG economy GG liao!!!!! Is that better or worse?

I dunno. Anyway I look at it is NO WIN SITUATION.

Stay in SG and fight and fight pia pia pia try to get rich but everything keep going more expensive. Kids life will be more stress!!!!!! If things become cheaper and less expensive means SG siao liao.

So I decided better I try my future in another country more stable with LOTS OF LAND. So I moved to the 2nd largest country in the world by land mass. Sure not all of the land is inhabitable but really need all the land when got so much land?

xllms

the official answers and reported figures are pointing towards approx. 6.9-7M population. Masterplanning information are supporting it.
1. Tengah Town
2. Great Southern Waterfront
3. East Coast Land Reclamation
4. Paya Lebar Air Base
5. Sembawang Shipyard redeveloped into a mixed use waterfront district
6. Kranji Racecourse
7. Marina Bay Area

This will happen in our lifetime, well within 2050. The MRT expansion is also meant to ensure good connectivity all over the island for this purpose.

Beyond 7M population will be the next phase once this has settled down (or happen concurrently). Investments into infrastructure will happen before that happens, eg.
1) land: reclamation and underground usage
2) flood resistant
3) water
4) electricity
5) waste management
6) traffic connectivity
7) policies on old HDB flats
8) expansion of Tekong and other islands to facilitate relocation of more Army & Navy camps thus freeing up more land for development

Perhaps i shouldn't say signs are pointing towards 10M, but signs are pointing towards in preparation towards the possibility of a much larger population. eg. beyond 7M even to 10M or beyond. Whether the people in power actually do so, will depends on the political, economical and social conditions.

DragonFire

Buy land overseas? But no country will sell it as sovereign land

Merge as special economic zones? Feasible, like the jb sg sez
Islands have already dissapeared in some SEA countries because of Singapore. It most certainly has ways of buying land from other countries.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.