2 people stabbed in Yishun Central after apparent neighbour dispute; alleged attacker arrested

windwaver

Some people think that they are invincible and outside of the reach of the law.

They just will not listen to the police, mediation centre or MP.

They have no respect for the authorities and their neighbours.

They tend to be inconsiderate and refuse to discipline their children.

They also have no respect for the old people and like to taunt them.
Your first three lines enough to wreck havoc already, these people cannot stay within a community, need to ship out to Alcatraz.

Shinkkai

Once receive complaint from noise below for the above unit, gov should make it compulsory for that above unit to use thick gym mats for placing of any objects no matter what time of the day, and also use heavy duty felt cushion pads for all their tables and chairs. If got young children, must use those kind of rubber mats.

Penalties for non compliance, and subsequent flouting will result in increasing fines etc. Things should improve from there.

bigrooster

Killing is criminal and wrong.

And we as outsiders do not know what actually transpired between the parties, leading on to the killing in the end.

But having said that, for those who outright called the killer uncle siaolang, OCD or intolerant, have a look at the available information.

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20250925-7569539?ref=today-news-section-card-11

受访邻居都对嫌凶涉案难以置信,他在那里居住超过20年,一直都乐于助人,也会主动打理五楼走廊上的花花草草。

同楼印族女住户(63岁,家庭主妇,不愿具名)说,嫌凶是好好先生,待人友善。“从来没看过他发脾气,也不曾听他投诉楼上邻居。我这周才跟他说过话,应该是有什么触动他的神经才酿祸,知道是他行凶,我很震惊。”

她说,嫌凶习惯早起,浇花后会骑脚踏车到附近巴刹,有时会帮邻居跑腿。他的太太还在打工,平日早出晚归。
Neighbours had only good things to say of the uncle. He was described as friendly and helpful, with no known anger management issues nor complaint about neighbours. If the said uncle was indeed a siaolang, then during the decades he has been living there, he would have complained about his upstairs old neighbour already. Something might have triggered his complaints and then killing only after the victim's family moved in 2 years ago. What caused the changes?

And for those who said with sweeping statements that kids are like that one, and those who complained must not have kids themselves: bear in mind, there are different kinds of kids and parents. Some parents would teach their kids the right thing and what not to do to cause nuisance to others (like the EDMWer in an earlier post), while others simply disregard others and forget 己所不欲 勿施於人. There are really some idiotic neighbours who create noises that torment their downstairs neighbours for years; those who experienced it will know.

Shinkkai

Some above units will also use the excuse of they are just doing their daily activities to mask their intention of harassing the below unit with sound etc.

*Sisyphus*

Once receive complaint from noise below for the above unit, gov should make it compulsory for that above unit to use thick gym mats for placing of any objects no matter what time of the day, and also use heavy duty felt cushion pads for all their tables and chairs. If got young children, must use those kind of rubber mats.

Penalties for non compliance, and subsequent flouting will result in increasing fines etc. Things should improve from there.
Too much work for the useless jlb civil serpents to do la. Hibernate more important .

If they had done any work, the vape issue wouldn't be what it is now.

*Sisyphus*

And we as outsiders do not know what actually transpired between the parties, leading on to the killing in the end.

But having said that, for those who outright called the killer uncle siaolang, OCD or intolerant, have a look at the available information.

Neighbours had only good things to say of the uncle. He was described as friendly and helpful, with no known anger management issues nor complaint about neighbours. If the said uncle was indeed a siaolang, then during the decades he has been living there, he would have complained about his upstairs old neighbour already. Something might have triggered his complaints and then killing only after the victim's family moved in 2 years ago. What caused the changes?

And for those who said with sweeping statements that kids are like that one, and those who complained must not have kids themselves: bear in mind, there are different kinds of kids and parents. Some parents would teach their kids the right thing and what not to do to cause nuisance to others (like the EDMWer in an earlier post), while others simply disregard others and forget 己所不欲 勿施於人. There are really some idiotic neighbours who create noises that torment their downstairs neighbours for years; those who experienced it will know.
Like i mentioned...no matter how good a person's temperament is, given enough pressure also will break. Like they always said, the usually nicest person, when he breaks, u prepare to kena jl jl...

Some more, knowing the typical vietbus and the wife is also dat kind,..hmmm...

bigrooster

Sounds good. But even after the noise complaints were validated to to be true, they won't do it. Continue to JLB and monitor. Many a times, the only option is for the victim to move out.

kensk76

20 years ago not siao doesn't mean now is not . Some illness takes time to manifest.
Everyone please take care and stay healthy.

evildoer

I observe most neighbour disputes that result in violence leading to death and injury happen in public housing. Fewer such incidents in condos and private properties. Probably due to majority of population live in public housing
culture are completely different between private and public housing dweller

i live in both before... In public housing... basically if u hold the lift door for someone with children, they will ask the children to say "thank you" and strike a conversation .. it's not weird to say "ur children are cute"

in condo.. i have never received a "thank you" for doing that.. but people are more reserved and quiet.. i stay for 3 yrs didn't talk to any neighbour before.. or try to know them. The kids are really more well behaved.. even at the pool side, no children playing after 6pm. and i felt that if u compliment their children , neighbour there will see you as weird.. really peaceful at night. I think the parents really teach their children to be mindful to others..

SO DON"T KEEP SAYING CHILDREN HOW TO CONTROL.. because you are lazy to discipline .

i am extreme introvert side.. so the lifestyle really good.. i mind my own business and the neighbours keep their business to themselves. No neighbour here to borrow salt or soya sauce.

Kanko San

i live in both before... In public housing... basically if u hold the lift door for someone with children, they will ask the children to say "thank you" and strike a conversation .. it's not weird to say "ur children are cute"

in condo.. i have never received a "thank you" for doing that.. but people are more reserved and quiet.. i stay for 3 yrs didn't talk to any neighbour before.. or try to know them. The kids are really more well behaved.. even at the pool side, no children playing after 6pm. and i felt that if u compliment their children , neighbour there will see you as weird.. really peaceful at night. I think the parents really teach their children to be mindful to others..

SO DON"T KEEP SAYING CHILDREN HOW TO CONTROL.. because you are lazy to discipline .

i am extreme introvert side.. so the lifestyle really good.. i mind my own business and the neighbours keep their business to themselves. No neighbour here to borrow salt or soya sauce.

Yes.
Parents can control or educate their children not to create more noise, so that the neighbourhood is conducive to stay.

But, sad to say, some self-centred Parents can encourage their children to play jumping or skipping at home, dragging furniture, walk like elephant n play loud musical instrument daily for at least 60 mins.

evildoer

Really all of us have different tolerance to noise.. some can sleep , some cannot fall asleep.

in this case.. things escalate until like this.. i believe the parents also brought it to themselves.. they must have let or even encourage their children to make noises.. just to purposely to pissed off the old man.. Because the poor old man DID seek help from the authority.. Like there's is nothing u can do, u complaint also no use, i will even make your life worse..

it's sad.. but let this be an example.. to all parents.. "Children will be children" is not an excuse.. you cannot afford a bungalow for your children .. u need to live in an apartment or flats.. u are living together with others.. just be mindful

bncnrx78

Physical crime has been on the rise with 75 knife-related incidents reported in the first half of 2025.

Woah... MP, town council, SPF not doing enough to stop neighbour disputes?
This was why the old man took matters into his own hands.

qhong61

Can u pls feedback

qhong61

Didn't know condo so unfriendly

evildoer

i think it's all because of our upbringing .. some parents think let the children be..

Cause my parents never discipline me for being noisy before.. we play in void deck , run in the old hdb long corridor.. but that time people somehow are more tolerable to noise then.. cause we never get complained before.. as long as we don't get into trouble.. like damaging our people property or kick the ball into someone.

Time changes already .. not every one grew up to learn to respect others , how not to be a nuisance to other. how not to understand basic manner and etiquette.. these are the people do not feel shame .. they will turn out to be these kind of people because their parents never taught them right and themselves never grew up to learn..

Talk very loudly on the phone in public transport
playing video on speaker in public transport
standing right in front of the mrt gate.. rush in immediately without letting other all alight first.
Litterbugs
Humping your vehicle when pumping petrol in JB

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.