2 people stabbed in Yishun Central after apparent neighbour dispute; alleged attacker arrested

W1n7f1r3

Agreed. If go, the vietbu will said he is sensitive to light sound n blab blab blab.

Just like the case of a woman who had to move out, cos her upstairs keep playing piano that stress her family.

You may like piano but the lady after years of controlling her dislike to the music, can become stress n hv to move out.
So the laws going to protect the family that created the noise ?

There's a tolerance limiti to noise or wadever irritates ppl
It may sounds gd to one but nt to the others
The law is there to protect ppl but how it protects ppl is subjecting cuz the supposed punishments mete out to perpetrators may nt seem fair to outsiders or they hav higher access to resources to narrate to escape punishments due so as common ppl we dun hav the say tht it's nt fair cuz they go thru the judicial system n it is there to serve ppl
So it remains how the process ruling goes n we hav to accept wad it is even going for higher appeal etc

jumpthepig

Those direct complain n have dispute usually is neighbour know who is the one causing the noise. Upstair unit it may not be directly upstair.

Can install noise monitoring unit at neighbour downstair and remote monitor. The one with the loudest noise at same time mean it closest to the source of noise.

If not install at both parties. The one kena complain and the one complaining. Later ask the one complaining just note down the so call date n time of the noise and counter check with their equipment at both side. So difficult rocket science ?

Look like there will be a lot of noise detectors all over the place monitoring for weeks or months. Then that house owner cannot make any noise for weeks or months, so that they don’t affect those noise detectors???No? 🤣

There are thousands of noise complaints every month - Can HDB/TC cope?

All type of noise has some unique noise profile. Better be very sure that correct noise profile captured. To avoid accusing the wrong neighbour. Good luck.

bigrooster

Y din the old man go for mediation? Ijit even go riao the noise will still b there cuz there's no appropriate actions on respective stakeholders to solve the dispute over the yrs? Sud the authorities follow up or the stakeholders continue wad the situation carry on till it go downhill?
Who has to bear the biggest responsibilities?
For all wad has happened irreversible dmgs have been done no use saying old man din go medication
Authorities sud go on n follow up the situation when the dispute has been for yrs :unsure:
There are details which we outsiders do not know. It may not be as simple as the old man not being co-operative and hence skipping the mediation. The old man was heard saying that the younger couple had sent lawyer letters (presumably to sue) to him. If so, what is the point of doing to the so-called mediation? He might get humiliated more there (like some people here said, a little bit of noise you also could not tolerate, maybe you should go IMH) and achieve nothing.

It is very easy to make assumptions based on the known info that the younger couple had printed pamphlets to detail their innocence and the old man act of killing (while being a nice guy for the past 20+ years living there, until 2 years ago when the couple moved in. There were no known complaints to his old neighbour at level 6 previously).

Now that the killing act was complete, it is easy to ignore other questions, but to simply frame the old guy as a siaolang and intolerant OCD who cannot even stand a tiny bit of noise, and was the sole cause of the mediation not taking place.

byfun

Agreed. If go, the vietbu will said he is sensitive to light sound n blab blab blab.

Just like the case of a woman who had to move out, cos her upstairs keep playing piano that stress her family.

You may like piano but the lady after years of controlling her dislike to the music, can become stress n hv to move out.
So the laws going to protect the family that created the noise ?

That y use scientific way to measure sound is most objective. Dont care its music or ktv ..etc.

If the decibel exceed the stated threshold enforce the one creating noise to make a sound proof room for whatever piano or ktv if not kena fined loh.

byfun

Look like there will be a lot of noise detectors all over the place monitoring for weeks or months. Then that house owner cannot make any noise for weeks or months, so that they don’t affect those noise detectors???No? 🤣

With tech nowadays they can remote monitor and read the data. System auto reporting ..etc ? So difficult again ?

If house owner dont make any noise all the better it mean noise issue resolved. No ? How much can sound monitoring equipment cost nowadays ? Better than gov go thru what mediation, mps, court case ..etc waste of manpower and resources and doesnt even solve issue.

jumpthepig

That y use scientific way to measure sound is most objective. Dont care its music or ktv ..etc.

If the decibel exceed the stated threshold enforce the one creating noise to make a sound proof room for whatever piano or ktv if not kena fined loh.

Living in sound proof room? Hearsay, some people can become insane also.

jumpthepig

With tech nowadays they can remote monitor and read the data. System auto reporting ..etc ? So difficult again ?

If house owner dont make any noise all the better it mean noise issue resolved. No ? How much can sound monitoring equipment cost nowadays ? Better than gov go thru what mediation, mps, court case ..etc waste of manpower and resources and doesnt even solve issue.

The problem - some noise is sporadic… nobody know when it will appear.. how long you wish to spend for one case to conclude “No Noise Found”?

What if some people say “one month it happens a few times”…. What if some people say “it sounds like this…..and it also sounds like that ….” What if some are not even exactly sure how it sounds like??? 🤣

tokong

There are details which we outsiders do not know. It may not be as simple as the old man not being co-operative and hence skipping the mediation. The old man was heard saying that the younger couple had sent lawyer letters (presumably to sue) to him. If so, what is the point of doing to the so-called mediation? He might get humiliated more there (like some people here said, a little bit of noise you also could not tolerate, maybe you should go IMH) and achieve nothing.

It is very easy to make assumptions based on the known info that the younger couple had printed pamphlets to detail their innocence and the old man act of killing (while being a nice guy for the past 20+ years living there, until 2 years ago when the couple moved in. There were no known complaints to his old neighbour at level 6 previously).

Now that the killing act was complete, it is easy to ignore other questions, but to simply frame the old guy as a siaolang and intolerant OCD who cannot even stand a tiny bit of noise, and was the sole cause of the mediation not taking place.

I can only partially agree to that. My flat's void deck - directly below me when I look down - is a children's playground. I don't think it is any softer in volume than the kids playing along my corridor. This is due to the modern design of HDB estates - e.g. six blocks of flats built with a central activity + playground in the middle like a kampong well. Any noise will echo and reflect. Kids noisy is noisy but most people can take it and close any eye for that. So if you tell me someone stabbed a mother because her kids were noisy, I don't really accept that, sounds very ridiculous. It's not a simple case - that I agree with you.

chuakboon

I can only partially agree to that. My flat's void deck - directly below me when I look down - is a children's playground. I don't think it is any softer in volume than the kids playing along my corridor. This is due to the modern design of HDB estates - e.g. six blocks of flats built with a central activity + playground in the middle like a kampong well. Any noise will echo and reflect. Kids noisy is noisy but most people can take it and close any eye for that. So if you tell me someone stabbed a mother because her kids were noisy, I don't really accept that, sounds very ridiculous. It's not a simple case - that I agree with you.
Maybe Something trigger the boomer so much that he used that noisy kid as reason or venue to vent his frustration from life. Maybe his Cdc voucher just used up,Maybe it is not exactly noise from kid but from the parents exercising at night leh. Every night listen till imbalance mind. Want go geylang no money or even buy tongat Ali.

W1n7f1r3

so now the ah pek go prison, will he finally have the peace and quiet he's looking for?

Outsiders we wun know cuz he mayb reproaching himself in his own mind n these inner voices may plague him for life which cn lead to undesirable psychotic consequences

bigrooster

As I wrote earlier in this thread, killing is criminal and wrong. You might want to re-read what I wrote again; I certainly did not say or imply "someone could stab a mother because her kids were noisy", as you wrote.

But some cases are not simply noisy kids, but it's the duration, timing, intensity and the patterns when the noises were created. And how it was heard and affecting the occupants on the floor below. For those of us who are sufferers of inconsiderate noisy neighbours, it is certainly not that we ask for "absolute silence".

How this particular tragedy occurred could be the result of a prolonged and real disturbance to the party on the lower floor which was not addressed, due to the mismatched expectations of both parties and how they responded to each other during the 2-year duration. Hence, I feel it is too simplistic to imply that the killer uncle is the sole cause of this tragedy, while overlooking/not knowing what exactly transpired between the 2 sides in the months leading up to the murder.

W1n7f1r3

To b fair all lives r precious whether young or old but in this case it involves a boomer which has been stereotyped as those self centered entitled grp of ppl which society may deemed troublesome n a young family of two chewren which naturally will draw much sympathies

kiatkiat

Wondered why the couple still wanted to confront the old man when he was carrying a knife? I would han run back and locked the door and called police .

opposite lar, the old man purposely bring the knife up in the morning when the lady are preparing to bring the kids to school. My colleagues are staying at that block, and both of them had been feeding us information about what had happened for the last 2 lunch breaks

Kanko San

opposite lar, the old man purposely bring the knife up in the morning when the lady are preparing to bring the kids to school. My colleagues are staying at that block, and both of them had been feeding us information about what had happened for the last 2 lunch breaks

One must understand....no one want to hurt or kill anyone.

Old man must hv been disturbed ( cornered ) till he is mentally unstable from YEARS of noise disturbance.

byfun

The problem - some noise is sporadic… nobody know when it will appear.. how long you wish to spend for one case to conclude “No Noise Found”?

What if some people say “one month it happens a few times”…. What if some people say “it sounds like this…..and it also sounds like that ….” What if some are not even exactly sure how it sounds like??? 🤣

Like i say how much can the equipment cost vs u spend manpower and time spend ?

No notable noise found at least have a scientific, credible and objective reference rather than base on every individuals claim which may or may not reflect the truth. Be it to the complainer or complainee its at the very least a fair and objective way to make assessment.

If not u offer a better soln and lets heard about it ? Better than sit on the issue and spend useless time and no issue resolved.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.