2 people stabbed in Yishun Central after apparent neighbour dispute; alleged attacker arrested

spinning_quirK

No noise - Should people expect their house become so quiet like living in some caves?
Did you just ask a very dumb strawman question, like "have you stopped beating your wife?"
Don't worry, even smart people ask very dumb questions sometimes.

When packed into pigeonholes, we EXPECT noise to be present.
We certainly should also be able to expect that if some noises start to destroy sleep aka attempted murder, these noises should be stopped legally or, well, extra-legally in some unenviable or even tragic situations.
Because it's literally I die or you die. Am I wrong to frame it like this?

Kanko San

That's what the uncle did, he hit ceiling with bamboo stick to counter their unruly kids. Then the haolian nus grads 欺人太甚 shoot him with lawyer letter as if they are the victims.

If they want noise. You also can create Noise.

But just note, as long as don't do any crime or against the Laws.

jumpthepig

Did you just ask a very dumb strawman question, like "have you stopped beating your wife?"
Don't worry, even smart people ask very dumb questions sometimes.

When packed into pigeonholes, we EXPECT noise to be present.
We certainly should also be able to expect that if some noises start to destroy sleep aka attempted murder, these noises should be stopped legally or, well, extra-legally in some unenviable or even tragic situations.
Because it's literally I die or you die. Am I wrong to frame it like this?

Making noise is not okay. People should try their best not to create noise. I agree with you noise should be stopped legally.

Now you agree with me “When packed into pigeonholes, we EXPECT noise to be present.” …. But just now you said “No noise can sleep. Got noise cannot sleep.”

Take note there are people(like kee siao already) who love to kpkb even there are tiny bit of noise. Then how to help these people?

Kanko San

The mediator at CMC sometimes can be the stirrer in the pot of shiat also depends on their individual aptitude, mediation can then become a catalyst to physical conflict since they feel that they have no more solution liao unless go court which is difficult for some who have no higher education background or resources.

In the end it gives a feeling of bo pakay one unless it's go to court.

Agreed.

You can invite noisy family to CMC, They can dont go.

Even if CDRT, you can said their noise is loud.
They can said that you hv low tolerance for sound, blab, blab blah.

Whimsica

What's the point of mediation for this case?

Uncle complained about disturbing noise, so there should be one agency to investigate on the validity of his complaint. If he is wrong, counsel him or send him to IMH. If he is right, advise then warn then penalise the upstairs neighbours.

The current approach is lots of talking. HDB will advise the offenders to be more mindful. Grassroots organisation will ask the offenders to be more neighbourly.

With no investigation, the offenders can deny. Offenders can distribute pamphlets to neighbours to start a narrative against Uncle. Offenders can send legal letter act victim and allege that Uncle is harassing them. Offenders can even initiate a mediation session to try to shame Uncle and "prove" that they are not scared.

What is there to mediate?

Mediation is Party A says something then Party B says something then Mediator brings them to a middle ground.

So for this case, from 1000 stomps 20 screams per day the Offenders shall agree to be more mindful and reduce them to 500 stomps and 5 screams, and in return Uncle shall agree to follow Offenders' schedule and sleep at 10pm and wake up at 6am?

Offenders distribute pamphlets and send legal letter liao means they are way more prepared than the helpless Uncle, and we still expect the Uncle go sit down in front of the Offenders and hear the Mediator ask him to give and take and "settle"?

Shouldn't investigations be launched and actions taken based on prescribed laws/ regulations/ rules?

And if laws/ regulations/ rules on noise disturbances are inadequate, shouldn't the elected MPs - PAP and WP - quickly put up something?

We open legs to let in > 150% more foreigners and grew our population by 50% over the last 20 years but don't seem to prepare for this.

Government keeps saying flexible work arrangements but don't seem to prepare for this.

Government keeps wanting sinkies to form families and have more children but don't seem to prepare for this.

2500 noise complaints each month means buy 2500 noise sensors and train 100 officers/ volunteers and deploy 20 each to North/ South/ Central/ East/ West to install 2 sensors and follow up on 2 cases per day.

Still waiting for what?

For more people who complained that noises from neighbours are driving them mad to become mad like the Uncle?

Kanko San

Uncle complained about disturbing noise, so there should be one agency to investigate on the validity of his complaint. If he is wrong, counsel him or send him to IMH. If he is right, advise then warn then penalise the upstairs neighbours.

The current approach is lots of talking. HDB will advise the offenders to be more mindful. Grassroots organisation will ask the offenders to be more neighbourly.

With no investigation, the offenders can deny. Offenders can distribute pamphlets to neighbours to start a narrative against Uncle. Offenders can send legal letter act victim and allege that Uncle is harassing them. Offenders can even initiate a mediation session to try to shame Uncle and "prove" that they are not scared.

Mediation is Party A says something then Party B says something then Mediator brings them to a middle ground.

So for this case, from 1000 stomps 20 screams per day the Offenders shall agree to be more mindful and reduce them to 500 stomps and 5 screams, and in return Uncle shall agree to follow Offenders' schedule and sleep at 10pm and wake up at 6am?

Offenders distribute pamphlets and send legal letter liao means they are way more prepared than the helpless Uncle, and we still expect the Uncle go sit down in front of the Offenders and hear the Mediator ask him to give and take and "settle"?

Shouldn't investigations be launched and actions taken based on prescribed laws/ regulations/ rules?

And if laws/ regulations/ rules on noise disturbances are inadequate, shouldn't the elected MPs - PAP and WP - quickly put up something?

We open legs to let in > 150% more foreigners and grew our population by 50% over the last 20 years but don't seem to prepare for this.

Government keeps saying flexible work arrangements but don't seem to prepare for this.

Government keeps wanting sinkies to form families and have more children but don't seem to prepare for this.

2500 noise complaints each month means buy 2500 noise sensors and train 100 officers/ volunteers and deploy 20 each to North/ South/ Central/ East/ West to install 2 sensors and follow up on 2 cases per day.

Still waiting for what?

For more people who complained that noises from neighbours are driving them mad to become mad like the Uncle?

Agreed. The rich will always send letter, even they are the cause of it.

Only GOD can punish this type of pple.

GRAVESEED

Every time got issue on hand don't want to settle, wait until it go out of control liao then aiya have to work liao, start to wayang and faster find ways to diminish any fault from the authorities.

Rinse and repeat, just wait for more to come

W1n7f1r3

Won't be hanged

He took the unlawful solution so sud b met wif the appropriate punishments but till his surroundings r being considered n reviewed which lead to his actions dats up for more debate by the judicial system so for one perhaps life imprisonment for time being

firezero10

Still waiting for what?

Yeah, I think this is a resource issue at government’s end. They simply cannot keep up with the no of cases and are just relying on low-effort solutions which are not really effective.

3G SAINT

someone rate the area of yishun on reddit. damn funny

Depends on which part of Yishun you stay.

Blk 1XX. This is the ghetto.

Blk 2XX and 3XX. You are cool

Blk4XX. We don't really know what happens in this area.

Blk5XX. New additions to Yishun. Karen breeding ground.

Blk 6XX. The Beverly hill of Yishun.

Blk 7XX. You are cool too.

Blk8XX. You guys are delusional. Check your IC. You live in Yishun not Khatib.

Blk9XX. Nobody give a **** about you guys

There is recent case in Blk4xx;)

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/20...ase-allegedly-linked-to-relationship-dispute/

W1n7f1r3

U see old man dun want go for mediation to face the issue

Y din the old man go for mediation? Ijit even go riao the noise will still b there cuz there's no appropriate actions on respective stakeholders to solve the dispute over the yrs? Sud the authorities follow up or the stakeholders continue wad the situation carry on till it go downhill?
Who has to bear the biggest responsibilities?
For all wad has happened irreversible dmgs have been done no use saying old man din go medication
Authorities sud go on n follow up the situation when the dispute has been for yrs :unsure:

byfun

So simple? 🤣
It is not so easy to pin-point the source of the noise for this case…..Noise can be transmitted from many directions. Also need to capture the correct Noise profile to confirm. Noise can be sporadic..It will also take time to monitor and collect data and study those raw data.

Those direct complain n have dispute usually is neighbour know who is the one causing the noise. Upstair unit it may not be directly upstair.

Can install noise monitoring unit at neighbour downstair and remote monitor. The one with the loudest noise at same time mean it closest to the source of noise.

If not install at both parties. The one kena complain and the one complaining. Later ask the one complaining just note down the so call date n time of the noise and counter check with their equipment at both side. So difficult rocket science ?

Kanko San

Y din the old man go for mediation? Ijit even go riao the noise will still b there cuz there's no appropriate actions on respective stakeholders to solve the dispute over the yrs? Sud the authorities follow up or the stakeholders continue wad the situation carry on till it go downhill?
Who has to bear the biggest responsibilities?
For all wad has happened irreversible dmgs have been done no use saying old man din go medication
Authorities sud go on n follow up the situation when the dispute has been for yrs :unsure:

Agreed. If go, the vietbu will said he is sensitive to light sound n blab blab blab.

Just like the case of a woman who had to move out, cos her upstairs keep playing piano that stress her family.

You may like piano but the lady after years of controlling her dislike to the music, can become stress n hv to move out.
So the laws going to protect the family that created the noise ?

Shion

Senior Mentor
someone rate the area of yishun on reddit. damn funny

Depends on which part of Yishun you stay.

Blk 1XX. This is the ghetto.

Blk 2XX and 3XX. You are cool

Blk4XX. We don't really know what happens in this area.

Blk5XX. New additions to Yishun. Karen breeding ground.

Blk 6XX. The Beverly hill of Yishun.

Blk 7XX. You are cool too.

Blk8XX. You guys are delusional. Check your IC. You live in Yishun not Khatib.

Blk9XX. Nobody give a **** about you guys

got such thing meh...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.