2 people stabbed in Yishun Central after apparent neighbour dispute; alleged attacker arrested

spinning_quirK

Making noise is not okay. People should try their best not to create noise. I agree with you noise should be stopped legally.
Of course. You'd look very bad if you disagreed with me. Wouldn't want you to look bad. Want you to look good. :o
Now you agree with me “When packed into pigeonholes, we EXPECT noise to be present.” …. But just now you said “No noise can sleep. Got noise cannot sleep.”
I'm speaking of 2 realities separately.

Reality 1 - packed like sardines into pigeonholes, often with people who have no sense of timing and proportion - expect to hear noises from such people.

Reality 2 - Noise has several types and levels. At a serious enough level, noise prevents one from having proper recuperative, restful and sweet sleep.

When little boys are bad, we discipline them, because goodness ought to be the normal state. When inconsiderate neighbours are noisy, we ought to discipline them, because less noise, minimal noise, and silence; these are the normal states.
Take note there are people(like kee siao already) who love to kpkb even there are tiny bit of noise. Then how to help these people?
Tiny is you say one leh.
Why not rely on accurate acoustic sensors to settle the matter?

Also, you have phobias right? When I see you reacting to your phobias, my immediate reaction is to think you're kee siao too, until I realise you are reacting to a phobia.

So have empathy, be a little less self-centred, you may not be sensitive to certain sounds and to noises, but it doesn't mean those who are, are less normal than you.

jumpthepig

Of course. You'd look very bad if you disagreed with me. Wouldn't want you to look bad. Want you to look good. :o

Reality 1 - packed like sardines into pigeonholes, often with people who have no sense of timing and proportion - expect to hear noises from such people.

Reality 2 - Noise has several types and levels. At a serious enough level, noise prevents one from having proper recuperative, restful and sweet sleep.

When little boys are bad, we discipline them, because goodness ought to be the normal state. When inconsiderate neighbours are noisy, we ought to discipline them, because less noise, minimal noise, and silence; these are the normal states.

Tiny is you say one leh.
Acoustic sensors can only solve certain simpler cases only… Better don’t put too much hope and resources on these sensors to solve all issues.

Nowadays there are too many dangerous and complicated “kee siao” problems.… I have no confidence these sensors can help them..

AI tells me this “Before someone develops a serious mental illness or experiences a state of "insanity," they may exhibit early signs of mental distress, such as confusion, unusual thinking, risky behavior, a blurring of reality, or the development of distorted thought processes.” I think they need to see a doctor(or some professional help for mental health issues) early before they become insane…

qhong61

Maybe Something trigger the boomer so much that he used that noisy kid as reason or venue to vent his frustration from life. Maybe his Cdc voucher just used up,Maybe it is not exactly noise from kid but from the parents exercising at night leh. Every night listen till imbalance mind. Want go geylang no money or even buy tongat Ali.
He got wife

Dopod007

opposite lar, the old man purposely bring the knife up in the morning when the lady are preparing to bring the kids to school. My colleagues are staying at that block, and both of them had been feeding us information about what had happened for the last 2 lunch breaks
Only siao lang will bring a knife to settle noise disputes. He already has the intention to kill the couple. The siao lang should be hung for the murder, save the tax payers' money to keep him in jail.

Itsthatguy

Only siao lang will bring a knife to settle noise disputes. He already has the intention to kill the couple. The siao lang should be hung for the murder, save the tax payers' money to keep him in jail.

Bring knife along and brandishing it may be just a form of posturing. Many gangsters also do that, all the lightning and thunder, and nothing happens. I believe sg police has seen a lot of these behavior.

Therefore, it cannot be said that he already had the intention to kill the couple by bring along a knife.

spinning_quirK

Acoustic sensors can only solve certain simpler cases only… Better don’t put too much hope and resources on these sensors to solve all issues.

Nowadays there are too many dangerous and complicated “kee siao” problems.… I have no confidence these sensors can help them..

AI tells me this “Before someone develops a serious mental illness or experiences a state of "insanity," they may exhibit early signs of mental distress, such as confusion, unusual thinking, risky behavior, a blurring of reality, or the development of distorted thought processes.” I think they need to see a doctor(or some professional help for mental health issues) early before they become insane…
Mental illness is on a spectrum and is time, age, life phase and anxiety level-dependent, among other factors. Let's help each other overcome or remove stressors, be quick to help and be slow to judge.

Dopod007

Bring knife along and brandishing it may be just a form of posturing. Many gangsters also do that, all the lightning and thunder, and nothing happens. I believe sg police has seen a lot of these behavior.

Therefore, it cannot be said that he already had the intention to kill the couple by bring along a knife.
The thing is that the exact sequences of events are not known to us. If the boomer initiated the attack without any provocation from the couple, then boomer is guilty of murder. But if the couple attacked the boomer, then may be accidental death during the scuffle. So the exact events need to be sorted out.

Kanko San

Tiny is you say one leh.

Also, you have phobias right? When I see you reacting to your phobias, my immediate reaction is to think you're kee siao too, until I realise you are reacting to a phobia.

So have empathy, be a little less self-centred, you may not be sensitive to certain sounds and to noises, but it doesn't mean those who are, are less normal than you.

Yes to him is normal.

Google, the case of frustrated couple, who daily piano stressed them till they moved.

To others is ok with piano but one who after years of nuisance noise, can make one BP goes up.

So, unless you are in his position, then you will understand.

Itsthatguy

The thing is that the exact sequences of events are not known to us. If the boomer initiated the attack without any provocation from the couple, then boomer is guilty of murder. But if the couple attacked the boomer, then may be accidental death during the scuffle. So the exact events need to be sorted out.

Therefore, nothing is conclusive at this stage.

byfun

Yes to him is normal.

Google, the case of frustrated couple, who daily piano stressed them till they moved.

To others is ok with piano but one who after years of nuisance noise, can make one BP goes up.

Best part .. if they play piano like grandmaster level is music to the ears .. but then even a grandmaster playing music daily also can be frustrating for someone who want quiet environment let alone amatuer sinkies who are practising everyday on piano ... lagi worse.

Not against people practising piano but if you know you wanna practise daily to learn or whatever .. at least sound proof your room or use the soundless headphone piano .. be considerate to others.

But then sinkies self entitlement too high, sinkies pwn sinkies.

Mecisteus

so now the ah pek go prison, will he finally have the peace and quiet he's looking for?
Hopefully unker didn't defer his CPF Life payouts. He is due for payouts. At least can enjoy some payouts before prison or death sentence.

Now his NOK are smiling to the bank.

Kanko San

Best part .. if they play piano like grandmaster level is music to the ears .. but then even a grandmaster playing music daily also can be frustrating for someone who want quiet environment let alone amatuer sinkies who are practising everyday on piano ... lagi worse.

Not against people practising piano but if you know you wanna practise daily to learn or whatever .. at least sound proof your room or use the soundless headphone piano .. be considerate to others.

But then sinkies self entitlement too high, sinkies pwn sinkies.

Once I met a piano teacher, 70+.
He told me that, he taught his students to be humble n be sensitive to other pple surrounding like closed Window, Put a Rug below the piano and tap middle pedal to minimise the noise.

Unless one played at Concert, Competition or Sound proof studio, then play the loudest sound.

Let Karma take care of this family.

GRAVESEED

I can only partially agree to that. My flat's void deck - directly below me when I look down - is a children's playground. I don't think it is any softer in volume than the kids playing along my corridor. This is due to the modern design of HDB estates - e.g. six blocks of flats built with a central activity + playground in the middle like a kampong well. Any noise will echo and reflect. Kids noisy is noisy but most people can take it and close any eye for that. So if you tell me someone stabbed a mother because her kids were noisy, I don't really accept that, sounds very ridiculous. It's not a simple case - that I agree with you.
Children's playground is not enclosed within a room/flat. It is in an open space where sound can be dispersed outwards easily. And usually any playground activity mostly morning-afternoon max

When you have a neighbor that is noisy, disruptive at random timings, you can literally feel the impact/vibrations/sound right above you as you are sitting in your room or when you are trying to go to sleep. Will raise your BP, make you paranoid of sounds etc in the long term, confirm will curse the neighbor to meet their end quickly. 100% will make your mental health drop one

I don't think it's ridiculous actually, I feel like you have not experienced a neighbor from hell which is fortunate. I kena before so I know why the uncle acted the way he did.

Everyone failed by the system la honestly

pokipoki08

Yes to him is normal.

vit bs deficiency esp. b12
thr same noise is ok for some but blood stirring for others

b12 is scarce in nature, as its exclusively made by certain microbes only
only supplementation can provide enough b12
diabetic need more to protect nerves

my own consumption 500mcg b12 solves irritation, becomes DETACHED to the same irritating event, dont feel self overblowing, or over the top
u identify the event, but emotions are not led by it
indulging in these disorders will lead to permanent character so don't ignore

remember u cannot change others its very hard
change self instead (within)
wise and wisdom
inner turmoil rage is just bad, shorter lifespan

ocd types should take some

Vitamin B12 deficiency is increasingly recognized as a SIGNIFICANT factor in the presentation and management of schizophrenia and other psychiatric disorders.

Studies indicate a HIGH PREVALENCE of vitamin B12 deficiency among individuals with SCHIZOPHRENIA, with reported rates as high as 70.8% in some cohorts

Research indicates a significant association between vitamin B deficiency and schizophrenia, a severe mental disorder. Individuals with schizophrenia often exhibit lower levels of key B vitamins, particularly folate (vitamin B9) and vitamin B12

Deficiencies in B vitamins, including B6, B12, and folate, are implicated in the ONSET and PROGRESSION of schizophrenia

Severe folic acid B9 deficiency is associated with an increased risk of neurodevelopmental and PSYCHIATRIC DISORDERS, while changes in vitamin B12 levels can lead to neuropsychiatric problems, cognitive impairment, MOOD disorders, and even paranoid psychosis.

study also found that EARLY-ONSET psychosis is associated with SIGNIFICANT deficits in blood levels of folate and vitamin D, suggesting that nutritional deficiencies may play a role in the early stages of the disorder.

Mecisteus

vit bs deficiency esp. b12
thr same noise is ok for some but blood stirring for others

b12 is scarce in nature, as its exclusively made by certain microbes only
only supplementation can provide enough b12
diabetic need more to protect nerves

my own consumption 500mcg b12 solves irritation, becomes DETACHED to the same irritating event, dont feel self overblowing, or over the top
u identify the event, but emotions are not led by it
indulging in these disorders will lead to permanent character so don't ignore

remember u cannot change others its very hard
change self instead (within)
wise and wisdom
inner turmoil rage is just bad, shorter lifespan

ocd types should take some

Vitamin B12 deficiency is increasingly recognized as a SIGNIFICANT factor in the presentation and management of schizophrenia and other psychiatric disorders.

Studies indicate a HIGH PREVALENCE of vitamin B12 deficiency among individuals with SCHIZOPHRENIA, with reported rates as high as 70.8% in some cohorts

Research indicates a significant association between vitamin B deficiency and schizophrenia, a severe mental disorder. Individuals with schizophrenia often exhibit lower levels of key B vitamins, particularly folate (vitamin B9) and vitamin B12

Deficiencies in B vitamins, including B6, B12, and folate, are implicated in the ONSET and PROGRESSION of schizophrenia

Severe folic acid B9 deficiency is associated with an increased risk of neurodevelopmental and PSYCHIATRIC DISORDERS, while changes in vitamin B12 levels can lead to neuropsychiatric problems, cognitive impairment, MOOD disorders, and even paranoid psychosis.

study also found that EARLY-ONSET psychosis is associated with SIGNIFICANT deficits in blood levels of folate and vitamin D, suggesting that nutritional deficiencies may play a role in the early stages of the disorder.
Some wise words.

In short, try to tolerate, adjust or adapt as much as possible. Its not healthy to get uptight all the times.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.