Andrew Loh| Mr Tang Liang Hong has passed away

krikering

That's not the worst thing
The worst is all the PAP elites went to polling booth when not supposed to

By right all are in big trouble and cannot be MP
To put in perspective how bad it was, its like the entire Barcelona team banned before Finals tomorrow and they have to field .... horrors the Liverpool team.instead

Wonder what happened to that
We are consider a "Benevolent Dictatorship" or "Flawed Democracy" for a reason, some considers us to be a more civilised North Korea.

Kiwi8

That's not the worst thing
The worst is all the PAP elites went to polling booth when not supposed to

By right all are in big trouble and cannot be MP
To put in perspective how bad it was, its like the entire Barcelona team banned before Finals tomorrow and they have to field .... horrors the Liverpool team.instead

Wonder what happened to that
Ah yes. This was the incident where the Chief Justice claimed that being already inside the polling station is not considered as within 200m of a polling station rite?

This Chief Justice really weird logic. :s22:

Joseph12

Ah yes. This was the incident where the Chief Justice claimed that being already inside the polling station is not considered as within 200m of a polling station rite?

This Chief Justice really weird logic. :s22:
AG not Chief Justice

pwongkk

You want him to be like Alexei Navalny, come back and get imprisoned just because he spoke out against his country's leaders?

Of course, won't be so jialat. But 1 thing for sure, just look at how JBJ was sued until bankrupt just because he pointed out a lot of morally ethical issues happening in Singapore.
He will suffer the same fate too.

Just look at how they tried to fix him, just because he pointed out the Nassim Jade scandal. Alot of people still remembered what happened back then. Even went after his family members who were innocent, as well.
This shows how pappies feared these opposition candidates.

Not forgetting Dr Chee.

Good that newer generation of opposition are smart and know how to employ tactics against pappies.

pwongkk

I remembered one thing but please remember I was a teenager then. I was wondering why didn’t OTC make a statement on this since he was President and it was an injustice done, imho, to TLH and JBJ.

Maybe it was not within his powers. It was just something I always wondered then and sometimes wonder today.
You see how OTC made noise about the reserves and sale of POSB to DBS. Initially claimed he wanted to run 2nd term, end up for the real unknown reasons, he had to give up.

Joseph12

I remembered one thing but please remember I was a teenager then. I was wondering why didn’t OTC make a statement on this since he was President and it was an injustice done, imho, to TLH and JBJ.

Maybe it was not within his powers. It was just something I always wondered then and sometimes wonder today.
Why?
Please ....
Haha

Joseph12

You see , for the youths who know nothing, they should tell teachers no need to attend class for the subject
I read EDMW will be better and learn something actually

Joseph12

Actually, no.

you are not supposed to loiter within the 200m but the law never says u cannot be there or even be inside the polling area

So the accusation and proof must be of loitering within the 200 m boundary but the only proof opposition had was of the ministers inside the polling area and of cos that was not against the law per se.

You can’t say cannot be there in the boundary cos the law only says cannot loiter there and not cannot be there at all

You can’t say cannot be in the polling area cos the law never says cannot

you can’t say common sense la if you can loiter in the polling area u surely must have loitered in the boundary also cos the law requires evidence of that also and no one gave evidence of them loitering in the boundary

of cos this as before social media now probably a lot of GVGT so won’t happen again

contested election
After the election, the WP candidates at Cheng San GRC filed police reports against the PAP over the presence of PAP ministers within the precinct of polling stations in Cheng San GRC,[7] citing the violation of two sections of the Parliamentary Elections Act:

• Section 82(1)(d): "No person shall wait outside any polling station on polling day, except for the purpose of gaining entry to the polling station to cast his vote".
  • Section 82(1)(e): "No person shall loiter in any street or public place within a radius of 200 metres of any polling station on polling day."
Their complaints were not prosecuted by the police, on the advice of the Attorney-General (AG) Chan Sek Keong.[8] The Attorney-General, in his letter to the Minister of Law, interpreted the statute as being "irrelevant to people" within the polling station, and that remaining within the polling station itself, as opposed to being within a perimeter of 200 meters from the external walls of the polling station, was not an offence.[9] He added that "the possibility of a person inside a polling station influencing or intimidating voters in the presence of the presiding officer and his officials, the polling agents etc was considered so remote that it was discounted by the Act."[10]

The WP questioned whether the AG was suggesting that it was acceptable for people to enter and loiter on the grounds of the polling station rather than outside it, and subsequently renewed its call for the establishment of an independent election commission to ensure fair play in the conduct of elections in Singapore.[11]
I don't want to comment too.much on this

But you think all these laws come up from scratch?

I believe this was adopted from overseas and in parliamentary debates it was PROBABLY for the purpose of having NO candidates there to influence voters

Some people can actually say mmmm the possibility of influencing voters there is too remote.
Well duh Einstein
If that's the case, why have the law to begin with?

SuperGreenHorn

Someone called him a chinese chauvinist, but both his daughters married to non chinese.

WHO BELIEVE Tang is a chinese chauvinist? :s11: :s11: :s11:

Kiwi8

Someone called him a chinese chauvinist, but both his daughters married to non chinese.

Those who voted for PAP lor.

If PAP say sai can be eaten the PAP voters will also eat lor.

krikering

Last time become opposition member really is no joke one, kana sued/bankrupt/jailed, etc. If you fight them head on like JBJ, TLH and Francis Seow, etc. they will fix you jialat one.

The only reason why LTK and CST survived so long, is because they got no threat and also did not openly challenge PAP. Also the fact that they managed their constituency well.

Well CST was proven to be of no threat, and he never really had much ambition too after he fell out with Wong Hong Toy and the rest.

LTK stayed low whilst waiting for the right opportunity to strike (GE 2011) Looking back they probably regret not fixing LTK back before Internet/Social Media era. The AHTC was the best they can come up with.

They probably did Not expect that WP grew to the stature it did now, when though WP only has around 10% of the seats but at least they somewhat still have the power to bring to attention NTUC Income-Allianz deal and Minimum Wages (which PAP later repackage it as PWM), etc.

Airplane88

I recalled sharing a table with him when eating BKT at China Street in the early 1990s with my ex-boss.

He spoke about Chinese culture and even passed his business card to me.
He was accused of Chinese chauvinism by a certain politician which was beyond my understanding.

pwongkk

Cheng San had 2 ministers calibre right
Sinkies no guts then to vote out any high calibre ministers.

If pappies keep harping the consequences of lising such ministers if they are voted out, it strongly shows they have very serious flaws in their BCP. Can't afford to lose any ministers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.