Kuala Lumpur trip

Andrew833

Book MPV la. I usually book MPV. From airport to town is like rm110. Non MPV is like rm80
From airport MPV ok, else where don't need, 6-7 seater enough liao.
I won’t say no to driving but

(1) you will be tired from driving
(2) you may have problem finding parking
(3) may not be cheaper than grab

I got 1 example where I went with a few friends. One guy drove his Lexus all the way from SG. Then in the end can’t find lot when we go shopping on weekends. Then he need to get his own car back to SG whereas the rest of us fly, then more tulan is he needs to be our “driver”. lol! In the end, he parked his Lexus at the hotel then we call grab. But if you rent car then anyhow park also ok.
Yes, driving long distance trip very tiring but up to individual. If @Abcismyname prefer more freedom then rent a car is one of the option. Also depend on the trip plan, if city area, grab can liao. If want to explore outside of KL, then grab is inconvenient.

elvintay07

From airport MPV ok, else where don't need, 6-7 seater enough liao.

Yes, driving long distance trip very tiring but up to individual. If @Abcismyname prefer more freedom then rent a car is one of the option. Also depend on the trip plan, if city area, grab can liao. If want to explore outside of KL, then grab is inconvenient.
Totally agree. Outside KL I usually book driver for full day

elvintay07

Just came back from KL. Today got rain and even MPV feel a bit dangerous with the heavy rain. I hope SG-MY quickly do the high speed rail then we can kiss Air Asia and clowns goodbye. Flight ticket was cheap but the hassle of boarding, bring luggage up and down and clearing KL custom a bit troublesome

froztheart

beanstalk6

Hope it will revive, and one day we are able to take HSR across to EU even.
Machiam like MRT but across countries and continents, not sure can experience in my lifetime. :s22:
You got the key there- not sure if it can be experienced in my lifetime.

Realistically, Bangkok-Nong Khai is under construction, so we may see JB-Padang Besar by ETS then Padang Besar-Bangkok by the old train before an actual HSR to Nong Khai, Laos and then onward to China by the operational Lao-China HSR.

elvintay07

beanstalk6

I don’t dare to take because of the lousy builders. Will let other ppl validate first. Air Asia also sibei cui when I took last week
Take your time. People have been validating the ETS since 2010 on the stretch between KL, Ipoh and Padang Besar.
Thanks, I know the builder is CRCC, which you claim is lousy, and which has been building HSR all over the PRC. I will take note.

froztheart

You got the key there- not sure if it can be experienced in my lifetime.

Realistically, Bangkok-Nong Khai is under construction, so we may see is JB-Padang Besar by ETS then Padang Besar-Bangkok by the old train before actual HSR to Nong Khai, Laos and then onward to China by the operational Lao-China HSR.
Yeah, real unfortunate with the governements Thailand & Malaysia is having, can only wish that it's a reality down the road.
If only they just sub to SIngapore and get the connectivity done, then they can continue with their mess as usual. :s13:

Though Thailand is fares better that the northern connectivity is WIP, but once down south to Malaysia is the problem for Thailand

froztheart

I don’t dare to take because of the lousy builders. Will let other ppl validate first. Air Asia also sibei cui when I took last week
Our MRTS are done by them too, so if you deem it lousy, I doubt SG that bobo to approve.
My opinion is that it's not the builders but the regulatory bodies that governs the projects.
Moreover, like what @beanstalk6 mentioned China's HSR are done by them too. Personally never really heard major incidents too.

beanstalk6

Yeah, real unfortunate with the governements Thailand & Malaysia is having, can only wish that it's a reality down the road.
If only they just sub to SIngapore and get the connectivity done, then they can continue with their mess as usual. :s13:

Though Thailand is fares better that the northern connectivity is WIP, but once down south to Malaysia is the problem for Thailand

It is a bigger problem for the Thai south. The HSR will be an expensive target that is hard to secure against local militants. I don't think ROI will be worthwhile for the stretch too. In fact, I think they will lose money on the Bangkok-Nong Khai segment even.
I don't think we or the Chinese can do the job too because of the land acquisition and the financing. Indonesia only did a small stretch and already they cannot keep it afloat.

froztheart

It is a bigger problem for the Thai south. The HSR will be an expensive target that is hard to secure against local militants. I don't think ROI will be worthwhile for the stretch too. In fact, I think they will lose money on the Bangkok-Nong Khai segment even.
I don't think we or the Chinese can do the job too because of the land acquisition and the financing. Indonesia only did a small stretch and already they cannot keep it afloat.
Yes, if just looking at particular stretch. But as a whole, I believe it will enhance the tourism draw spillover to areas with HSR connectivity thereby boosting developments etc.
I believe we can agree that such infrastructure projects rarely or doesn't breakeven at all. But I would say the infra will definitely help in the long run instead.

elvintay07

Our MRTS are done by them too, so if you deem it lousy, I doubt SG that bobo to approve.
My opinion is that it's not the builders but the regulatory bodies that governs the projects.
Moreover, like what @beanstalk6 mentioned China's HSR are done by them too. Personally never really heard major incidents too.
Totally ****. How many times it has broken down? Knn! Even Chinese mrt better than these clowns. Japanese and German used their 1950s train also probably laughing at us.

elvintay07

Later militants catch who train 🚊 ppl and use as hostage.

froztheart

Totally ****. How many times it has broken down? Knn! Even Chinese mrt better than these clowns. Japanese and German used their 1950s train also probably laughing at us.
Because of maintenance? When it intially came, was there news no breakdowns for say CIrcles Line, I don't believe so, yes?
The issue is with our SMRT & LTA, but if you insist that the manufacturer is a problem, I respect your view and opinion.

beanstalk6

I am not aware that Chinese metro do not breakdown. Perhaps you are in a great position to show us the availability rate of all the metro systems in that vast country. But I digress. This is a KL topic, not EDMW.

Abcismyname

Need experts advice on trip to Malaysia.

Spouse not keen to drive up to Malaysia. We will be travelling with 3 young kids (family of 5) during first week of December.

Spouse suggested to take plane to KL but I suggest to take luxury coach such as Aeroline to KL due to cost. December flight tickets to KL is not really cheap. However spouse has phobia of 3 young kids waiting at the Singapore and Malaysia passport counter and worried there is long queue and it will be very difficult to handle the kids with too long waiting time.

Anyone has experience to share and is it better to take coach bus or flight during first week of December?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.