Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

The_King

So what installer did you previously go with? Can probably avoid lol... Anyway anybody got good lobang for installer, trusted one
dm you

my long story short, it called planned obsolescence

Mecisteus

any reliable installer? I dont want to roll dice with some random stall or retailer. My gain city one leak gas after 6 years. Really not worth to fix it and intent to change the whole system 3.
Suspected is installer nv do properly, the workmanship resulted in the aircon leakage
If workmanship is not good, the gas is already leaking after a few months.

Did you do any servicing that may have damaged the joints in the process ? ie full dismantle servicing

Or any renovation ?

hkchew03

that why my last post fear of all these, all these repair add up so much yet cannot fix the issues but already say paid $400 to $500, might as well just replace it, if i know i going to spend that amount to repair a >4yr old system

long story short, it called planned obsolescence
Can't compare multi-split to single-split that cost 1k+, cost is way higher and messier to get full replacement. Worst is concealed piping.

orlengtao

If workmanship is not good, the gas is already leaking after a few months.

Did you do any servicing that may have damaged the joints in the process ? ie full dismantle servicing

Or any renovation ?
What's dismantle service? If it's removing case, take out filter then yeah. All my serivcing did it before

Was previously servicing with gain city for 5years+, then last 6-9+ months switch to https://maps.app.goo.gl/5mBT1iqYcgHng2Lb9 ( Lion City Air Conditioner Services Pte Ltd ). After service liao seems to have problems.. Did gas top-up and immediately no more gas after 3months+

I am hesitant to say it's their fault la. I've also pointed out to them, why switch to you then have so many problems. However how can i judge when i am not skilled in this.

I've also got another person to check why leak (recommended by relatives). He did some gas test with sound checking on the condenser + each blower. He say his check is not 100% as pressure test but he feels that the leak is internal trunking, not the individual units.

Nevertheless i am still looking for reliable company next bah. If cannot find then at least i go back gain city. They have 5 years extended warranty, got any issues can at least serviced by them.

Mecisteus

What's dismantle service? If it's removing case, take out filter then yeah. All my serivcing did it before

Was previously servicing with gain city for 5years+, then last 6-9+ months switch to https://maps.app.goo.gl/5mBT1iqYcgHng2Lb9 ( Lion City Air Conditioner Services Pte Ltd ). After service liao seems to have problems.. Did gas top-up and immediately no more gas after 3months+

I am hesitant to say it's their fault la. I've also pointed out to them, why switch to you then have so many problems. However how can i judge when i am not skilled in this.

I've also got another person to check why leak (recommended by relatives). He did some gas test with sound checking on the condenser + each blower. He say his check is not 100% as pressure test but he feels that the leak is internal trunking, not the individual units.

Nevertheless i am still looking for reliable company next bah. If cannot find then at least i go back gain city. They have 5 years extended warranty, got any issues can at least serviced by them.
The new servicing company seems dodgy.

5 years no leak. Then leak all of a sudden.

Even if slow leak, another top up should last a few more years.

The_King

Can't compare multi-split to single-split that cost 1k+, cost is way higher and messier to get full replacement. Worst is concealed piping.
agree, i saw some ppl base on this thread their AC upward of 6k with all parts upgraded, some is over 10k

i can only answer for 2 rm to choose dual system 1 rather then single system 2. that replacement is more practical then repairing when it come to leak after the first top up like the above case

The_King

please read their GC extended warranty.

orlengtao

please read their GC extended warranty.
Got, my blower got spoil before last time during year 3. Also foc replacement lol.... Workmanship is 3 years.

So technically if 4th year leak and is internal trunking leak, got to pay

The_King

Got, my blower got spoil before last time during year 3. Also foc replacement lol.... Workmanship is 3 years.

So technically if 4th year leak and is internal trunking leak, got to pay
Did u get them to service the aircon, the extended warranty said u need your ac to be service by them else can void warranty

UchihaSasuke

Yooohuuuu :)

glad to see some old timer still so active in here ^^

Some update on my installer as i have install my aircon 1 year 2 months+, and their maintenance contract.
ME 33vg, System 4.

Everything work well, maybe just 1 year + (touch wood) normally my aircon temperature set to 27 as it is cold enough to feel comfortable and not too cold. Aircon on 2 units everyday and once to twice a week, i will turn on my living room and simultaneously 3 units, but always let my room cool down to desired temperature before turning on my living room, otherwise it will take quite long to cool down my living room. No leaking or whatsoever issue/problems. :)

For maintenance, 1 person will come my house twice yearly to clean my aircon. The first cleaning was done really good, the person literally tear apart my aircon for cleaning :D water spray and brush every parts for cleaning until water flowing out with no dirt, wipe dry, assemble, test and on aircon, everything completed around 1 hour by 1 person. This is really a good, well done job.

The second cleaning is the same, 1 person will come down and start cleaning the aircon. This is the highlight of the year :D the funny or shortcut part, i don't know want to cry or laugh :D this champion after remove my indoor unit casing, without taking out the filter, started spraying water and wash just like that, i was stun (lol) but i did not correct him as this part i can clean myself, after spraying water, he just wipe it for the sake of wiping and in some case, water was still dripping from the cover. Same goes to the 'roller' or whatever it is called, water spray but i still see dirt coming out and he just stopped, and later tell me, all these can't clean 100% one, and wiping dry for the sake of wiping. Install back, and turn on aircon to dry -_- i know this is his standard, in the end, i just want him to finish it and go, everything was finish like 20 - 25 mins for 4 units :D

Next day morning, i discover there is 'metal rubbing' or 'high pitch' sound from 1 of the unit, i get them to come back to check, unfortunately their available slot is 2 weeks later, as slot proposed by them is not convenient for me. The same guy come back, he also not sure what is the problem, so what he did is remove everything and install back, but this time round, more careful and inform me to observe, and if anything happen i should contact ME. I did not argue with him, but if any issue going to happen, my intention will be going back to them and they are going to coordinate everything and find solution for me, not me going directly to ME. By the way, i have 5 years extended warranty with them.

Conclusion: Every company, even a good one, sometime will have such people that will bring down their company reputation. I can be very biased when i write this by only highlighting the bad thing and forgo the good one done by them, which what most people is always doing, but i choose not to, as i still believe this is a one time issue with this particular guy. :)

P.S. How is everyone that installed their aircon? Possible to share on your experience :)
Finally have time to update on my 3rd servicing, and my 4th servicing is coming soon... :D
After experiencing how the 2nd servicing guy, i requested back for the 1st guy.
But this time round, there is a huge different than the first time, this is same guy that came down for my 1st servicing...
His service roughly is still the same as previously mentioned, but when he completed my 3 bedroom and was doing my living room, he suddenly say air con is not cold, need chemical cleaning for the outdoor unit -_- if i am first timer, i might believe him, but having experiencing what my previous air con company did, this is a super red alert. I did not say anything, just smile at him and let him finished my living room unit, then he mentioned gas leaking need to top up -_- i almost lol, but i keep quiet first. After finishing everything and right before he pack up, without notice, he went straight to my kitchen window and want to access my outdoor unit, i immediately stop him and say i don't need any chemical cleaning or gas top up for my outdoor unit, his face changed and start throwing comment like 'you more expert than me', 'I work so long at this line bah bah bah' When i need to sign the service chit, he put a comment, something like, 'gas leaking or something not good anymore but owner don't want to fix' and left.

I will update again for my 4th servicing, i will request back the same guy, at least he did clean it up properly, in case he couldn't make it, i will be super alert and will not be out of their/employee sight when they start servicing my indoor unit, just in case their maintenance people sabotage any thing in the indoor unit.

To all home owner/air con owner, please do not get pressure by them, it might quite 'intimidating' but we need to know how to handle this kind of people. I believe once this guy get access to my outdoor unit, thing will start to fall apart, because i can't see what he is going to do outside, for indoor unit, at least i can monitor them while they are cleaning it, but having say that, sometime i did walk away for a while, but at least make your presence known and you are watching.

Some bro private message me regarding the air con company that i am using, i did not reply/never recommend the company, because after all i am experiencing now, i don't want recommend a company like this. Although installer is not bad, but the maintenance only can make it for the 1st servicing but subsequent one just cannot make it, and to make it worst 1st and 3rd servicing is the same guy but during 3rd servicing, this same guy start to play more stunt, and who knows, 1st servicing is to build trust then slowly subsequent one start to have more stunt.

EDIT: Do you guys look at how the servicing guy is doing when dismantling your air con or ask them questions about it?

Jurong640

wondering if there are anyone who installs an AC unit in the kitchen? Those old HDB type, big and long kitchen, we normall eat in the kitchen. Weather have been so warm, this week the average temperature in my kitchen have been 31 degrees.

But also, i don't think there is also room for another compressor. Can they have another AC unit to connect to the compressor kind?

Jun Jun

My toilet always have some form of condensation. Is it better to get armaflex shield cx1/2 inch or class 0 3/4 inch?

Jun Jun

Finally have time to update on my 3rd servicing, and my 4th servicing is coming soon... :D
But this time round, there is a huge different than the first time, this is same guy that came down for my 1st servicing...
His service roughly is still the same as previously mentioned, but when he completed my 3 bedroom and was doing my living room, he suddenly say air con is not cold, need chemical cleaning for the outdoor unit -_- if i am first timer, i might believe him, but having experiencing what my previous air con company did, this is a super red alert. I did not say anything, just smile at him and let him finished my living room unit, then he mentioned gas leaking need to top up -_- i almost lol, but i keep quiet first. After finishing everything and right before he pack up, without notice, he went straight to my kitchen window and want to access my outdoor unit, i immediately stop him and say i don't need any chemical cleaning or gas top up for my outdoor unit, his face changed and start throwing comment like 'you more expert than me', 'I work so long at this line bah bah bah' When i need to sign the service chit, he put a comment, something like, 'gas leaking or something not good anymore but owner don't want to fix' and left.

I will update again for my 4th servicing, i will request back the same guy, at least he did clean it up properly, in case he couldn't make it, i will be super alert and will not be out of their/employee sight when they start servicing my indoor unit, just in case their maintenance people sabotage any thing in the indoor unit.

To all home owner/air con owner, please do not get pressure by them, it might quite 'intimidating' but we need to know how to handle this kind of people. I believe once this guy get access to my outdoor unit, thing will start to fall apart, because i can't see what he is going to do outside, for indoor unit, at least i can monitor them while they are cleaning it, but having say that, sometime i did walk away for a while, but at least make your presence known and you are watching.

Some bro private message me regarding the air con company that i am using, i did not reply/never recommend the company, because after all i am experiencing now, i don't want recommend a company like this. Although installer is not bad, but the maintenance only can make it for the 1st servicing but subsequent one just cannot make it, and to make it worst 1st and 3rd servicing is the same guy but during 3rd servicing, this same guy start to play more stunt, and who knows, 1st servicing is to build trust then slowly subsequent one start to have more stunt.

EDIT: Do you guys look at how the servicing guy is doing when dismantling your air con or ask them questions about it?
Dont use back the same company or skip that guy.

8-lane

I wonder how Mitsubishi Electric can spend so much on advertising and still keep their air-con prices low... at least for their starmex entry range (FP series)... moi planning to get a system 1 btw...

petetherock

I wonder how Mitsubishi Electric can spend so much on advertising and still keep their air-con prices low... at least for their starmex entry range (FP series)... moi planning to get a system 1 btw...
薄利多销… volume sales, kill the others

purpleberry

Is your servicing and installation from the same company?

purpleberry

Yes, it is from the same company.
Mine was installed by 1 company and serviced by them for several years. After the 5th year, their service personnel keep on changing and suggested us to change fancoil as it was "damaged". I told them if it is damaged, it was done by your previous colleagues as there's no way we can bring a fancoil down and clean it ourselves. I tried another servicing company which is quite highly rated but they pinpoint on gas leaks and suggested to change whole system. So not sure if this is a new sales tactic but based on my observation, it entirely depends on the servicemen themselves and not the company.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.