Do surge protectors actually lengthen the lifespan of electronics?

occifer

Gemini suggests using surge protectors with 2,000 joules and above for costly PCs and TVs to lengthen its lifespan. I currently have those.

I get that surge protection is only one variable but does it actually work and to what extent?

Do u use surge protectors?

:s11:

occifer

So, surge protectors are pointless?

Any experts or users?

stupidog

yes, all my belkin extension power sockets got built-in surge protection

occifer

if your electronics don’t spoilt, how to buy newer ones?

But i want my oled TV and PC to last as long as possible

Current gpu, ssd gen 5 and are already so powerful and fast that one does not need stronger ones for a decade imo

Gen 5 ssd is above 10gb per sec lol. Wifi and routers at 2 or 10gbps need to upgrade meh? :s22:

And i dont need more fps from gpu. My eyes cant really notice more frames :s22:.

occifer

yes, all my belkin extension power sockets got built-in surge protection

Yours is the 900 joules or the 2700 joule one?
The 2700 joule one is discontinued i think.

Does it seem to lengthen lifespan of your electronics or no use one lol?

Can Or Not

Current gpu, ssd gen 5 and are already so powerful and fast that one does not need stronger ones for a decade imo
Surge to protect from surge bah.. if spoilt then buy new ones… there are also other reason the electronics will spoilt Lor…

stupidog

Yours is the 900 joules or the 2700 joule one?
The 2700 joule one is discontinued i think.

Does it seem to lengthen lifespan of your electronics or no use one lol?

https://www.ishopchangi.com/en/prod...e-protection-strip-with-2usb-ports-mp00173445

i dunno lol. but my model is this

my friend house caught fire because of some unbranded power extensions.

i immediately replace all power extensions in my house....throw all unbranded adapters, power sockets.

it is like insurance mah, u buy insurance u wanna claim meh lol

if u ur house using cheap electronics then dun bother to buy

my house all macs and sonos...dun wan later lightning strikes, all uplorry

occifer

Surge to protect from surge bah.. if spoilt then buy new ones… there are also other reason the electronics will spoilt Lor…

Surge Protection... Is surge protect from abnormal frquency or unstable current spikes.

Electronics life also depend on humidity, temperature, dust, usage... Etc

Yep, so how useful is a good surge protector. man this google gemini insisting it is good and worth the investment :22:

And what protects the surge protector?

hmm so need a surge protector protector yes :unsure:

jumpthepig

So, surge protectors are pointless?

Any experts or users?
:ROFLMAO:
Apple products, like most commercial electronic equipment, are designed to comply with relevant electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) standards, which typically include the IEC 61000-4-5 standard for surge immunity. Compliance with this standard is often a mandatory requirement for selling electronic equipment in many countries, including the EU.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_61000-4-5

occifer

https://www.ishopchangi.com/en/prod...e-protection-strip-with-2usb-ports-mp00173445

i immediately replace all power extensions in my house....throw all unbranded adapters, power sockets.

Woah caught fire :s14:

Oh this is the 600 joules one. Gemini says 2000 joules and above for more expensive stuff. Belkin used to have belkin gold at 2700 joules but now no longer avail in sg :s22:

Alphas

I use surge protector extension cord only for expensive devices like computer, laser projector and av receiver. It does NOT extend the life of the devices but provides protection from surges only duh.

occifer

I use surge protector extension cord only for expensive devices like computer, laser projector and av receiver. It does NOT extend the life of the devices but provides protection from surges only duh.

supposedly, those minor surges that daily will help prolong lifespan of the electronic some, according to gemini hmm.

how many joules is yours? anything noticeable?

occifer

btw did your fren die?

occifer

Then I suggest you buy a UPS... 1kva will give you at least 30min on a full spec pc, total protection for prawn farming with safe shutdown.

that is overdoing it. power interruption isnt the issue imo. just more stable electricity to help let the parts last longer will do

PeanutButterJellyfish

Gen 5 ssd is above 10gb per sec lol. Wifi and routers at 2 or 10gbps need to upgrade meh? :s22:

And i dont need more fps from gpu. My eyes cant really notice more frames :s22:.
No matter how good your hardware is, if the game or os like win 11 say your hardware cannot run and must buy new then you also suck thumb

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.