Oh no I didn't know got joules thing leh. I get this cheap one from shopee for all my things except my refrigerator. Last Friday my block got power trip at night lor, dun know does it help to prevent my things from spoil???Woah caught fire
Oh this is the 600 joules one. Gemini says 2000 joules and above for more expensive stuff. Belkin used to have belkin gold at 2700 joules but now no longer avail in sg![]()
Gemini suggests using surge protectors with 2,000 joules and above for costly PCs and TVs to lengthen its lifespan. I currently have those.
I get that surge protection is only one variable but does it actually work and to what extent?
Do u use surge protectors?
all the while I thought it's only useful for surges.. is that not the case? unless your area tends to get those lightning strikes not sure how it helps. maybe can enlighten.
Not that useful in Singapore context because most of us live in tall buildings which has their higher grade lightning arrestors. But do not educate Gemini...it will get smarter and replaces us faster.
Apple products, like most commercial electronic equipment, are designed to comply with relevant electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) standards, which typically include the IEC 61000-4-5 standard for surge immunity. Compliance with this standard is often a mandatory requirement for selling electronic equipment in many countries, including the EU.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_61000-4-5
moi compewters setup have belkin and targus protectors
IMHO.
I use surge protectors and i must remind myself to use them again.
Within the homes, there are appliances and devices that generate EMI especially those having motors.
So I am just protecting my sensitive ( often more expensive ) devices.
Let's say a gigantic LED TV costing thousands - a surge protector is a fraction of the cost.
I have experienced my power fan that can trigger my computer display to turn off and on - a surge protector solves it.

If stay in HDB, less likely to be affected by current spike and lightning~
Nevertheless, I still use surge protectors for my son and my desktops~ it's not expensive also and the built quality are better than most power extensions~
My Belkin surge protector more than 15yrs~ recently bought Master Plug surge protector~
Basically for lighting protection, there are 3 types. Type 1 to 3 with 1 being the device being able to withstand huge amount of energy from direct lighting strike which in most buildings or estates are equipped with lighting rods linked to ground, type 2 are usually equipped inside the switch room and of course lastly the indirect but low and fast energy from lighting ripples required Type 3 protection which in this case catered for domestic appliances.
You can buy those industrial grade Surge arrestors but installing them to your circuit breakers box is a huge challenge as they need to be connected in parallel with the Surge arrestors.
Woah this is overkill for me imo. I am just looking to protect certain expensive equipment with a strong surge protector that is a fraction of the cost. I am wondering how well does it work and if gemini is right that 2,000 joules and above is best. I am noob at this lol
The prob is i cant find 2,000 joules and above surge protector in sg anymore. Trying to find on overseas sites would be costly
IMHO.Same thoughts. It is a fraction of the equipment cost. So, better to use. Do u think the joules surge protection amount matter for these devices?
Gemini says
For any device in Singapore that you value, that stores data, or that is expensive to replace (like a computer or large TV), you should aim for a surge protector with a rating of 2,000 joules or more.
General Recommendation
I am wondering how accurate this info is. Local market only has 900 joules. The 2000+ joules version are no longer available![]()
Any lobang to get from stores? I googled type 3 one it bring me to industrial looking stores that seems for enterprise usage.Surge protectors have 3 types.........Type 1, Type 2 and Type 3. They prevent voltage surges from damaging your home equipment
I talked of it long time back, here
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...surge-protector.6688280/page-2#post-156804230
Any lobang to get from stores? I googled type 3 one it bring me to industrial looking stores that seems for enterprise usage.
What you should do is to add a SPD (Type 2) to your Circuit Breaker box if you stay in a HDB flat. It protects the equipment in your whole house from incoming voltage surges. Here the electrician will recommend a 20KA one but I bought a 40KA instead
Read my post earlier. It provides a lot of valuable info
How much does that cost. i only want to protect tv and pc lol
IMHO.How much does that cost. i only want to protect tv and pc lol
IMHO.
Eh... install your own grid. Will be safe.![]()
IMHO.it is safe. i just wanna extend lifespan of products. thats all
Thx now I understand liao. Type 3 is actually the common "surge protector" device that is marketed around. Basically is power strip with capability to protect against power spikes.https://www.se.com/sg/en/product-ca...ter=business-5-residential-and-small-business
https://www.electronicscrazy.sg/apc-ph12-apc-home-office-surgearrest-12-outlets-120v/
I think you better call Sneider Electric Singapore to see if they or they retailers are carrying the surge protected power extension strip. SL SQ also got sell if I'm not wrong
Belkin also have some
https://www.belkin.com/sg/products/surge-protectors-power-strips/
Here
https://sg.element14.com/c/electrical/power-outlet-strips-with-surge-protection
https://www.mouser.sg/c/circuit-protection/?features=Surge Protection
IMHO.
New TV or old TV ?
Use UPS, clean stable supply.

This version with over 2,000 joules is no longer available locally leh. Amazon.sg also dont have and amazon usa only have usa voltage sigh. It used to be avail.