Do surge protectors actually lengthen the lifespan of electronics?

occifer

No matter how good your hardware is, if the game or os like win 11 say your hardware cannot run and must buy new then you also suck thumb

Yeah of course but better not to upgrade yet due to win 11 having issues.
Win 10 has security updates till next year oct :)

begintoend

that is overdoing it. power interruption isnt the issue imo. just more stable electricity to help let the parts last longer will do
Ups does the part better with a cleaner output. It protects and provides backup. No way a mere surge protector outperform a UPS.

NintendoSwitch

Gemini suggests using surge protectors with 2,000 joules and above for costly PCs and TVs to lengthen its lifespan. I currently have those.

I get that surge protection is only one variable but does it actually work and to what extent?

Do u use surge protectors?

:s11:
BS.

x1243x

Gemini suggests using surge protectors with 2,000 joules and above for costly PCs and TVs to lengthen its lifespan. I currently have those.

I get that surge protection is only one variable but does it actually work and to what extent?

all the while I thought it's only useful for surges.. is that not the case? unless your area tends to get those lightning strikes not sure how it helps. maybe can enlighten.

coyote

Not that useful in Singapore context because most of us live in tall buildings which has their higher grade lightning arrestors. But do not educate Gemini...it will get smarter and replaces us faster.

tootired

confused.gif

yes if your earthing is bad and provided the protector capacity is sufficient. some better build electronic have some simple protection as well.

dev_stg_prd

https://www.ishopchangi.com/en/prod...e-protection-strip-with-2usb-ports-mp00173445

i dunno lol. but my model is this

my friend house caught fire because of some unbranded power extensions.

i immediately replace all power extensions in my house....throw all unbranded adapters, power sockets.

it is like insurance mah, u buy insurance u wanna claim meh lol

if u ur house using cheap electronics then dun bother to buy

my house all macs and sonos...dun wan later lightning strikes, all uplorry
You stay in Malaysia ?

keenklee

IMHO.
I use surge protectors and i must remind myself to use them again.
Within the homes, there are appliances and devices that generate EMI especially those having motors.
So I am just protecting my sensitive ( often more expensive ) devices.
Let's say a gigantic LED TV costing thousands - a surge protector is a fraction of the cost.

I have experienced my power fan that can trigger my computer display to turn off and on - a surge protector solves it.

sunsetbay

If stay in HDB, less likely to be affected by current spike and lightning~

Nevertheless, I still use surge protectors for my son and my desktops~ it's not expensive also and the built quality are better than most power extensions~

My Belkin surge protector more than 15yrs~ recently bought Master Plug surge protector~ :s22:

Masterplug-Surge-protector-power-socket.jpg

surgeprotector04.jpg

surgeprotector02.jpg

CI

It's an additional layer of protection. Last time my house trips intermittently during lightning thunderstorms. Installed a UPS for safety. Last thing I need is to keep worry sudden spike killing all my HDDs.

whatheheck

Yours is the 900 joules or the 2700 joule one?
The 2700 joule one is discontinued i think.
Does it seem to lengthen lifespan of your electronics or no use one lol?

last time beo around didn't see the 2700 one . the 900j Belkin one was so ex that I went for the targus one 1k joules for a more affordable price.
one other thing I notice about the supposed better brands is that they do not have individual switches too, I wonder why. ESP, powerpac have , cheaper too but mostly don't have surge or indicate any joules value.

rabies79

Basically for lighting protection, there are 3 types. Type 1 to 3 with 1 being the device being able to withstand huge amount of energy from direct lighting strike which in most buildings or estates are equipped with lighting rods linked to ground, type 2 are usually equipped inside the switch room and of course lastly the indirect but low and fast energy from lighting ripples required Type 3 protection which in this case catered for domestic appliances.

You can buy those industrial grade Surge arrestors but installing them to your circuit breakers box is a huge challenge as they need to be connected in parallel with the Surge arrestors.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.