Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

SongManKranji

Thanks brothers for the recommendation, shortlisted those inside Sutera Mall for the wife to choose and send her the Google maps reviews as well.
Pekin
Swee Kee
Restoran Evergreen
I won’t be surprised she come tell me eat something else.
Swee kee can't go wrong. If u like innards their liver is shiok. As long as chilli ingredients didn't change whack dah. 🤣

Aaagogo

received some info for RM138 for 10kg, 19 Durian branch, one just outside BI/NB TF Mart. One of the many down what can be considered as "Durian Street"

i like to eat these kind, because it brings back memories of my seasonal durian selling days 🤤 end of day, we get to eat these for free

photo-6197477533293415986-y.jpg

photo-6197477533293415987-y.jpg

picked out 14 cute ones, surprisingly, not may old ones; stems still attached

hmm... this durian very potent... i ate 4 fruits, still have 10 left, now have slight sore throat, phlegm and slight coughing

rarely experience this reaction after eating durian... the only thing new to my diet was the durian.

potato13

hmm... this durian very potent... i ate 4 fruits, still have 10 left, now have slight sore throat, phlegm and slight coughing

rarely experience this reaction after eating durian... the only thing new to my diet was the durian.

Old school saying is if you eat durian and have sore throat, cough etc.. means eat not enough.. LOL

SongManKranji

Is Swee Kee standard akin to SG’s Boon Tiong Kee?
To me Sutera swee kee better than boon Tiong kee.
Taste fresher. Maybe they use kampong cheekon. Ours probably all come dead fr factory. 😁
Next time I go Sutera swee kee ask them how they get their cheekons from. 😁
Even ksl kfc I ate taste better than the KFC here. Ksl one really finger licking gd. 😁 Shiok. 🤣

Elon Jobs

The mee hun kuay here is not bad. RM8, I asked for no processed food, so minced meat and vegetables only. The grinded chilli is good, slightly sour which is to my liking.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/8Yc8BQto8iWUr8X16?g_st=ipc
I had breakfast alone as the son has tummy ache, so bought bao, I mean buns, back for the kids and MHK for the wife.

After checking out, we dropped by Southern medical Sutera to let the doctor take a look as he vomited after eating half a bun, I mean bao. Prescribed some anti vomiting medication. Service is as solid as always from SM. Total bill RM130, the wife claiming from insurance, later I upload receipt.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/N2N5zDmQNas71JmK6?g_st=ipc

He felt slightly better so we dropped by this exotic pet store at TUTA to cheer him up as he absolutely loves animals. The store not bad, really got a ton of animals we’ve never see before even at two other exotic pet shops in Johor Bahru (one opposite Aeon Tebrau, the other one next to Midvalley). We saw bamboo rats and meerkats, besides the usual snakes geckos lizards cats ducks hamsters Chinchilla Guinea pigs hedgehogs tortoises terrapins plus a faak ton of fishes, shrimps. Didn’t take photos as not sure if allowed, because usually such stores won’t allow. Here’s the link, store owner is a Chinese lady, quite friendly:
https://maps.app.goo.gl/Tgk19pAk1YEr94jk7?g_st=ipc

We made a quick stop at Bestmart because the wife needed a second cup of coffee and also to checkout school shoes and bags for the daughter. We then drove “cross island” over to Midvalley while the son slept in the backseat as the medicine kicked in and made him drowsy. Daughter also fell asleep on the while there due to a slight jam near checkpoint. End up, they three slept in the car while I made a quick trip to village grocer to find my tacos sauce and wrap.

Once the lift door opened, I’m confronted by what I missed the last two days at Sutera area- tons of Singaporeans with huge backpacks and luggages queueing at oriental coffee while each holding the iconic truly Singaporean only bright orange Verona bags. This is indeed the JB I know and remember!

Before checking in to space residency, we made our way to the orphanage to distribute Christmas presents for the 20 kids there. We have been doing this regularly since 2015. They accept donations as well, and they are located near KSL. If you donate near CNY, they will give you free red packets drawn and designed by the children there!
https://maps.app.goo.gl/WvFApNJuZZf8kg9C6?g_st=ipc

Next stop, the eagerly anticipated space residency!

SongManKranji

The mee hun kuay here is not bad. RM8, I asked for no processed food, so minced meat and vegetables only. The grinded chilli is good, slightly sour which is to my liking.
I had breakfast alone as the son has tummy ache, so bought bao, I mean buns, back for the kids and MHK for the wife.

After checking out, we dropped by Southern medical Sutera to let the doctor take a look as he vomited after eating half a bun, I mean bao. Prescribed some anti vomiting medication. Service is as solid as always from SM. Total bill RM130, the wife claiming from insurance, later I upload receipt.

He felt slightly better so we dropped by this exotic pet store at TUTA to cheer him up as he absolutely loves animals. The store not bad, really got a ton of animals we’ve never see before even at two other exotic pet shops in Johor Bahru (one opposite Aeon Tebrau, the other one next to Midvalley). We saw bamboo rats and meerkats, besides the usual snakes geckos lizards cats ducks hamsters Chinchilla Guinea pigs hedgehogs tortoises terrapins plus a faak ton of fishes, shrimps. Didn’t take photos as not sure if allowed, because usually such stores won’t allow. Here’s the link, store owner is a Chinese lady, quite friendly:

We made a quick stop at Bestmart because the wife needed a second cup of coffee and also to checkout school shoes and bags for the daughter. We then drove “cross island” over to Midvalley while the son slept in the backseat as the medicine kicked in and made him drowsy. Daughter also fell asleep on the while there due to a slight jam near checkpoint. End up, they three slept in the car while I made a quick trip to village grocer to find my tacos sauce and wrap.

Once the lift door opened, I’m confronted by what I missed the last two days at Sutera area- tons of Singaporeans with huge backpacks and luggages queueing at oriental coffee while each holding the iconic truly Singaporean only bright orange Verona bags. This is indeed the JB I know and remember!

Before checking in to space residency, we made our way to the orphanage to distribute Christmas presents for the 20 kids there. We have been doing this regularly since 2015. They accept donations as well, and they are located near KSL. If you donate near CNY, they will give you free red packets drawn and designed by the children there!

Pls review space residency.
Visiting orphanage giving to the less privilege good cause. 👍

Roastduck

Remember to keep your son’s hydrated with 100 plus to replenish the loss salt etc in his vomits.

It could be food poisoning due to unhygienic conditions of the food he consumed.

A nurse once told me to choose boiling hot food while in Malaysia.

I usually don’t patronise kopitiam with many food stalls as the hygiene is questionable.

I stopped going to a Zhi char shop at Bukit Indah as their kitchen is open concept and chances of rats roaming around their work top etc are high.

I only eat at shops that the kitchenshuttle down.

It isn’t guaranteed of rats free, but it is better than open concept kitchens or all the stalls at kopitiam.

Precovid, 郑爷爷 wtm was operating from one of the many stalls at a Bukit Indah kopitiam.

After one episode of food poisoning from eating that wtm, I stopped eating at stalls at kopitiam to be safe.

tiertime

Remember to keep your son’s hydrated with 100 plus to replenish the loss salt etc in his vomits.

It could be food poisoning due to unhygienic conditions of the food he consumed.

I usually don’t patronise kopitiam with many food stalls as the hygiene is questionable.

I stopped going to a Zhi char shop at Bukit Indah as their kitchen is open concept and chances of rats roaming around their work top etc are high.

It isn’t guaranteed of rats free, but it is better than open concept kitchens or all the stalls at kopitiam.

Precovid, 郑爷爷 wtm was operating from one of the many stalls at a Bukit Indah kopitiam.

After one episode of food poisoning from eating that wtm, I stopped eating at stalls at kopitiam to be safe.
Is it hao Zhu yi ?

Elon Jobs

Thanks for the advice roastduck sis, but I don’t think it’s food because all four of us shared the same food and the daughter is usually the one with the weakest stomach and vomit first if it’s unclean. We think he got it from one of the children at the indoor playground who was coughing quite badly and playing in the sand pit with him. No choice, this is life.

And we try not to be too overprotective of our children and put them in a bubble. We frequent many coffeeshops partly because we want to train them a bit- dirty eat, dirty grow up; but mainly we want to show them good food doesn’t have to be expensive, expensive food doesn’t mean it’s good.

During our last staycation, we even had dinner at Jalan Sutera the night time street food. It was really quite funny when it started drizzling and kind Malaysians saw us with two kids and helped us shift our table from the road onto the pavement walkway! It was really quite an experience eating slightly drenched barbecue chicken wings which will never ever be replicated in Singapore.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/jNajq54nQ4APAayZ8?g_st=ipc

Elon Jobs

Sorry for late update as yesterday quite tired whole day driving around and playing with the boy at indoor playground again. Slept early last night.

From the orphanage, it was a short 2 minute drive to space residency. I parked the car at the drop off (the guard say it’s okay) while waiting for the person to arrive with the keys. I was quite surprised because usually Airbnb is ownself take keys from the mailbox.

While waiting, I went inside to take some photos for you guys. This is the only shop that’s opened currently and it’s a PRC convenience store. Precovid I’m pretty sure it will be a 7-11 or family mart, but no choice, Johor Bahru also not immune to the influx of China shops.

Spoke to a management guy in polo tee who was overseeing some renovation work and he told me this drain thing in the middle of the lobby is actually train tracks! Quite interesting concept, the train is for both adults and kids. He said it will be ready in a couple of months, so will the other shops in the lobby. They are projected to be up and running before CNY.

When the Airbnb person arrived to pass me the key, it was like a Pakistani guy who spoke good English and from the picture, he was holding keys to like 15-20 rooms! There was a queue of us waiting for the keys from him. Very interesting concept. He is not the same person from the Airbnb messenger. He’s quite a nice guy and told me he’s working for the management company and I can WhatsApp him if there’s issues with the room.

According to the security guard whom I chatted briefly with, the guys with all the keys is working at one of the offices at space residency itself, so you can collect the keys anytime from him until even like 9pm. I’m quite surprised.

I saw this sign on our door so I think this is the management group? https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/1562853249483704394?viralityEntryPoint=1&s=76
I went back to my Airbnb booking and check out the host profile and saw that she has over 50 listings there. Majority is KL but there’s 12 different space residency units.

This is the view from the gym, you can literally run on the treadmill and count the number of Singaporeans queuing up at PMX dim sum at the same time.

Exploring the place at level 12 I saw this. The damage looks quite bad. Hopefully no one was hurt.

Okay, morning chit done, weather is good, walking downstairs to buy my RM2.60 kopi O kosong and update the rest of the space residency from Yu Ee century.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.