Eight Telecom discussion thread

jheff21

knn stupid sia make me rush, aiya now just wait for my port-in and see how ..

Good also lah, give people more time to reach ;)

Speed wise (vs Zym) 700+mbps vs 300mbps LOL :ROFLMAO:
I got both also. I like eight better when it comes to speed and signal consistency. I think also 5g+ is already implemented for Eight. I never used singtel, only its mvno. Im not concerned in the speed but more on signal consistency. I always feel though that for zym, the signal is not always consistent contrary to the common opinion that singtel has widest and most consistent signal. My only problem with eight/starhub is in NEL between hougang to serangoon.

Elon Jobs

Just to share Eight roaming in Johor Bahru, Maxis and Umobile is usually directly opposite of each other in terms of strength of signal- this morning I was at Sutera and TUTA on Maxis all okay. When I reached space residency carpark opposite KSL and Maxis suddenly become E, so I manually switch to Umobile, full bar. Then I went to Bottage, Umobile 1 bar, I switch back to Maxis full bar. After that I come Giant southern city, Maxis become E again, so I switched to Umobile 3 bars.

ichinisan

Anyone knows which mvno/telco I can port over for less than a month (actually less than 2 weeks) then port over to Eight for the 88 days free promo?

swathe

Ported in from Zym. The 5G+ coverage better than Zym 4G.

$7 effective price vs Zym $15.

Telco really no loyalty, promo only for new customers.

Habrosus

Anyone knows which mvno/telco I can port over for less than a month (actually less than 2 weeks) then port over to Eight for the 88 days free promo?
The last time I did was Gomo. Not sure if still the same.

ichinisan

The last time I did was Gomo. Not sure if still the same.

Thanks for the info.

It seems like Zero1 have a minimum contract period of 1 month. Any idea is it possible if I were to port over to Zero1 now and port over to Eight next week, before the 28th for the promo? :LOL:

Habrosus

Thanks for the info.

It seems like Zero1 have a minimum contract period of 1 month. Any idea is it possible if I were to port over to Zero1 now and port over to Eight next week, before the 28th for the promo? :LOL:
No idea about Z1 as I've only tried Gomo. Port out within days only.

koohansen

Just to share Eight roaming in Johor Bahru, Maxis and Umobile is usually directly opposite of each other in terms of strength of signal- this morning I was at Sutera and TUTA on Maxis all okay. When I reached space residency carpark opposite KSL and Maxis suddenly become E, so I manually switch to Umobile, full bar. Then I went to Bottage, Umobile 1 bar, I switch back to Maxis full bar. After that I come Giant southern city, Maxis become E again, so I switched to Umobile 3 bars.
Use DigiCelcom, personally they are the most stable

xiaofan

Use DigiCelcom, personally they are the most stable

Interesting that giga does not have CelecomDigi yet eight has CelecomDigi as a roaming partner in Malaysia.

Same as giga and eight. For MY eight got Umobile, Maxis and CelecomDigi but giga less CelecomDigi

giga:
https://www.giga.com.sg/FAQs_Details.aspx?QuestionId=6423
  • Malaysia: Maxis, U Mobile
  • Indonesia: Indosat, Telkomsel
  • Thailand: True Move, DTAC
  • South Korea: SK Telecom, KT Corp
  • India: Airtel, BSNL, Vodafone Idea

koohansen

Maxis works best in major cities, eg KL. But CelcomDigi on expressways works best, even go to ulu East Coast of Malaysia Peninsular like Muar, Pekan, Rompin those in between town areas

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.