jogging and motivation thread

wj1984

Haha... more or less same as me, ~ 5-6 points off for 2.4/3k distane. ~ 10 points off for 5k
so what does the point mean?

Usually I just base on 5km and 10km. HM too much endurance factor. But 2.4km would be more accurate to reduce endurance factor. But vdot chart doesn't have a 2.4km. using your 5km and 10km puts you in the 44 for vdot. Vdot assume your running economy of 1, it should be fairly accurate for season runners, with a few points off. But not cyclist or other discipline.
Can try doing 3km or 3.2 km for more accuracy as this has far less endurance factor. This is already close to Cooper test.
so does that mean my vo2max should be 9 points lower?

bbbbbw

so i thought yesterday will be the last doc appt but after xray, doc says results look improving but have another follow up in march.

no longer wearing the scaphoid splint custom made by the occupational therapist.
i bought an oppo splint from NUH pharmacy.

no more pain and can flex. doc say can ride bike but try ride "on pcn only" lol

WussRedXLi

That means as distance goes down (from 5k down to 1k), it gets closer and closer to my watch's number, that's the relationship.
But then again, 1k prob not a good indicator coz it has a noticeable % on anaerobic reliance. 400m confirm is not.

WussRedXLi

But anyway, lazy....so i'll just use AI

And if your cardiac drift is jialat coz you are someone who is very affected by the heat here, then good luck with this variable as it'd really mess with the watch and algo.

Our 3k and 5k personal bests (PBs) are often slower than what our VO2max might suggest because VO2max only measures your body's potential "engine size," while actual race performance depends heavily on other critical factors like running economy, lactate threshold, and mental toughness.
Here's a breakdown of why this discrepancy occurs:

Key Performance Factors Beyond VO2max
  • Lactate Threshold: This refers to the point at which your body produces lactic acid faster than it can clear it. A high lactate threshold allows you to sustain a faster pace for a longer period of time without accumulating excessive fatigue. While the 3k and 5k are run at a high percentage of your VO2max, the ability to hold that intensity is limited by your lactate threshold.
  • Running Economy: This is a measure of how efficiently you use oxygen to move forward. Two runners with the exact same VO2max might have different running economies due to variations in biomechanics, muscle fiber type, body composition, and training. The runner with better economy will be able to sustain a faster pace at the same oxygen consumption level.
  • Muscle Endurance and Strength: Adequate muscular strength and endurance in the legs and core are essential for maintaining proper form and power throughout the race, especially as fatigue sets in. A lack of strength can lead to a drop in pace, regardless of your aerobic capacity.
Training and Mental Factors
  • Specific Training: VO2max training focuses on building your aerobic power (engine size), but a well-rounded training plan must also include workouts that target your lactate threshold and running economy. If your training has focused too much on one aspect, others may be underdeveloped.
  • Mental Toughness: Pushing your body to its limit in a race is a mentally demanding effort. Your personal best depends on your ability to tolerate the discomfort and maintain a high level of effort, which your VO2max score cannot predict.
  • Race-Day Execution: Factors such as pacing strategy (going out too fast or too slow), nutrition, hydration, and environmental conditions (heat, humidity, elevation) can significantly impact a single race performance.

rECKleSSfElla

zYyhIze.jpeg

Try sizing at Li-Ning shops and then buy from TB lol

Ender

so does that mean my vo2max should be 9 points lower?
Maybe not 9 point lower, less than that as your 2.4km suggest higher than 47Vdot. If you want to know, do the cooper test or a 3km run which has a direct VDOt conversion on the table. Less minutes 13 minutes for you, will reduce the endurance and the RE factor significantly.

There's a running site, runalyze.com . I used that for keep my metrics too. It's vo2max prediction is very closed to my 5km vdot, and coros own vo2max. At 42 to43 between them. When I left the Garmin eco system, I was a 52, which I think is over estimated me, as my 5km is 22:39 when I left.

fatesealer

Hi All! Hope the new year has been great for everyone. The last time I asked for advice with my run, has made me able to run long distance quite well. I was wondering if anyone could give me an advice on how to keep my heart rate zone around zone 3 consistently. I usually start pretty well maintaining it but once I reached 3km, somehow at the same pace, it will go to zone 4. This is for my usual 5km run. I usually ran on alternate days. In all the months that I have run, I have never been able to keep my HR at zone 3. Hopefully I could get some pointers here. Thank you.

SpeedingBullet

Can ask what is your number? Coz I have a feel those mostly in the 50s range for Garmin are mostly off in Singapore. But 60+ are still fairly accurate from YouTubers test.

Edit: Just saw your other post , it's 53.

My impression on on why 50 isn't accurate is because I see a lot of local runners with about 50+ in garmin, but their 10km and 5km PB are far off from expectations when using vdot.

can i provide a data pt
vo2 max - 54 garmin
2.4k - 9:18 (2025 early mid)
5k - 22:28 (2024)
10k - 46:08 (2025 year end)
21k - 1:43:50 (2025 year end)

so am i below, at or above my vo2max

Could be, but for season runners, Re can't be too far off. Even if account for RE, a few points maybe. I have see vdot of 10 points difference. Unless I am wrong in my assumption, and RE factor can be such significantly off.
VO2max is really just a number, basically just the capacity of your engine (like what one poster above said), not its efficiency or horsepower output at a certain gear if we're using motor analogy. It does not accurately measure 5k/10k/marathon timing, because no one runs even a 5k at vo2max speeds. There is some correlation between high vo2max and performance stats at the elite level and even then, the variances between actual race performance can vary very widely even if two people can have the exact same vo2max.

My Garmin's est. of 52 estimated my 10k at 45:28, but I ran 43:53 recently and it's yet to be updated lmao. The margins are quite wide sometimes, best is to head to the lab to really test out the figures to be real sure. But again, I have to say, for a smartwatch that's just basing off your assumed HR and pace, Garmin's algo is pretty strong and good enough for us normies to rely on. Not good to be fixated on those numbers.

Kuudere

Hi All! Hope the new year has been great for everyone. The last time I asked for advice with my run, has made me able to run long distance quite well. I was wondering if anyone could give me an advice on how to keep my heart rate zone around zone 3 consistently. I usually start pretty well maintaining it but once I reached 3km, somehow at the same pace, it will go to zone 4. This is for my usual 5km run. I usually ran on alternate days. In all the months that I have run, I have never been able to keep my HR at zone 3. Hopefully I could get some pointers here. Thank you.
Try running 30s/km slower than the pace you usually run and see if your HR is lower.
VO2max is really just a number, basically just the capacity of your engine (like what one poster above said), not its efficiency or horsepower output at a certain gear if we're using motor analogy. It does not accurately measure 5k/10k/marathon timing, because no one runs even a 5k at vo2max speeds. There is some correlation between high vo2max and performance stats at the elite level and even then, the variances between actual race performance can vary very widely even if two people can have the exact same vo2max.

My Garmin's est. of 52 estimated my 10k at 45:28, but I ran 43:53 recently and it's yet to be updated lmao. The margins are quite wide sometimes, best is to head to the lab to really test out the figures to be real sure. But again, I have to say, for a smartwatch that's just basing off your assumed HR and pace, Garmin's algo is pretty strong and good enough for us normies to rely on. Not good to be fixated on those numbers.
I don't know whether there is such a test but I want to try the running economy test since I think it will be a better predictor of marathon fitness. Having never done the marathon before, it might be able to shed some light into what pace I can aim for without blowing up.

xllms

For those who loves muscle mommies. power and thicc, desi johnson. Ex sprinter, now bobsleigh (olympics level). You see her frontside vs backside mechanics you'd know liao
Great personality and smile also

desi johnson's legs proportions to body is off, bulky looking, aesthetically not pleasant to the eyes. :ROFLMAO:

SpeedingBullet

Try running 30s/km slower than the pace you usually run and see if your HR is lower.

I don't know whether there is such a test but I want to try the running economy test since I think it will be a better predictor of marathon fitness. Having never done the marathon before, it might be able to shed some light into what pace I can aim for without blowing up.
that will be ur lactate threshold test. that's more relevant. It measures your vt1 and vt2, from there you know your zones, ur LT, then u can train accordingly

ok i share my old (2022) LT Test results here since the data is irrelevant:

Untitled.png

so this is what a LT test will look like, at every interval u run (+1kph every minute), they prick your finger to analyze the lactate (lactic acid) level that is accumulating in your blood. So in the results above, you see those red dots? That correlates with the LHS y-axis, so u can see all the way up till 11.75km/h, i was below 1.0mmol/L of lactate, meaning I'm using my aerobic system to run (primarily fat-burning, easy running, conversational pace), but after that, it starts to climb rapidly. Between the 3rd from the last and last pt, I was using primarily my anaerobic engine, so burning alot more carbs than fats. And at precisely 13.4km/h and above, that's my lactate threshold, meaning my body can't clear the lactate out of my muscles fast enough, you can literally feel this, this is what you'd describe as the "burn" in your muscles when you go really fast.

From this, you have many pts (speed zones) and your heart rate to the RHS y-axis, you can calculate your five training zones accurately because you now have solid, reliable data. Then when you apply this when you run, you know exactly what pace you will maintain in your Zone 2, and what pace is your LT when you wanna do your tempo runs, or 4x4 intervals.

hope this helps!

WussRedXLi

The chronic injury few runners know about - Compartment Syndrome​

Shin splints, a condition characterised by pain in the front of the lower leg, is very common among runners.

However, what you think are shin splints may actually be something called chronic compartment syndrome. In that case, it doesn't matter how long you rest or do rehab for shin splints, the pain will return as soon as you start running again.

Since this condition is not very well known, I want to shed some light on it, so I spoke with Dr Halldin Lindorsson, who happens to be an expert on chronic compartment syndrome.

Tudo88

Went to see physio yesterday, he ruled out achillies tendinitis, like what @Ender said, he said if it’s achillies tendinitis, I should be able to feel the pain at the heel or lower calf area specifically.

According to him, he said it’s my right hip that’s imbalanced that is causing my calf to overload and thus the pain.

Got to rest for another 2 weeks before I see him again. Private physio really damm ex.

WussRedXLi

I think the easiest is just to slow down a bit and try to maintain that.
This is how your body physiologically copes with the extra heat that the body is creating while the muscles are contracting, and as we know, muscles are ~ 20% efficient and 80% heat. So say you are doing 200W jog, that is like 800W of heat liao. I kid you not. You heart/body then uses even more extra energy and channels that blood flow to near the skin and sweats to try dissipate that heat.

And over here in SG, pretty much exercise in futility coz of the heat. Nowadays early morning still somewhat ok....but still it is far from optimal unless if you can somewhat regularly douse yourself with chilled water (can also try that when running in loops around your home or on the 400m track)

You can also try this out, if you dont mind the risk of falling sick (wont lah). Go and run during a rather heavy rainstorm and temperature at 23-24 deg C, but pls pls take note of lighting risk. Use a lousy shoe if you want.
So it is not just 23-24 deg C temp, it is that rainwater at say 22-23 deg C constantly cooling you.

Wont be too cold one, if you keep the pace up....... I cycled so many times in the heavy rain on my foldie last time.
Damn shiok. :grin: Even tried Rail corridor when it was raining (trying to go ABC market to packet food), and came across fallen trees........actually now thinking back i also playing with my life then. So dont try this on the rail corridor.... :unsure:
Now on road bike i dont dare to play such stunts liao.

Bonus
Google for this, NEA lighting alert
https://www.weather.gov.sg/lightning/lightning/lightningalertinformationsystem.jsp

WussRedXLi

There is also heat training which can help lots. Unfortunately that physiologically only lasts about 2 weeks post workout(s). 🤣 Not permanent. So.... sigh.

And lastly, of coz, you'd just can try to get fitter. So then of coz naturally you'd then run at a lagi lower HR than before at the same effort/pace. But the issue would still be there, just at a lower bar.
But overall, untrained and unfit folks are much more susceptible to cardiac drift, the fitter you are, the less susceptbile.

Also why so many people spend thousands of dollars flying overseas for marathons and try to get PBs as well.
It's actually sorta free money on the table for us, coz more or less in some way or another, we over here are already heat training to certain degrees compared to those in colder climates.

The converse is also true, ang mohs come over to SG and try to run here wo heat training, either they do terribly or they just peng san. Like that London marathon or recent Berlin izzit......23 deg C ang mohs dropping like flies. For us if 23 deg C i think 95% of local runners out there trying to gun liao. :grin: :grin:

WussRedXLi

Bro, you pretty hardcore / data driven runner. Just get your lactate meter.......esp if you can stand the constant pricking. Around $300 nia, edit - nowadays significantly less than $300 :oops: . No need to have a good super accurate one, you wanna see trends can liao. These chinese products are more than sufficient for us, and even for our national self-sponsored athletes if i may add.
Actually is also to confirm your own feeling, after that can even map out at X mmol/L you'd feel what in your legs. :D

I used to do it, but even as general usage and i dont mind the prickling coz i also got my own OGTTs every now and then with my blood glucose meter, but it was not that enjoyable and i was transitioning into cycling. One really gotta stop literally instantly and measure it within seconds, which is quite the feat. So since 1 year plus ago not much use liao. Other than the expiry of the test strips is pretty short as in ~ 12 months usually, so that is also one on-going expense that you gotta maintain tho not terribly expensive.

Search on TB etc, not expensive one. Just the cost of 2 pcs BMAI 3.0 turbos and way cheaper than your overseas marathons . :grin: If done consistently, it might really help significantly in shaping your training as it is no longer agaration, and also help you improve faster coz you'd be testing and confirming things and be 100% sure when to move up your training and no longer like 3 blind mice guessing.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?abbucket=14&id=694846983758&mi_id=0000O4Vrx-OQ0_xgNBoLB_89eEUNMx4iLWmYoRQzxl9pcy0&ns=1&priceTId=214781b817685357345274855e198a&skuId=4931536261004&spm=a21n57.imgsearch.item.1&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"466aa23ee964529f9e6a9c1e5c028c3f"}&xxc=taobaoSearch
(unfortunately, need to use 3rd party forwarder, changing address in TB profiles does not work)

ps. For the lance and esp lancelets, better go shopee and get Accucheck, coz poking yourself with those. Much safer. And also the alcohol swabs.

O1CN01IZePqj1mXZBYKGrKj_!!2214612974964-0-picasso.jpg_.webp

dev_stg_prd

silly question say we are still active and running and assuming we are not sick when old..
we can really still continue to run as of now ah?

WussRedXLi

These ones can send via official forwarder via vegetable bird......but more expensive unit.
Not sure what's the diff vs the above tho.

They also have EKF Lactate scout and Nova Lactate Plus, but more costly than other avenues. But then other avenues the shipping is terok (DHL / Fedex, the GST declaration admin overhead already like 20 dollars), so see which one more expensive. Nowadays i dont really dare to get from Ebay already.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?abbucket=14&id=868546007700&mi_id=00007aXx6jnfQPeuqCQOM7G8NnTpCTxARx7BkUZc8ue2OaE&ns=1&skuId=5865806483595&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.4&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"f8e6e628f9239ef1397c21061d9bdb49"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?abbucket=14&id=929900860633&mi_id=0000qC_4LBjHyv818eTSGxne4CwmfpKYFNQJzfJm6ae1xdU&ns=1&skuId=5813870497446&spm=a21n57.1.item.3&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"156d3bb8da38ddfffd8608f937f25899"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.