jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Anyone changed the stock insole of the Xiaonians to something thicker and noticed a difference? The stock insole is 2mm and i ordered the 5mm 大毛牛 from xiaonian. Dont know if it will make any difference but only paid around $7 with free shipping from PDD so why the hell not.
@xllms He maybe changed. I know he uses diff soles. For me, I never take out soles of shoes unless cleaning haha

GlassDoor

Last time there are weird distance run like the Straits Time run 18.45km, and the Adidas KOTR run at 16.8km. There're also use to have these Chinese new year run with distances ends with 8.

I will likely go for the 21km eco run. Discount code. The 15km run is likely part of the 21km route. One year I ran the eco run and due to the starting the run after 7:30pm, it got too hot and decided to DNF at 15km check point. Which is one of their valid end point. Just rest there, with Iso tonic til the bus pick us up to the race village to collect our bags.
there is a discount code for the 21km? me not income client.

GlassDoor

@xllms He maybe changed. I know he uses diff soles. For me, I never take out soles of shoes unless cleaning haha
I replaced XN's insole after about 110km or so. basically the forefoot area of the insole was totally flatten. Also the insole sort of a sweat sponge. Replaced with an old boston 12's paper thin insole. Ponding in the shoe seems to have reduced drastically. YMMV

xllms

No plate super trainers shootout. Just take as reference rather than absolute truth becuz from all the Xiaonian reviews i seen, this is the only guy that feels the Xiaonian is best for zone 2 runs and not good for speedworks.

i agree with him, Xiaonian is a better shoe for zone 2, zone 3 long distance runs than speedwork cos forefoot too thick.

winningeleven

All the while . I just run and don't be any speed training . 1st time doing interval and just did a yasso 800m. I just did 6 sets x 800m but I felt I should able to go total of 8 sets . I stopped because I wanted to fetch my wife after work . I hope in future I can improve to do more sets and have a shorter rest time. Today I aim 800m below 3mins 45 sec and rest of 2 mins. Happy that I actually ran faster today

WussRedXLi

All the while . I just run and don't be any speed training . 1st time doing interval and just did a yasso 800m. I just did 6 sets x 800m but I felt I should able to go total of 8 sets . I stopped because I wanted to fetch my wife after work . I hope in future I can improve to do more sets and have a shorter rest time. Today I aim 800m below 3mins 45 sec and rest of 2 mins. Happy that I actually ran faster today

Great stuff. A fair amount is actually better neuromuscular recruitment/drive if that is the case.....something like "beginner's gains" in this area. Hope that you can also develop even better form also and aid some RE, which translates into more speed. Of coz your muscular strength also need to be able to tahan and hold this for the distance you are doing.

You can even put some cherry and whipped cream on the top with some SITs, or if you are a firm believer that such high speeds are high risk for injury for those who are older, then do strides. Anything "new" that you do = tendency to improve.
SITs can be done with just 50-60m distances and short reps (I dont exceed 4, but i have been doing them with my kid long before Covid believe it or not).
Strides also not supposed to be really taxing, dont turn them into yasso 800s or any interval based style training, that is not the aim. But they are longer than SITs, just search on youtube on how to do these 2.....but personally i think since you are into longer distances, SITs dont need to do that many reps and 50-75m really sufficient liao. If scared about injury, you can lower it with hills, 40m-50m. Also, you can do it like strides style of acceleration and deceleration, but then aim towards 75-100m with the start and ending not as explosive.

If anyone thinks this is BS and time wasting and does not believe it'd help HM or FM long distance, then go see how Bekele does them strides, most famous example. Other notable egs include Haile Gabrielsee or Mo Farah. Lagi a few dozen reps and multiple times a week, not just the few reps that most runners would do and only on speed day which might even be just once per week.
But no need to spend too much volume or time, even a little goes a long way from beginning stage. If find them interesting and it is for you, can invest more time.

Some folks do not think this is effective training. You go regular neighbourhood stadium or PCN or what and see who does them, less those doing structured / coached sessions. Think we similar talked about glute max exercises before also at the stadium, similar story,,,,

WussRedXLi

IVP Track & Field Championships 2026 - Men 10000 Meter Run​

Institute-Varsity-Polytechnic (IVP) Games Track & Field Championships 2026

WussRedXLi

VO2max tested for Truett Hanes. (WR push up holder now trying for Olympic Trials for marathon)

Not a pro, but i think might not be good enough for a 2:15 and below, after accounting for some buffer needed. But i guess he knows that (that's why he still has 2 more years) and aiming to improve
In fact if i am not terribly wrong, best to get above 60 for sub 3, so that this is no way a limiter. If you are mid 50s then you gotta be terribly efficient in 2-3 other areas

GlassDoor

Great stuff. A fair amount is actually better neuromuscular recruitment/drive if that is the case.....something like "beginner's gains" in this area. Hope that you can also develop even better form also and aid some RE, which translates into more speed. Of coz your muscular strength also need to be able to tahan and hold this for the distance you are doing.

You can even put some cherry and whipped cream on the top with some SITs, or if you are a firm believer that such high speeds are high risk for injury for those who are older, then do strides. Anything "new" that you do = tendency to improve.
SITs can be done with just 50-60m distances and short reps (I dont exceed 4, but i have been doing them with my kid long before Covid believe it or not).
Strides also not supposed to be really taxing, dont turn them into yasso 800s or any interval based style training, that is not the aim. But they are longer than SITs, just search on youtube on how to do these 2.....but personally i think since you are into longer distances, SITs dont need to do that many reps and 50-75m really sufficient liao. If scared about injury, you can lower it with hills, 40m-50m. Also, you can do it like strides style of acceleration and deceleration, but then aim towards 75-100m with the start and ending not as explosive.

If anyone thinks this is BS and time wasting and does not believe it'd help HM or FM long distance, then go see how Bekele does them strides, most famous example. Other notable egs include Haile Gabrielsee or Mo Farah. Lagi a few dozen reps and multiple times a week, not just the few reps that most runners would do and only on speed day which might even be just once per week.
But no need to spend too much volume or time, even a little goes a long way from beginning stage. If find them interesting and it is for you, can invest more time.

Some folks do not think this is effective training. You go regular neighbourhood stadium or PCN or what and see who does them, less those doing structured / coached sessions. Think we similar talked about glute max exercises before also at the stadium, similar story,,,,
i am a firm believer that most experienced runners will stand to benefit greatly in investing in a pair of spikes and one or two track sessions a month. But most will think i siao :ROFLMAO:

winningeleven

Wow. Is almost like running 100m dash. I still remb I ran 12.2 sec when I was a 14 years school boy and 1 min 2 sec for the 400m. All were hand timed and it was in year 1993 or 1994.

winningeleven

haha, I didn't sign up for 2xu cause I felt it was way too ex and last year there were so many complaints.

I ran in 2023 and it was my worst run. Spend 1st hour running zig zag to overtake slower runners and encountered 2 or 3 bottleneck along the route. I was completely exhausted after 10km. My timing was 2hr 9 mins !!

Ender

i cheapo :cool:. agree the ecorun is value for money and seem to me more community centered... don't flame me but 2XU seems like a money grab.

haha, I didn't sign up for 2xu cause I felt it was way too ex and last year there were so many complaints.
2XU brand themselves as a premium race, coz of the branding. But it's one of the consistently badly organized run from the complaints they received year after year. Also one of the most expensive race that isn't WA or SA certified. Pay a bit more can run SCSM HM which gives you the satisfaction that you PBed on a certified course, coz this is important as races like 2xu had been giving questionable distances over the years.

Eco run is cheap and so far I am satisfied with their logistic. Adequate drink station. But do note, at this price, there is no medal or even tees (purchase at extra cost as an option)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.