jogging and motivation thread

sales69

sales69

Anyone changed the stock insole of the Xiaonians to something thicker and noticed a difference? The stock insole is 2mm and i ordered the 5mm 大毛牛 from xiaonian. Dont know if it will make any difference but only paid around $7 with free shipping from PDD so why the hell not.
The stock insole is CMI for me. Since. I don't like firm feeling.

I changed to Plaid 大牦牛. More springy and softer to my liking.

Also tried Leili Plaid's insole which is slightly more softer but less springy.

But be careful when replacing insole. Make sure the size fits nicely and insert in without excess to the side(instep) and heel area.

My recent plantar pain likely cause by changing insole on the Dowin Speedster 3. I noticed the insole was slightly slanted but heck care.

Next day after run injured. :(

WussRedXLi

Wow. Is almost like running 100m dash. I still remb I ran 12.2 sec when I was a 14 years school boy and 1 min 2 sec for the 400m. All were hand timed and it was in year 1993 or 1994.

Then you shd be fine, there ought to be at least a wee bit of muscle memory left (brain, not the same as neuromuscular / neural drive and motor units / type 2A and 2X fibres).

It shd come back soon enough, with some very slow but progressively added training. At least theorectically shd be faster than those pure couch potatoes, which really need years if not decades of serious training before can post seriously decent times. eg 400m can hit 65-70s, it is possible even with a 60 yr old.

For me, speed and explosiveness is absent from my teens and NSF and NSmen years. My shuttle run, for eg, need to run several times and the station IC give chance then i pass. SBJ no need to say, just forget it.

WussRedXLi

i am a firm believer that most experienced runners will stand to benefit greatly in investing in a pair of spikes and one or two track sessions a month. But most will think i siao :ROFLMAO:

Not siao, anyone who are into speed definitely can use spikes. Branch into this area, youtube a lot of training vids, some of which i also share. But yeah the vast majority (less a small bunch) would think siao one esp for elderly.
But imo the converse is true......slowly but progressively trained over years for the middle aged and elderly (not months hor, not even 12 months) , it is useful and functional. Esp if you add in a bit of twists and turns (so-called chaos training) here and there elsewhere, train proprioception as cell. Very functional and useful in real life one, and significantly delay "aging" in this area.

And once conditioned with S&C and the volume/intensity is managed, 200, 300m, 400m, 800m is actually no more injury prone than easy LSDs, believe it or not. Unless the middle aged or elderly fella really satki and can maintain maximal effort for 200-400m or play block starts one. heh. A good way of putting it is it's not that much different from strides in terms of RPE......and we know strides with proper form are not more injury prone than say easy runs.

Very easy one..... dont use it, you lose it. Simple as that.

But of coz, need to be near a stadium also lah. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Later go watch.......

I never really liked 4 mins. For me is 30-40s durations (but done 3 sets and high reps of 12), more so coz of cycling training influences. (and even then, these are surgical strikes and meant to shock the system every now and then and be useful in road cycling context, lactate threshold training matters more...but still you gotta train every part of the energy systems and not leave money on the table while focusing on appropriate recovery).

Ender

Later go watch.......

Heng, i never really liked 4 mins. For me is 30-40s durations (but done 3 sets and high reps of 12), more so coz of cycling training influences. (and even then, these are surgical strikes and meant to shock the system every now and then and be useful in road cycling context, lactate threshold training matters more...but still you gotta train every part of the system and not leave money on the table while focusing on appropriate recovery).

Watch liao. He point is this workout is too demanding to be used as the main pillar of threshold training. Really don't think anyone uses 4X 4 as their only high intensity workouts except those influencers raving about them.

WussRedXLi

Later go watch.......

I never really liked 4 mins. For me is 30-40s durations (but done 3 sets and high reps of 12), more so coz of cycling training influences. (and even then, these are surgical strikes and meant to shock the system every now and then and be useful in road cycling context, lactate threshold training matters more...but still you gotta train every part of the energy systems and not leave money on the table while focusing on appropriate recovery).

Ok watched. Seems like no real differences between the 15/15 grp and 4 x 4 grp. So in essence, the 30/30 or 40/40 i have been doing same as that. I cannot tahan 30/15 or 40/20 as "regular" training.
The 3k TTs i already puked a couple of times.

WussRedXLi

Watch liao. He point is this workout is too demanding to be used as the main pillar of threshold training. Really don't think anyone uses 4X 4 as their only high intensity workouts except those influencers raving about them.

Yes, i just watched. And yeah i sorta agree. 4 mins (3 mins rest at easy) is rather hard for majority. Threshold holds better returns for us, even for say 5k/10k runners.

The 3Ks that i attempted before, i puked actually a couple of times. Not easy to pace if wanna get PBs also.

For cycling, a similar concept is LCK or WCH, which are 8km and 5km respectively. I dont TT LCK road, but for WCH is around 7-7.5 mins effort for the 5k (chevron marker to chevron marker at Vivo to Pasir Panjang end)

Also when younger and during NSmen time, i also puked 2X for 2.4, i guess same old same old. Didnt wannt go IPT......but training not sufficient, so all out just whack.

WussRedXLi

Not sure which siao lang prescribing 3 sessions of VO2 work per week. :unsure:

Stop burning out with endless high-intensity intervals. Discover the exact Zone 5 dosage you actually need to build a massive aerobic engine, improve your VO2 Max, and boost your lactate threshold without the fatigue.

Your Instagram feed is lying to you. Influencers claim that 3 sessions of Zone 5 a week will boost your fitness by 12%, but for most endurance athletes, this is a one-way ticket to injury and burnout.

In this deep dive into endurance physiology, Chris explains why your heart might be writing checks your muscles can't cash.

We break down the critical difference between VO2 Max (your potential) and Lactate Threshold (your performance).

You will learn why "revving your heart rate to the moon" is useless if you haven't built the mitochondrial density and capillary network to process that oxygen.

We also cover the specific 4x4 minute interval protocol (similar to the Norwegian Method) to maximize stroke volume, how to test your own physiological limiters using a 5K or lab test, and how to structure your training week to balance high-intensity VO2 max work with the necessary Zone 2 foundation.

WussRedXLi

Again, another vid......how heat affects your performance. (core temp sensors inside video, both body and limbs)

WussRedXLi

This is crazy, so much $$$ in this both wheelset and frame, but rear wheel is not even balanced. (and i dont think the front wheel is neither since no care was given).

Not sure if that tribar costs even more than my road bike whole thing. 🤣

Really crazy rich asians.

WussRedXLi

Aura farming might actually be one of the motivational factors and develop "keeps you in the hobby" mindset.

WussRedXLi

this one confirm siao...:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
need to prebook physio or hospital first.

Even for me, is 1 time max per training week. And sometimes that training week might be 10 or even 11 days due to some other stuff (usually 9 days tho). At times i might skip also, due to more focus on strength / cali stuff. But at least for me, it needs to be done "all year round"....as a general focus coz i prefer to let it maintain and no detrain, and then slowly progress again when time is right. (sort of tortoise and hare story, with me being the tortoise).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.