jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

You all still running normally with the haze in SG? Or cut down on volume?

Wondering which is optimal...

It is just smell, lots of it. Due to the compounds burnt. The particulate matter level is not that high.

Now, if 1hr AQI > 150 (is sort of "1hr" PSI 100 or PM2.5 > 55 ug/m3) and you are running 42km, then better not.
Even for 10km, i think is largely fine even for mild or even moderate asthmatics or those sensitive to haze like me ( i get headaches, confirm one)

In 2015, even heavy haze with AQI 300-400+ also got folks running at my place. That one also better not, even for 5k. It's probably ard the same exposure of PSI 100 for 42k.......havent gone into the exact math but agaration is around there. But some folks do get rather fast and acute symptoms due to such instaneous high lvls of exposure compared to more moderate but few hours of exposure. Things like sore throat, dry eyes, even asthma attacks

Ender

It is just smell, lots of it. Due to the compounds burnt. The particulate matter level is not that high.

Now, if 1hr AQI > 150 (is sort of "1hr" PSI 100 or PM2.5 > 55 ug/m3) and you are running 42km, then better not.
Even for 10km, i think is largely fine even for mild or even moderate asthmatics or those sensitive to haze like me ( i get headaches, confirm one)

In 2015, even heavy haze with AQI 300-400+ also got folks running at my place. That one also better not, even for 5k. It's probably ard the same exposure of PSI 100 for 42k.......havent gone into the exact math but agaration is around there. But some folks do get rather fast and acute symptoms due to such instaneous high lvls of exposure compared to more moderate but few hours of exposure. Things like sore throat, dry eyes, even asthma attacks
The haze not too bad. More pocketed. E.g. started run with some smell, after a while no smell. Just on and off. I say mostly is off.

Kuudere

I do Norwegian Singles Method nowadays. No VO2 max session, just 3 threshold sessions per week. Your body recovers pretty fast provided you maintain discipline on your threshold paces while keeping easy run easy.
By right, have to do 5k all out/time trial every month to get the stimulus.

I tried this previously, and it best suits HM training the most since the pace is directly at HM effort.

A few things that I noted was that NSM doesn't fare well for those running 4 days or less a week. You have 3 sessions + long run, then where is the easy run? Hence, It favours 6-7 days of running the most.

The core workouts are short and long ST, since it achieves the best of both worlds. Doing 3 is possible early on, but when scaling up over time, I think 2 is sufficient.

For M training, I believe there's some adaptation to the NSM method, but I haven't looked into that.
If Jon wasn't injured, I wonder if Soh would have stuck to marathon and let Jon do 10k or still let Richard do marathon haha
I think he achieved what he set out to achieve by winning both SCMS HM/M. He earnt $15k, that's more than SEA games gold medal prize money, knowing full well he might not have the chance to do as well for the marathon in SEA games. He could taper for the marathon and possibly medal there, but I doubt it is as worth as winning both SCMS HM/M.

WussRedXLi

Umm......young recreational jogger 300m from promonitory to red dot peng cek already, around 60s for 300m.

WussRedXLi

But of coz if you are just a pure runner, 1x bodyweight for squats and maybe 1.25x bodyweight for deadlift is fine already, as per what some running websites say. Cyclists can add 25% more.

But if you want a nice physique to show off while running and not be shy when you take off the shirt wearing spandex running tights at the end of the group run when sipping beverage, best to go for 2 to 2.5X squat/deadlifts and also the other exercises.
This is esp so if you are not married yet? 🤣

If worried about the spine and discs then do single leg variant in which you can cut the number in approx half....which i think has slightly more pros coz of the stability required. For the majority that would be 30-45kg single leg squats/deadlifts, 8-12 reps. Actually from my experience once per week is fine, 1 warm up set, 1 working set and 1 full out to failure set where the last rep is line 2-3X slower in speed than the first rep @ max effort. For pull ups/dips actually just 1 warm up and 1 hard set is enough, dont even need to go to failure.

Preferably to do this 1 day before your full rest day, coz when properly done you will definitely feel this stimulation the day after.

Dont have to buy physical weights or pay money to go to the gym. Just minibands and the longer 2.08m bands would do.....but in that case you might have to raise the "target weight" a bit (coz max elongation is max resistance, and shorter = less resistance)

WussRedXLi

I still remember the day (still covid period that time the ending part) when i was training my kid assisted pull ups at my area's fitness corner, someone came over and asks me if i should do that coz it might injure the kid. :unsure: :oops:

Heng she was friendly. Scared kena video-ed and posted on social media with child abuse.

WussRedXLi

Ang moh bu really ON, i guess different culture :oops:
edit - either that or she last time T&F or similar sports, got that real competitive spirit

This girl actually can run, possibly below 3:00 pace most parts. See the initial and ending parts.

WussRedXLi

KNN this middle age fella hauling neuromuscular ass, sure got do at least strides or maybe some short distance sprints at least. Cadence > 240 (timed several times via his arm swing) and with power

WussRedXLi

@sales69

Forgot. Can go Kun Hai or Scarlett and try this. Really nice and not too sickly tasting favour.
IIRC 9 point something grams per 100ml
Pop into freezer from the fridge compartment immeidately after you wake up in the morning just nice by the time you leave home for session.

KSF-Honey-Jasmine-Tea-500ml.png

WussRedXLi

@xllms

1.3k sgd with LTWoo ER7 electronic groupset. Even if anything goes wrong, easy and cheap to replace in CN over there, labour shd be relatively low also.

Swap the tire out for Continental GP5000 (or if bike shop can trade in a bit lagi better) and you are in biz.

Use flat pedals.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=754064257225&mi_id=0000lk-az5Z2UVhcVRR-GDM_GZd5ZLBjkLjMuesaEhUZmkE&ns=1&priceTId=2150416917701662135532150e1bc6&skuId=6039594795975&spm=a21n57.1.similarHoverItem.19&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"2e2bfbe98c3de337d6f032f876694b8b"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

Dont think Shimano good quality no issue also.
Apparently they have quite a lot of issues (many comments) documenting the small springs being easy to get too compressed and fail working.
I bent it back myself, DIY.
Went to Taobao to get new springs to change also, coz the small spring which overly compressed caused the bigger spring to break and fail. Initially i cut the big spring and still continued to use it, then on TB I bought similar springs to DIY.

To change out 1 shifter for 105, is 300+ SGD here.
Ultegra i think around 500+
If Durace, is 1k for a pair (dont think got separate Left or Right)

xllms

@xllms

1.3k sgd with LTWoo ER7 electronic groupset. Even if anything goes wrong, easy and cheap to replace in CN over there, labour shd be relatively low also.

Swap the tire out for Continental GP5000 (or if bike shop can trade in a bit lagi better) and you are in biz.

Use flat pedals.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=754064257225&mi_id=0000lk-az5Z2UVhcVRR-GDM_GZd5ZLBjkLjMuesaEhUZmkE&ns=1&priceTId=2150416917701662135532150e1bc6&skuId=6039594795975&spm=a21n57.1.similarHoverItem.19&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"2e2bfbe98c3de337d6f032f876694b8b"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

Dont think Shimano good quality no issue also.
Apparently they have quite a lot of issues (many comments) documenting the small springs being easy to get too compressed and fail working.
I bent it back myself, DIY.
Went to Taobao to get new springs to change also, coz the small spring which overly compressed caused the bigger spring to break and fail. Initially i cut the big spring and still continued to use it, then on TB I bought similar springs to DIY.

To change out 1 shifter for 105, is 300+ SGD here.
Ultegra i think around 500+
If Durace, is 1k for a pair (dont think got separate Left or Right)

yah, if one is open to China brands, can consider

GROUPSET:
SENSAH 顺泰
MAGENE 迈金
LTWOO 蓝图
WHEELTOP 轮峰

LTWOO has 3 options for electronic group set options, erX, er9 & er7 (all 2x10/12 speed). erX is the lightest and most expensive while er7 is the most affordable and heaviest. Don't know how they perform (especially in the shifting aspect) in comparison with each other. But for basic recreational usage, indeed er7 is probably a good option to consider.

For wheel set and tires, there are too many in China to choose from.

Hence anyone who does DIY for his/her own ride, it's a great time to be in with so many options from China that offer quality at much lower prices.

Yes, if I am to build a bike, I will opt for flat pedals just for convenience. Not hardcore enough 😂

WussRedXLi

yah, if one is open to China brands, can consider

GROUPSET:
SENSAH 顺泰
MAGENE 迈金
LTWOO 蓝图
WHEELTOP 轮峰

LTWOO has 3 options for electronic group set options, erX, er9 & er7 (all 2x10/12 speed). erX is the lightest and most expensive while er7 is the most affordable and heaviest. Don't know how they perform (especially in the shifting aspect) in comparison with each other. But for basic recreational usage, indeed er7 is probably a good option to consider.

For wheel set and tires, there are too many in China to choose from.

Hence anyone who does DIY for his/her own ride, it's a great time to be in with so many options from China that offer quality at much lower prices.

Yes, if I am to build a bike, I will opt for flat pedals just for convenience. Not hardcore enough 😂

For Shimano, bro i-forgot-the-nick-but-not-rarenick said 105 vs ultegra di2 no diff in shift speed in reality (but youtube got vids show a bit of differences in shift speed but that is from gear 1 to 12 and instantly changing down again, so that's 24 shifts total), dont bother changing. For the front derailleur, 105 is like 2X slower than ultegra, but he also said dont bother, no diff in real world uses. And with that, even ultegra vs durace di2 is lesser difference. The difference in weight is got difference, but i can tell you, even for those few hundred metres short climb, dont bother. And your core/mobility, you need to maintain the low aero position for longer = win.....that's a lot of watts at higher speeds of ~ 40kmh.

The real difference would be in training, both cardiovascular and strength, and then lactate clearance. Durability. And possibly neuromuscular and to a certain extent plyo/explosiveness rate-of-force development. And if you are road racing (not talking about criteriums, that's a whole different crazy example), experience. Basic stuff like pacing also, and nutrition for longer rides as eating on the bike on the road is not the same as eating while running, that's a given.

It's just like your red hare vs say Pro 4. Both would not magically turn any one of us adults recreational group joggers into sub 20 5k runners without any semi-structured training at least ..... There will be differences in "feel" and stuff.......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.