jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Can see how much emphasis pilates is on the iliospsoas, abdominals, erector spinae, basically whole back muscle grps....

WussRedXLi

AI Overview

Yes, high-cadence spin classes (typically >95–100 RPM) are highly dependent on neuromuscular coordination, as they require the nervous system to rapidly fire muscles, synchronize movements, and maintain efficiency without relying on high-force, muscular grinding
Key Aspects of Neuromuscular Dependency in High-Cadence Spinning:
  • Rapid Muscle Firing: High cadence requires the nervous system to coordinate muscle contractions at a high rate, specifically training the brain to activate muscles more frequently, rather than relying on raw force (torque).
  • Improved Efficiency (Pedal Stroke): High-cadence drills are specifically used to teach neuromuscular coordination, improving the smoothness of the pedal stroke and reducing the "dead spots" in the rotation.
  • Reduced Muscular Load, Higher Cardio Demand: While low-cadence (grinding) puts more strain on the muscles, high-cadence shifting moves the load to the cardiovascular system, requiring the brain to coordinate rapid, lighter, and faster muscle contractions.
  • Adaptation over Time: As you practice higher cadences (e.g., 100+ RPM), your neuromuscular system adapts, allowing you to sustain higher speeds with less "bounce" or loss of form, thus improving overall efficiency.
Training Benefits of High-Cadence Workouts:
  • Improved Cadence "Ceiling": By practicing at high cadence (e.g., 110-120 RPM intervals), you increase your maximum usable RPM and raise your neuromuscular ceiling.
  • Enhanced Cardiovascular Capacity: High-cadence pedaling is designed to boost your heart rate and VO2 max, using high-intensity, low-resistance efforts to improve cardio endurance.
  • Reduced Muscle Fatigue: By shifting from a "pushing" motion (high torque) to a "spinning" motion, you reduce the strain on your leg muscles (like the quads) and reduce the overall risk of muscular failure.

kaisin82

Current IPPT system seems to encourage people to put their eggs in one basket lor. Last time i was perennial failure during NSF all the way till MR so i was permanent resident for RT program. At my current age, my best 2.4 timing already can score 40+ so just a few shy from 50 point passing mark.
actually where did Singapore base its 2.4km standards from? why 1.6km and 2.4km?

sph777

Hi all, I'm an recreational runner. Currently using an Addidas SL2.

Looking for a pair of Chinese daily trainers. My budget is SGD $100. Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

one year ago but still relevant.

On a side note, I think the closest Chinese shoes to SL series is the Dynafish Xiaonian, slightly over 100.

sph777

I think it's based on mile system. 1 mile and 1.5 miles

https://www.topendsports.com/testing/tests/2-4-km-run.htm

based on the cooper 1.5mile test
Reading wiki, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Individual_physical_proficiency_test

When National Service was first introduced in Singapore in 1967, the physical fitness test included a 4.8 km (3.0 mi) run to be completed within 30 minutes, and the completion of a 9.6 km (6.0 mi) run within 70 minutes while wearing the skeletal battle order (a type of load-bearing equipment). In 1979, this test was replaced by the IPPT, which consisted of five stations: push-up, sit-up, chin-up, half-knee bend and a 2.4 km (1.5 mi) run. The half-knee bend component was removed in 1981.

wah when first intro, so shiong

huattoeat

Recently bought the xtep 2000km 5.0, $73 after shipping from taobao.
PXL-20260129-111103025-MP.jpg

So far did some runs, fit is good, some slight bounce in the ride maybe cos its new, feels like a nice all around daily trainer to abuse in.

kaisin82

Reading wiki, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Individual_physical_proficiency_test

When National Service was first introduced in Singapore in 1967, the physical fitness test included a 4.8 km (3.0 mi) run to be completed within 30 minutes, and the completion of a 9.6 km (6.0 mi) run within 70 minutes while wearing the skeletal battle order (a type of load-bearing equipment). In 1979, this test was replaced by the IPPT, which consisted of five stations: push-up, sit-up, chin-up, half-knee bend and a 2.4 km (1.5 mi) run. The half-knee bend component was removed in 1981.

wah when first intro, so shiong
Those uncle that you see at the park, Mai siao siao, last time standards quite high

rECKleSSfElla

Hui's review for the Xtep 2000km 5.0 and Pro. His biggest critique for the Pro is the lack of energy return. Think i will give this a pass.

Sidenote, seen some price drop for Lining Feidian 6E and Redhare 9U on TB and PDD. Will hoot Redhare 9U if it drops to sub 500rmb.

xllms

Hui's review for the Xtep 2000km 5.0 and Pro. His biggest critique for the Pro is the lack of energy return. Think i will give this a pass.

Sidenote, seen some price drop for Lining Feidian 6E and Redhare 9U on TB and PDD. Will hoot Redhare 9U if it drops too sub 500rmb.

赤兔9U sounds like a good shoe for cruising pace long runs based on review from jogoncrago.

Kuudere

Finals
1 Aravinth, Adarsh NATIONAL UNI 15:49.55 2 9
2 Lim, Chun Khai Jon NATIONAL UNI 15:55.10 2 7
3 Chia Zong Xun, Darrell SINGAPORE UN 16:18.32 2 6
4 Chai, Wen Bin SINGAPORE IN 16:22.11 2 5
5 Khoo, Emerson NANYANG POLYTECHNIC 16:24.09 2 4
6 Heng, Richard NATIONAL UNI 16:27.87 1 3
7 Mooiz, Najib SINGAPORE UN 16:39.84 1 2
8 Liau, Dominic SINGAPORE PO 16:53.07 1 1
9 Kang, Meng Heng INSTITUTE OF 16:59.41 1
10 Lin, Jing Chao NANYANG TECH 17:02.54 1
11 Lee, Laurent NGEE ANN POL 17:27.06 1
12 Saviour, Dominic TEMASEK POLYTECHNIC 17:35.29 1
13 Cheok, Samuel NANYANG TECH 17:36.77 1
14 Chua Jia Sheng, Kayson INSTITUTE OF 17:48.70 1
15 Arote, Arush SINGAPORE PO 17:56.11 1
16 Sng, David NANYANG TECH 18:02.32 2
17 Ho, Sheng Hui SINGAPORE UN 18:04.68 2
18 Abdul Rashid, Ar Rizqi TEMASEK POLYTECHNIC 18:07.84 2
19 Chua Wen Bin, Kenny SINGAPORE IN 18:18.62 2
20 Koh, Kevan SINGAPORE IN 18:24.11 1
21 Pan, Eliot SINGAPORE MA 18:24.62 1
22 Ang, Roysen NGEE ANN POL 18:37.20 2
23 Ahmed, Nawaz SINGAPORE IN 18:49.19 1
24 Tan, Weekeat REPUBLIC POL 18:57.85 2
25 Tan, Justin SINGAPORE MA 19:00.15 2
26 Koh, Javier NGEE ANN POL 19:14.62 2
27 Leong, Justin NANYANG POLYTECHNIC 19:37.24 1
28 Cheah Zhen Yuan, Bernard SINGAPORE IN 20:03.61 1
29 Tan, Jaylen REPUBLIC POL 20:17.14 1
30 Mohammad, Fuzail INSTITUTE OF 21:55.22 2
31 Senthilkumar, Hariharan SINGAPORE MA 22:09.94 1
-- Low, Jervin TEMASEK POLYTECHNIC DNF 1
-- Lai, Caden SINGAPORE PO DNF 2
Richard Heng isn't a fast twitch guy, but it's impressive how he managed to get 4th best marathon time and later go on to represent SEA games for marathon.

Most folks in Sg don't specialise in marathon and run as much mileage as him.

IVP Track & Field Championships 2026 - Men 10000 Meter Run​

Institute-Varsity-Polytechnic (IVP) Games Track & Field Championships 2026

Ah yeah, Jon Lim is back in action. He is 1 min off his PB for the 10k and about 30s off for the 5k.

rECKleSSfElla

赤兔9U sounds like a good shoe for cruising pace long runs based on review from jogoncrago.
Think the biggest worry is how durable the layer of wrap is and whether damage or pichak means whole shoe GG. Current price of around 600-630rmb still kinda steep so wait and see for a couple more months.

sales69

Sidenote, seen some price drop for Lining Feidian 6E and Redhare 9U on TB and PDD. Will hoot Redhare 9U if it drops to sub 500rmb.

PDD gave me a buy 399rmb free GST promo. Want to hoot the Redhare but scared buy fake. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.