jogging and motivation thread

dev_stg_prd

Tell a story, see if such situation motivates anyone.

Just now met and tried to trail 高手.

Keppel and then WCH. The solo ang moh on TT bike overtook me @ Keppel, i was doing like 35-36 already (though of coz not sure how much of that is accurate coz of the bridge above me but still got a bit of signal here and there). reckon he doing 40-42. I was still very very fresh (I mean my place just @ Cantonment lol)...though not warmed up and i did not eat any breakfast but drank 250ml of 9.8g/100ml kang shi bo beverage...... i went out with my Sunshine bun + 2 kit kats and 1 bot of Kang Shi Bo 500ml honey green tea 7.4g/100ml in my jersey.

So.....why not, race mode on. Kept distance and ok to follow, upslope WCH and i insufficient power liao, small gap opened. Paced myself to do the whole thing as a single 7.x minutes TT, ie flats would be 40kmh and of coz the up and downslopes would be slower/faster by a bit. VO2max RPE and possible all out effort for short stints. Pseudo TT position, expansion gaps of coz both hands i would grip on, for safety, before changing back.

Could not catch. Just continued pulling away. :frown:

By the end of WCH downslope, i think he like easy like 5 lampposts away, quite far.

When reached the first (green) lights after the downslope, he was still pulling away........basket. Aborted it when i hit the clementi road flyover upslope and i took my rest at West Coast Link bus stop near West Coast Park Mcdonalds. Had to rest, i nearly ready to vomit earlier, but of coz nothing much to vomit.

Came back WCH, another hard effort but not as hard (approx 36-38 avg flats, downslope at Keppel 55kmh rolling back to Keppel sustain above 40 from the momentum). After that a bit of zone 2/recovery around Sentosa and MBS area as per usual.....now back home i can really feel the fatigue must really recover hooted the creatine, whey, carbs....so i dont think earlier the first round i had anything more to give.

Must train more. :frown: I know i will get there eventually, just not sure how long only.
I can't see what is 3x and 4x. Only understand pace

dev_stg_prd

Asics Superblast 3 review embargo lifted. Krap ton of reviews online in the past 24hrs.
R8C6XRR.jpeg

Release on March 1st rrp USD$210.
Morr ex thqn ADP3 ?

WussRedXLi

I can't see what is 3x and 4x. Only understand pace

You mean the 7.x minutes TT....oh sorry heh......i think cyclists would know.
It's basically a ~ 5km distance for the whole West Coast Highway, esp if you measure starting from chevron at Vivo to the chevron ending at Pasir Panjang (and similar for the other direction. So i usually PB @ 7 min 10 seconds to 30 sec range. It's a fixed distance so you can time it and gauge your performance over time, only variable is if it is windy or not which does significantly affects timings esp during this time of the year or during the SW monsoon windy days, so keep that in mind.

It is still rather safe if kept to super off peak hours like weekends before 7am esp if on Sunday....and if you keep your eyes open and double check before doing any moves. Without going into boring details, I used to think it is unsafe, but apparently it is even safer than normal main roads.

Quite happening there, on some occasions (not very common of coz), the fixies plying there early morning would race/pace with you one. heh....... Happened with me twice. I think is their young chaps' testosterone lah.
I wont buang one coz i also bring with me my driving exp, but i just scared they inexperienced and then buang, then TP case i need to provide statement liao.

Mystyque

Tell a story, see if such situation motivates anyone.

Just now met and tried to trail 高手.

Keppel and then WCH. The solo ang moh on TT bike overtook me @ Keppel, i was doing like 35-36 already (though of coz not sure how much of that is accurate coz of the bridge above me but still got a bit of signal here and there). reckon he doing 40-42. I was still very very fresh (I mean my place just @ Cantonment lol)...though not warmed up and i did not eat any breakfast but drank 250ml of 9.8g/100ml kang shi bo beverage...... i went out with my Sunshine bun + 2 kit kats and 1 bot of Kang Shi Bo 500ml honey green tea 7.4g/100ml in my jersey.

So.....why not, race mode on. Kept distance and ok to follow, upslope WCH and i insufficient power liao, small gap opened. Paced myself to do the whole thing as a single 7.x minutes TT, ie flats would be 40kmh and of coz the up and downslopes would be slower/faster by a bit. VO2max RPE and possible all out effort for short stints. Pseudo TT position, expansion gaps of coz both hands i would grip on, for safety, before changing back.

Could not catch. Just continued pulling away. :frown:

By the end of WCH downslope, i think he like easy like 5 lampposts away, quite far.

When reached the first (green) lights after the downslope, he was still pulling away........basket. Aborted it when i hit the clementi road flyover upslope and i took my rest at West Coast Link bus stop near West Coast Park Mcdonalds. Had to rest, i nearly ready to vomit earlier, but of coz nothing much to vomit.

Came back WCH, another hard effort but not as hard (approx 36-38 avg flats, downslope at Keppel 55kmh rolling back to Keppel sustain above 40 from the momentum). After that a bit of zone 2/recovery around Sentosa and MBS area as per usual.....now back home i can really feel the fatigue must really recover hooted the creatine, whey, carbs....so i dont think earlier the first round i had anything more to give.

Must train more. :frown: I know i will get there eventually, just not sure how long only.

I feel very de-motivated after reading you can chase cyclist on foot while I can’t even hit 10km/h :(

Kuudere

BTW do let us know if you feel in any way that this addition has helped you, in the next 1-2 months shd be feelable/visible.
It feels very manageable, I didn't get any significant muscle soreness the next day. Though if I were to stretch my hips, I can feel the ache. When I run, don't feel anything off as compared to when I did continuous box jumps up the stadium with no rest (100+).

The jump height is 45cm measured.
Watched......pecah hamstrings sia, as usual.

Running no need to say if really gunning for your peak performance and speed, significantly and critically needed for distances like 3k 5k shorter distances vs FM. (dont say sprinting 400m and below, we all nowhere near sprinters)
But even for cycling, it is literally important to prevent imbalances which would lead to injury ultimately in the long run (hip/knee discomfort) since it is super quad dominant followed by glute max dominant.
I just use mini bands to strength train anyway, shd be sufficient since i noticed hypertrophy there as well.

Oh yeah, btw, i used to have this niggle a couple of times in 2022 and 2023, the area above the hamstrings but below the glute max..... now no more already. Always the LHS, but not the RHS. Dont know simi biomechanical imbalance or just plain weak there. That was before i started to do minibands.
Sprinters engage their upper legs more so hamstring/quads are more vulnerable to high-intensity muscle strain. Whereas for distance runners, more on lower legs from high volume, repetitive stress.

so at most 1.5month per pair ? so maybe 10 pairs a year?
2k per year expense if just got 10 pairs?

I think for the 160km guy, maybe 14-15 pairs? If assuming, he uses a mixture of racing + easy run + interval shoes and willing to spend without control. Which can amount to 2.5 - 3.5k if including expensive carbon plate shoes.

But few pointers to note:

1. Most runners there are sponsored, so shoes are free.
2. Runners might not consistently run at that high volume throughout the year, might deload during non-competitive season.
3. Marathoners spent the most to go overseas races, since sg only has SCMS marathon. Only way to get more experience is to go overseas to race more.

Henry He and Melvin Wong 100-110km/week pretty much shows the maximum limit you can run if you have family commitments.
this guy's weekly mileage does not exceed 90km and has inherited genes to his advantage
Sam’s grandfather, Trevor Wright, set the world record for the fastest marathon debut in 1971 with a 2:13:27, won silver at the 1971 European Marathon Championships and earned podium finishes at the 1978 New York City Marathon and 1981 London Marathon.
Sam’s grandmother, Rosemary Wright (née Stirling), held the Scottish 800m record of 2:00.15 for 30 years (1972 to 2002). She won gold at the 1970 Commonwealth Games and was an 800m Olympic finalist at the Munich 1972 Games, where her 2:00.15 performance also stood as a U.K. record until 1979.
Their daughter, Jessica Ruthe (Sam’s mother), competed at four World Cross-Country Championships and claimed five New Zealand national titles across distances ranging from 1,500m to the marathon.
Sam’s father, Ben Ruthe, is also a two-time New Zealand national champion, winning the 1,500m in 2002 and the 5,000m in 2006.

https://runningmagazine.ca/the-scen...d-record-holder-has-ridiculous-running-genes/
He will be running a race with cole hocker today, when we wake up. Will see how well he performs.

basic___

It feels very manageable, I didn't get any significant muscle soreness the next day. Though if I were to stretch my hips, I can feel the ache. When I run, don't feel anything off as compared to when I did continuous box jumps up the stadium with no rest (100+).

Sprinters engage their upper legs more so hamstring/quads are more vulnerable to high-intensity muscle strain. Whereas for distance runners, more on lower legs from high volume, repetitive stress.

I think for the 160km guy, maybe 14-15 pairs? If assuming, he uses a mixture of racing + easy run + interval shoes and willing to spend without control. Which can amount to 2.5 - 3.5k if including expensive carbon plate shoes.

2. Runners might not consistently run at that high volume throughout the year, might deload during non-competitive season.
3. Marathoners spent the most to go overseas races, since sg only has SCMS marathon. Only way to get more experience is to go overseas to race more.

Henry He and Melvin Wong 100-110km/week pretty much shows the maximum limit you can run if you have family commitments.

He will be running a race with cole hocker today, when we wake up. Will see how well he performs.
For average singaporeans with committments and want a social life, I think around 60-80km mileage is quite good enough to get you a decent timing with high placings in most races if you are training properly.

WussRedXLi

Looks like the 2 times per week/muscle grp that i more or less settle on via my "feel" and degree of progression might have some degree of truth after all. But really must go all out for the last set to maximise, else good luck on the lagi slow progress.

WussRedXLi

I feel very de-motivated after reading you can chase cyclist on foot while I can’t even hit 10km/h :(

How to chase cyclist riding at over 40kmh when running? And somemore how to run on West Coast Highway. I was on a bike la.......

WCH viaduct is also famous for going all out, coz basically it is just nice for VO2max effort and little cars during early mornings. Yes there are trucks, but coz of very very light traffic early weekend mornings, they no issue going on second lane. Weekdays need to be a bit earlier tho, before 6.30am when parents send kids to sch and also lorries ferrying workers.

LCK might be a tad too long for amateurs, cant hold. WCH is 5km and LCK is 8km.

Bay East Garden is 1.5km, good for intervals. Also similar in length at 2km is that ECP service road beside Carpark F3 all the way to Tanah Merah flyover end. Both nice and straight and safe enough.

WussRedXLi

USA record liao.

Great....40cm is actually the height of our usual chairs as well. So srsly can do "wherever you want to".

I think after a few more times and conditioned liao, you would not even feel anything in your hips. For maintenance after a month or two, if there is improvement, see if it can be maintained with even 2 sets of 20, even more time efficient this way, but remember, the quality/speed/explosiveness must be there.
From a few weeks ago, i also started explosive training for my concentric motion in strength training, seems to have benefits in that action alone. It's also how some workouts in calisthenics are done, got benefits. Eccentric you can control and slow.
That is why i dont even warm up for the plyo, also coz im mixing it up with my band strength work.

WussRedXLi

this morning Marina Bay so many people and everyone overtook me 😂
temp-e6d966e4-34f0-41bb-9614-10df0f926172-coros.png

Today a lot of pple there, i think is weekend before CNY. I went for 3 MBS loops and called it quits before going to usual Maxwell cyclist haunt to makan (Amoy no open on sunday one).....heng is recovery session so slow slow relac pace.

You try first day of CNY, might even see 财神爷 there. Then people on hellobikes / runners all scramble to take pic with him.

WussRedXLi

^^^^^^^^^
Some people just give up on these races.

Actually tbh, i am not sure if i am 怪胎。 :unsure:

I dont have Strava, i dont have Zwift, i dont have Facebook, i dont have instagram...Twitch etc.
Heck i dont even have Garmin be it watch or bike computer, or a power meter for my bike (srsly i think it is a form of distraction while on the road if overly focused, however small that may be, developing a feel may be more beneficial)

Only thing i do is HWZ and Youtube watcher.

Mystyque

How to chase cyclist riding at over 40kmh when running? And somemore how to run on West Coast Highway. I was on a bike la.......

WCH viaduct is also famous for going all out, coz basically it is just nice for VO2max effort and little cars during early mornings. Yes there are trucks, but coz of very very light traffic early weekend mornings, they no issue going on second lane. Weekdays need to be a bit earlier tho, before 6.30am when parents send kids to sch and also lorries ferrying workers.

LCK might be a tad too long for amateurs, cant hold. WCH is 5km and LCK is 8km.

Bay East Garden is 1.5km, good for intervals. Also similar in length at 2km is that ECP service road beside Carpark F3 all the way to Tanah Merah flyover end. Both nice and straight and safe enough.

isn’t this the jogging motivation thread? huai chiu come and demotivate joggers to switch to cycling? :crazy:

Sadisticnoob

^^^^^^^^^
Some people just give up on these races.

Actually tbh, i am not sure if i am 怪胎。 :unsure:

I dont have Strava, i dont have Zwift, i dont have Facebook, i dont have instagram...Twitch etc.
Heck i dont even have Garmin be it watch or bike computer, or a power meter for my bike (srsly i think it is a form of distraction while on the road if overly focused, however small that may be, developing a feel may be more beneficial)

Only thing i do is HWZ and Youtube watcher.
if you dont have bike com how you know you do 55kph

xllms

Today a lot of pple there, i think is weekend before CNY. I went for 3 MBS loops and called it quits before going to usual Maxwell cyclist haunt to makan (Amoy no open on sunday one).....heng is recovery session so slow slow relac pace.

You try first day of CNY, might even see 财神爷 there. Then people on hellobikes / runners all scramble to take pic with him.
thank you for the heads-up. i intend to run on 1st day CNY. Should have bought an Ang Gong Gong red running top just for this. 🤣

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.