jogging and motivation thread

rECKleSSfElla

Li Ning Redhare 9U dropped below 500rmb after coupon but only for size 42 and lime green colorway. All in checkout price around SGD$105
Add: This is on Taobao
KzVVa2I.jpeg

Superblast 2 @ ~$180 and Novablast 5 @ ~$105 on PDD.

Tudo88

Curious , how did you all manage and juggle running 4-5 days a week , with work (9 to 6pm office job ) and family commitment .
I think I can only allocate 5 days after retiring lol
That depends on how much you like running.

With a 9-6pm office job, you can always wake up at 4-5 am to do your runs if you do not want to run after work.

Ender

I have a bent mid-upper back due to aging, cant help it. Can only minimize any hinging of the disc. Agree. But i guess the key is still trying to get to that really strengthened state without pecah in the first place, so really gotta be consistently and very slowly progressive overload with utmost patience, zero ego involved. Talking about years here, and no off season one hor. (read what happened to my overhead press 2-3 posts above).

Off season is not no training. It off from cumulative fatigue training in periodized training block which is aimed to break plateau for coming races. Off season is back to train, rest and recover like most YouTube like emphasizes on the full recovery before training.

Tudo88

6 days a week. Like working. If you feel guilty you miss one day of work, same with running. One day don't run is like I owe myself, need to pay back.
Anyway, I just check my Strava. 100km/week is like 8 hours/week haha.

If one is committed to running, you won’t have much of a social life because you will need time for recovery and strength training also.

WussRedXLi

Off season is not no training. It off from cumulative fatigue training in periodized training block which is aimed to break plateau for coming races. Off season is back to train, rest and recover like most YouTube like emphasizes on the full recovery before training.

I know i does not really mean zero training of any sorts. But to be honest, there are some athletes whose off season is literally zero training or even zero training for the Xmas/New Year season, i am sure you heard of them.

For me it wasn't zero training at all then, but the cut in frequency/volume was very significant. I was still exercising be it my strength or endurance sessions but it was more like very normal/usual recreational sessions which i'd try to just do minimal in both intensity or duration, which uiltimately I found not to work for me, as i'd just detrain quite fast. I noticed this for both strength training as well as endurance training portions.

Or put it this way In short, it seems that i can detrain quite fast, but in order to build it up with my way of training + schedules that i can handle , it takes rather slowly to build back up.

However, while longer off-seasons dont really work for me, deloading (be the every few weeks once or the months type) works ok, which involve higher frequency per year but shorter in duration......which is not that different from the tapering that we all know.

Like the tortoise and the hare story that one coach shared who said he found this to work better for older folks....... shucks i shd have save it in the favourites i couldnt find it after that but the video really clearly brings the message across. But the gist of it is that middle age folks = tortoise (build it up slow n steady) while younger pax = hare. The hare (younger pax) can cheong and relax and cheong and relax, and still get to a good level. Old folks better be the tortoise, more consistent efforts with no drama. Concept only, dont take it that the tortoise = die die continuously ON mode and not rest. 🤣

WussRedXLi

But of coz, im just sharing my experiences.
But that is also based on my age. Younger folks probably might be different and off seasons wont matter as they can build it back up fast.

Also, if off season(s) is necessary to maintain yours or any folks interest in the hobby due to mental burnout, then by all means.
For me, it's just that i dont really need it to maintain interest.

I remember Aaron also had an "off season" (not very long also, from Xmas period to the vid below was only Feb 1st), but within sessions he can build it back up, like what...3 sessions?

But this is with his age and genetics and what nots. I actually was worried coz he has a full ironman race in the middle of the year and actually wanted to comment in his videos then, but then i remembered, he is young.

I know for sure if i want to maintain my performance edge, i cannot do this......absolutely no way i can improve so fast safely (not that i have not tried before also).

Kuudere

Happy CNY guys. Long time never check in here haha.

I got this weird injury. When walking or bending my knees, there is a sharp pain at the lower calf I believe but once I start running, the pain will go off. Not sure is it a symptom of my previous injury.
I had knee pain when I bend my knees, couldn’t go away until I stopped running for almost 1 week, then the pain disappeared. Happened because I did intervals during the rain on wet surface.
Curious , how did you all manage and juggle running 4-5 days a week , with work (9 to 6pm office job ) and family commitment .
Run on weekends - that’s 2 days

The other 3 days just spread evenly throughout the weekdays.

If your partner also runs, then that’s a bonus. Otherwise, just have to find pockets of time to run.
Ya i am amaze how some of u can run so much in a week!

I can only do 2-3 runs max per week nia!
That’s enough actually, I coached a friend to run HM on 3 running days a week and also chasing performance. 😂
That depends on how much you like running.

With a 9-6pm office job, you can always wake up at 4-5 am to do your runs if you do not want to run after work.
I find morning runs to be the best suited for performance since races are usually in the morning but have to sleep early.

Evening runs less suited for performance but can afford to sleep later.

I found a balance where I run evening on weekdays and morning on weekends.
Anyway, I just check my Strava. 100km/week is like 8 hours/week haha.

If one is committed to running, you won’t have much of a social life because you will need time for recovery and strength training also.
100k/week, you definitely need a lot more strength training and recovery to manage, which is the irony of it. I have friends that run 100k/week and got injured because lack of recovery and strength training.

Either not enough sleep (<7hr) or strength training (0 gym) or both.

I found seasonal training to be the best for HM/M, especially with pfitz plans. I am doing the 18/55 plan now and there’s occasional deload weeks, it peaks out at 88km, but that is only for 1 week. The other weeks are shorter in volume. It’s possible to go for 18/70 plan, which peaks at 110km week. The average of the 18 weeks is slightly <100km (97k). Once the season ends, take a break and cross train.

WussRedXLi

What tthe sheet....... i anyhow ask also this answer came out. :oops: (disclaimer : 100% zhun or not, i make no claims, i share info nia)....it also mirrors what the YT videos that i have come across.
Question that I asked : "For older folks, is off season or being consistently over time better for performance"

Of coz, like i said, i am not fully 100% on this but generally 90% i feel is correct..... this is what i have come across from the various videos that coaches coaching middle aged folks be it running, cycling or triathlons have been recommending. My own personal experience too. You can deload, but not detrain down to any significance, else the climb back up to be race-ready again needs to be really optimized and smooth (which of coz rarely happens in reality)

And this statement, i can fully support this, from my personal experience :
While young athletes may need long periods of "detraining," older adults lose muscle mass (sarcopenia) and cardiovascular fitness much faster

AI Overview

For older adults, being consistent over time is far better for performance and long-term health than taking significant off-seasons. While young athletes may need long periods of "detraining," older adults lose muscle mass (sarcopenia) and cardiovascular fitness much faster, making consistent, year-round activity crucial for preserving functional capacity, strength, and mobility.
Women&#39;s Running Magazine +2
Here is a breakdown of why consistency triumphs over a traditional "off-season" for older individuals:

Why Consistency is Superior
  • Preventing Age-Related Decline: Muscles and bones start to lose mass in the mid-40s to 50s. Regular, uninterrupted activity is needed to combat this, rather than trying to rebuild lost muscle every season.
  • The "Five-Year" Rule: Research on master athletes shows that the most reliable predictor of high performance is the amount of training done consistently over the past five years.
  • Reduced Injury Risk: Taking a long break (a traditional off-season) often leads to rapid fitness loss. When returning, athletes tend to overload, which leads to injury. Consistent, year-round training—even at a lower, moderate intensity—prevents these spikes in training load.
  • Mental and Cognitive Health: Daily, consistent routines are associated with better cognitive performance and higher levels of happiness in older adults compared to irregular, intense, or interrupted routines.
    ScienceDaily +4

Tudo88

I had knee pain when I bend my knees, couldn’t go away until I stopped running for almost 1 week, then the pain disappeared. Happened because I did intervals during the rain on wet surface.

If your partner also runs, then that’s a bonus. Otherwise, just have to find pockets of time to run.

That’s enough actually, I coached a friend to run HM on 3 running days a week and also chasing performance. 😂

I find morning runs to be the best suited for performance since races are usually in the morning but have to sleep early.

100k/week, you definitely need a lot more strength training and recovery to manage, which is the irony of it. I have friends that run 100k/week and got injured because lack of recovery and strength training.

I found seasonal training to be the best for HM/M, especially with pfitz plans. I am doing the 18/55 plan now and there’s occasional deload weeks, it peaks out at 88km, but that is only for 1 week. The other weeks are shorter in volume. It’s possible to go for 18/70 plan, which peaks at 110km week. The average of the 18 weeks is slightly <100km (97k). Once the season ends, take a break and cross train.
Haha I am trying to think of the ideal mileage for my training block. Signed up for Hatyai 21. Will begin my training block on 1st March so that’s around 10 weeks of training.

sph777

Will u be doing 15km or half at NTUC? haha. How's the training for your marathon in goldcoast? Hope your pfitz plan is going well!

Ender

What tthe sheet....... i anyhow ask also this answer came out. :oops: (disclaimer : 100% zhun or not, i make no claims, i share info nia)....it also mirrors what the YT videos that i have come across.
Question that I asked : "For older folks, is off season or being consistently over time better for performance"

Of coz, like i said, i am not fully 100% on this but generally 90% i feel is correct..... this is what i have come across from the various videos that coaches coaching middle aged folks be it running, cycling or triathlons have been recommending. My own personal experience too. You can deload, but not detrain down to any significance, else the climb back up to be race-ready again needs to be really optimized and smooth (which of coz rarely happens in reality)

And this statement, i can fully support this, from my personal experience :
While young athletes may need long periods of "detraining," older adults lose muscle mass (sarcopenia) and cardiovascular fitness much faster

AI Overview

For older adults, being consistent over time is far better for performance and long-term health than taking significant off-seasons. While young athletes may need long periods of "detraining," older adults lose muscle mass (sarcopenia) and cardiovascular fitness much faster, making consistent, year-round activity crucial for preserving functional capacity, strength, and mobility.
Women&#39;s Running Magazine +2
Here is a breakdown of why consistency triumphs over a traditional "off-season" for older individuals:

Why Consistency is Superior
  • Preventing Age-Related Decline: Muscles and bones start to lose mass in the mid-40s to 50s. Regular, uninterrupted activity is needed to combat this, rather than trying to rebuild lost muscle every season.
  • The "Five-Year" Rule: Research on master athletes shows that the most reliable predictor of high performance is the amount of training done consistently over the past five years.
  • Reduced Injury Risk: Taking a long break (a traditional off-season) often leads to rapid fitness loss. When returning, athletes tend to overload, which leads to injury. Consistent, year-round training—even at a lower, moderate intensity—prevents these spikes in training load.
  • Mental and Cognitive Health: Daily, consistent routines are associated with better cognitive performance and higher levels of happiness in older adults compared to irregular, intense, or interrupted routines.
    ScienceDaily +4
But there's no lack of consistency with periodize training block. Off season is when we do stuff like you guys do for consistency. We keep our mileage high, progressive overloading is still presence. It is exactly what you guys preach for adequate recovery before the next training. The missing element is cumulative fatigue. So there no comparison between consistency and periodize training that comes with peak and off season. Consistency is always there even in the so call off season.

WussRedXLi

Ya i am amaze how some of u can run so much in a week!

I can only do 2-3 runs max per week nia!

As with any sports pursuits, is generally the interest and making it as a hobby lah. So it becomes a lifestyle.

For some it might just be a hobby based pursuit, while for some, they find it interesting to chase performance goals/figures.

If for health gains, i know it is difficult to prioritise exercising sessions over other recreational interests in life or family commitments. But if family is able to do it together with you, it is easier.

Of coz, if the day job is demanding and/or commuting is jialat, then most bets are off. By the time if reach home is 8+ to 9+pm period already, no way. The next priority then is sleep. I feel the best is if can reach home by 7pm, so that quick shower and makan is 8pm you'd have free time already. So 8.30 earliest can go out. Either that or sleep early but wake up early the next morning.

sales69

Li Ning Redhare 9U dropped below 500rmb after coupon but only for size 42 and lime green colorway. All in checkout price around SGD$105
Add: This is on Taobao
KzVVa2I.jpeg

Superblast 2 @ ~$180 and Novablast 5 @ ~$105 on PDD.
Freak I bought mine before CNY for 900 inclusive shipping and GST. :(

But can rebate 20 RMB from seller.

WussRedXLi

But there's no lack of consistency with periodize training block. Off season is when we do stuff like you guys do for consistency. We keep our mileage high, progressive overloading is still presence.

It is exactly what you guys preach for adequate recovery before the next training. The missing element is cumulative fatigue. So there no comparison between consistency and periodize training that comes with peak and off season. Consistency is always there even in the so call off season.

If you are basing it that way, then your ON season is more about specificity to the race/distance that you are training for, ie marathon specific training......or put it this way you are training to peak at the correct time. And you can still maintain mileage to be fairly high during OFF season (eg your 6 months FM training block is aim to peak at 100km/wk, while your off season is no less than 50km/wk i feel that say ~ 50% is the bare bare minimum actually for seniors.....preferably no less than 70km/wk if wanna regress vol during "OFF" season........
Then seriously it is just a "phrasing" thingy and we are more or less on the same page...as far as optimizing it for middle aged folks go. 🤣

However, if the type of periodization (and also my understanding) that we are talking about is more towards the traditional large variations in volume in a year's training cycle, then....... i really dont know. Personally from what i read and personal experience, i feel it it might not work that well for middle aged...in which they might respond better to a more minimum variation training method.

For the term cumulative fatigue - i dont know leh.....so far i feel that deload week every now and then (i dont even follow a very specfic schedule, like 3 ON and 1 deload) really takes care of things. For me i base off feel, as i do not follow any training plans . However i do follow what i term as a semi structured one, as in i know i am following a structure more or less but it is based a lot on feel, i like this method coz long story cut short, my preference is this rather than a specifically set pace or a set number of sets. But dont get me wrong, it is not going to be radically different anyhow hantum one.
This is also my preference based on my strength/calisthenics routine - i feel based on feel and just semi-structuring it to be not totally rigid just works better for me.

Also concerning (cumulative) fatigue i feel is based a lot on recovery rate - ie all of us are different. Pls dont over read it and i dont mean anything in particular, but i believe your sleep hours per week is less than mine so that might be one significant factor. Nutrition aspect also. These are the big 2......there are of coz others.

WussRedXLi

If you are basing it that way, then your ON season is more about specificity to the race/distance that you are training for, ie marathon specific training......or put it this way you are training to peak at the correct time. And you can still maintain mileage to be fairly high during OFF season (eg your 6 months FM training block is aim to peak at 100km/wk, while your off season is no less than 50km/wk i feel that say ~ 50% is the bare bare minimum actually for seniors.....preferably no less than 70km/wk if wanna regress vol during "OFF" season........
Then seriously it is just a "phrasing" thingy and we are more or less on the same page. 🤣

But then this is the thing also....... maybe bro Ender can do it, eg OFF season cut to say no less than 70% vol, actually, any of the senior folks here can do that in real life?
I dont know, maybe my tots and impressions are wrong, maybe quite a number of you are doing that or can do that in reality.

Then we are really on the same page generally. 🤣

I havent really tried periodization with macro and meso/micro cycles and whatnots......I must say the concept of peaking for the race is really good, but i also know based on interest alone I probably cannot follow such structure personally. Also why i prefer to "DIY" and find things out myself as with what can work for me based on interest, rather than hiring a coach or buying a training plan and trying to follow and trying to hit a specific timing goal. Try to get well with the basics, know what your body is capable of and can adapt to. Then do, rinse, repeat...... This is a kind of simpler thing i can base it into a routine and hence follow much better and the consistency automatically comes.

Actually to be honest, i dont even have specific timing goals - say 5k i reached 19.5 liao then next step i try to reach 19.0, 18.5, 18.0. And so if i cannot hit that then no issue life goes on, but then maybe 1 year later i might even skip 18.0 and get down to 17.5........and it has happened before. No pressure.
And if 5k too mundane and repetitive, switch it over to 3k. trying with some longer distances sprinkled in along the way to try try.
Or even better, if X sport becomes too mundane, then switch to Y and Z sports.

Ender

I used the Pfitzinger entry plan in the first SCSM after covid (2023?), think it's the 18/55. It was really hard for slow runners like me. Trimp score was too much for me. I made it thru though, with thoughts of giving up and need for massage and foam rolling. I think this plan is suitable for those already in the sub 3:45 full marathon aiming for sub 3:30. I was a 4:30 then aiming for sub 4, but it got me to 4:18 then. Still I find it was too hard for my level. TAO has lesser TRIMP score for me, plan was easier, and it brought me to 4:14 without the urge to look for massage or foam rolling.
I guess the Pfitzinger plan should suit you, being a faster and stronger run.

Ender

Then seriously it is just a "phrasing" thingy and we are more or less on the same page. 🤣

For the term cumulative fatigue - i dont know leh.....so far i feel that deload week every now and then (i dont even follow a very specfic schedule, like 3 ON and 1 deload) really takes care of things. For me i base off feel, as i do not follow any training plans . However i do follow what i term as a semi structured one, as in i know i am following a structure more or less but it is based a lot on feel, i like this method coz long story cut short, my preference is this rather than a specifically set pace or a set number of sets. But dont get me wrong, it is not going to be radically different anyhow hantum one.
This is also my preference based on my strength/calisthenics routine - i feel based on feel and just semi-structuring it to be not totally rigid just works better for me.

Also concerning (cumulative) fatigue i feel is based a lot on recovery rate - ie all of us are different. Pls dont over read it and i dont mean anything in particular, but i believe your sleep hours per week is less than mine so that might be one significant factor. Nutrition aspect also. These are the big 2......there are of coz others.
The thing is once I stopped chasing this SCSM sub 4 goal. It is also the time I will be doing the consistency thing. No more periodize blocks. Every time, I'll just stick to 65% easy, 10% High intensity and 15% threshold or grey zone. And easy will include running to other makan spots or visit another town.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.