jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Is it even possible with less than 20km a week....... (guess it is)
80% threshold/high intensity i think is VO2max, and 20% easy. Coz he could not tahan 80k/week with his weight.

20 x 400, in between can rest 3 mins if you want to reset.
20 x 200 VO2max and a bit of them are sprints. he does this on hills. 3 mins rest in in the middle
20s strides at the end of the session (wierd, usually is before)
The rest easy.

Strength + mobility work, 3 times a week.

Shd be good reference for those running 5k , parkruns or even 2.4 training. Think can get silver or gold even with 10k a week (cut the reps). 🤣

Kuudere

If you are interested, can even go search more on supersetting the squats (as runners/cyclists, pls really do the single leg variants) with drop jump or whatever plyo. Really also cuts down on the time needed.
There is also 1 phenomenon called post activation potentiation which enhances the plyometric exercise, since you are mainly going after quality/speed of the motion. Has been shown to improve exercise performance, but whether or not that further translates to running performance, not sure.

Just for info : of coz, these are just side tips and should never compromise your main training plans.

https://www.scienceforsport.com/post-activation-potentiation/

Post-Activation Potentiation (PAP) is a phenomenon where a muscle's force production is temporarily increased (potentiated) after high-intensity activation, such as heavy resistance training. This increased state of neuromuscular readiness, which lasts for several minutes, allows for higher power output and speed in subsequent explosive movements.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +4

Assuming time isn’t an obstacle, I will still cap plyometrics + strength training to 2h/week. I don’t see myself going more than that. Peak running season, just cut down or don’t do. Running mileage should always be prioritised unless you are sprinter.
Is it even possible....... (guess it is)
80% threshold/high intensity i think is VO2max, and 20% easy. Coz he could not tahan 80k/week with his weight.

20 x 400, in between can rest 3 mins if you want to reset.
20 x 200 VO2max. 3 mins rest in in the middle
The rest easy.

Shd be good reference for those running 5k , parkruns or even 2.4. Think can get silver or gold even with 10k a week. 🤣

Doable, I think shorter distances are a lot more lenient on bigger body frames. I know a number of folks with his build that do hyrox. 8km broken down into 8 splits of 1km.

If want to run longer distances, then leaner build helps to prevent injuries.

Also, with shorter mileages, it’s easier to go hard on vo2max workouts, since there’s more recovery period in between.

WussRedXLi

Assuming time isn’t an obstacle, I will still cap plyometrics + strength training to 2h/week. I don’t see myself going more than that. Peak running season, just cut down or don’t do. Running mileage should always be prioritised unless you are sprinter.

2h per week. :oops::oops:

Im currently at around 45-50 mins per week only. And that's with the deadlift and calisthenics also built in. 🤣 Then quite a number of them, like i said to bro Whisper, i do while watching youtube, so it isn't going to really impact anything. As supersetting most exercises really can save time. Oh another factor is 2 working sets i guess.

Only overhead press, dips, pullup, deadhangs and calf raises i do at the fitness corner, prior to the cardio sessions. Also with some degree of superset so in between no need to rest a full 3-4 mins, though i do rest like ~1 mins more to shake out the lactate.

Doable, I think shorter distances are a lot more lenient on bigger body frames. I know a number of folks with his build that do hyrox. 8km broken down into 8 splits of 1km.

If want to run longer distances, then leaner build helps to prevent injuries.

Also, with shorter mileages, it’s easier to go hard on vo2max workouts, since there’s more recovery period in between.

Well, that's impressive nevertheless. That's like a longer version of a 10 min 3k, which is in turn a longer version of a 8 min 2.4.

Heck, you run shortish distance from Promonitory to Art science museum or MB to art science museum at that 3:20 pace with good form (kinda forced to also at such speed) already got pian jiak pian jiak aura. 🤣
Around 1.3km

Next time if got more time/chance, might attempt it.

WussRedXLi

Came across this vid.

Vid stopped at slightly before PSA building, that is around 0.9km left to the chevron part. If we use 44kmh, that shd be ~ 1 min 15s left to the chevron. So low 6 mins to travel from chevron to chevron starting from Vivo.
Vo2max + anaerobic.

Shd be a pretty young fella, at most early 20s.
edit - shd be below 18

Really sucks to be old (me). :frown:

Kuudere

2h per week. :oops::oops:

Im currently at around 45-50 mins per week only. And that's with the deadlift and calisthenics also built in. 🤣 Then quite a number of them, like i said to bro Whisper, i do while watching youtube, so it isn't going to really impact anything. As supersetting most exercises really can save time. Oh another factor is 2 working sets i guess.

Only overhead press, dips, pullup, deadhangs and calf raises i do at the fitness corner, prior to the cardio sessions. Also with some degree of superset so in between no need to rest a full 3-4 mins, though i do rest like ~1 mins more to shake out the lactate.

Well, that's impressive nevertheless. That's like a longer version of a 10 min 3k, which is in turn a longer version of a 8 min 2.4.

Heck, you run shortish distance from Promonitory to Art science museum or MB to art science museum at that 3:20 pace with good form (kinda forced to also at such speed) already got pian jiak pian jiak aura. 🤣
Around 1.3km

Next time if got more time/chance, might attempt it.
2h is realistic. 1h for plyometrics, 1h for strengthening.

Mostly target legs/core, a bit of arms. That's it.

I think this video is more relevant lol, 20k/week doesn't always result in 16.46 5k if the runner isn't talented enough. I will agree that the workouts make it optimal to run fast without much training, but wouldn't market to the wider audience that you can easily run 16.46 with 20k/week. Doesn't work that way at all.
inspired by the new HM WR.. going to attempt a max effort HM at the tracks tomorrow morning.
weather forecast looks decent .. wish me luck :cool:
All the best! Prepare some gels and water on the side before your track HM attempt. I did mine on the track before, ran 53 laps. Thinking about it, track is a good way to run solo time trial, just more mind numbing.

WussRedXLi

PB in strict pull ups.

6 reps of hollow body with paused deadhang at bottom and pause at the top chin over bar, hollow body zero swing zero kip. Will check out hybrid type (arched at bottom hollow body pull ups) soon to see if there is an difference.

Hope to be able to do 12 eventually, shd be possible but it will take a while. Max i have seen around is 10 reps, for somewhat old uncle age grouper (he shd be in his 60s).

dev_stg_prd

pure white still better hor

649259346_27126147813654863_2351759226431535769_n.jpg

WussRedXLi

Pending confirmation by Guiness
These ang mohs who are really talented really always on another level. First HM already sub 1:20

WussRedXLi

but for guys.. my timing is still meh :ROFLMAO:

Can lah.......really cannot directly compare with young guns, those with the talent and training time of coz.
They have their own potential and we have our our own. Of coz, a 60/70' yr old's true potential ceiling is still going to be higher than an avg 30 yr old exerciser around the block/park.

dev_stg_prd

red looks dirt resistant..
my white one.. semi grey now with smudges of black and brown especially at the toe bumper area... quite unsightly :ROFLMAO:
the core black even better rite? I think the new colors are typical OEM colors.. the lazy way

GlassDoor

the core black even better rite? I think the new colors are typical OEM colors.. the lazy way
the black one.. upper is still predominantly white. the midsole is the star.. the upper and outsole both so-so only.
the lateral forefoot area on the outsole.. already botak (both left and right) at less than 350k. but the shoe dries really fast even when totally drenched

GlassDoor

Can lah.......really cannot directly compare with young guns, those with the talent and training time of coz.
They have their own potential and we have our our own. Of coz, a 60/70' yr old's true potential ceiling is still going to be higher than an avg 30 yr old exerciser around the block/park.
honestly.. i have not felt the age disadvantage yet. (fingers crossed)
Have been able to get faster and stronger in the last few years with the right training and stimulus. If I nick-pick, maybe recovery time now longer.. I read the cliff for man is 60.. donno how true/applicable

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.