jogging and motivation thread

Whispers

Hey, stop-starts-stop-starts really no issue.
When i started to exercise with racewalking after COVID C B period, also short distances and stopping to drink water etc, it was just 2-3k distance, sometimes double sessions in the day 2 x 2k. Just get into the habit......but of coz that time it was easier coz WFH and really nothing else better to do on weekends. 🤣
It usually takes some 3-4 months to really solidfy your efforts into a routine, so much so that then it becomes automatic and much less resistance to get out of the door.

But best is still if it becomes a hobby. Unfortunately for running for me, it cannot become a hobby that pulls you out of the door. But cycling can, so that's why i can spend 10 times 20 times more time out there.
But if you really enjoy the marathon distance and long runs eventually, it's 3/4 of the battle won.

Strength + plyometric training simultaneously also can watch youtube, i use mini bands and the longer 2.08m bands (get from taobao for the whole set ) and you can do your split squats and deadliffts while watching.
In fact for running only, you might not even need to do deadlifts, just concentrate on any type of single leg split squat.

Same goes for mini band isolation exercises on hamstrings, psoas, glute medius and adductors groin muscles (adductors i just use my hands to resist lol, it's not very impt anyway but i just do coz it just takes 30 seconds all these exercises can be done consecutively as superset wo rest so why not).
Single calf raises you can also do in the bedroom with both hands on the door handle to give 20-30kg resistance and watch your youtube.
Additional exerises can include plyometrics......actually 2 simple plyo exercises only, drop jumps (vertical) and some sort of bounding type for horizontal plyo. Im only doing vertical plyo though

So far so good no injuries/niggles.......but if you train up really slowly and really are consistent with your work outs, no reason to get injured. Do not ego.
The same goes for other things....... recently i ego try a bit with one arm deadhang and overpushed, gg......1 single instance only. Tendonitis, 2+ months out of action.

my stop and start is.....i train up for a hike or event...then stopped.....completely......until the next hike

yeah getting those resistance bands, yoga mats and such. improve flexibility also. hips and hamstrings damn tight.

WussRedXLi

my stop and start is.....i train up for a hike or event...then stopped.....completely......until the next hike

yeah getting those resistance bands, yoga mats and such. improve flexibility also. hips and hamstrings damn tight.

Oh...if that's the case, is coz it's too goal oriented. Some folks go for overseas marathon also, and after that = massive withdrawal. Unfortunately no real solution.

That's when the hobby aspect comes in esp if it's a true hobby. :grin: Lasts a good few years......no burnout effect.

WussRedXLi

Seriously, wtf are spectators allowed to interfere with the field.

He would have won!

Pro tour cycling also.....unfortunately impossible to enforce.

Over here also, Keppel Road, Robinson rd, GBTB/MBS/East Coast areas cant be totally enforced.

Kuudere

LOL. some repeat views for good LOL. Is this a case for Pylo?

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1485463429806637

His running form looks extremely off, probably cramped out during the end of the race and just hoping that he built up enough lead for the other runner not to pass him.
yes, sounds good. When tsb reached the race ready number, check the CTL, the key is to keep the CTL as high as possible. Coz CTL naturally drop with tapering. A shake out short run might increase the CTL with minimal effect on TSB,
I need a work from home job so I can recover better haha

Currently, 5 days work in office is no joke.
@Kuudere

39 min 10k runners as subjects, your level.

ps edit - actually nothing new with the various plyo and strength exercises.....is only how you integrate inyour your weekly routine without affecting your running. Just do something quad focussed but with also glute max decently involved, any variant of the split stance squat (ie single legged) be it an easy B stance all the way to bulgarian split squat would do. Need to do pretty heavy if you follow the science. But you young lah, with decent form it shd be fine and no safety issue, keyword is decent form (coz once pecah, considered sold and is usually irrecoverable to its usual state lol)
Somemore squats less risk for disc herniation than deadlifts, and if you are doing single leg variant there is even lower axial loading on your lumbar.

Heavy seated calf raises for soleus - no brainer, no need to flog the dead horse liao

2z38vk6.jpg

Bookmarked, will do this after marathon training block. Still got long way left to go though~
Lai liao. Video premiering now.

2:48 - 2:54 pace, HR 160s for a 28 yrs old fella, 12.8km total. heh.....
2.3mmol/L after 2 x 2 miles. That's LT1

He might be aiming for a 59 or at worst 60 as debut.
I mean, even Jakob Ingebrigtsen ran a 63 in his debut during his holiday trip and he never trained and he even walked + stopped halfway coz he ego kept up with the lead pack with Sawe in it no less and then exploded.

I am guessing he runs mid 60, probably sub-61 worst case scenario. Given that this is his first HM, and he started to push the last 2 miles set at 9.14 which cause his HR to shoot up to the mid 160s. If he runs sub-60, then that's really impressive for his debut HM.
Seriously, wtf are spectators allowed to interfere with the field.

He would have won!
The ironic thing is that the spectator is from his country and then made him lost the race. Can tell at the end he was very disappointed when he fell face down. Reminds me of the Japanese runner who got out-kicked at the Ekiden. He also fell down at the end and cry.

WussRedXLi

Bookmarked, will do this after marathon training block. Still got long way left to go though~

If you are interested, can even go search more on supersetting the squats (as runners/cyclists, pls really do the single leg variants) with drop jump or whatever plyo. Really also cuts down on the time needed.
There is also 1 phenomenon called post activation potentiation which enhances the plyometric exercise, since you are mainly going after quality/speed of the motion. Has been shown to improve exercise performance, but whether or not that further translates to running performance, not sure.

Just for info : of coz, these are just side tips and should never compromise your main training plans.

https://www.scienceforsport.com/post-activation-potentiation/

Post-Activation Potentiation (PAP) is a phenomenon where a muscle's force production is temporarily increased (potentiated) after high-intensity activation, such as heavy resistance training. This increased state of neuromuscular readiness, which lasts for several minutes, allows for higher power output and speed in subsequent explosive movements.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +4

WussRedXLi

Is it even possible with less than 20km a week....... (guess it is)
80% threshold/high intensity i think is VO2max, and 20% easy. Coz he could not tahan 80k/week with his weight.

20 x 400, in between can rest 3 mins if you want to reset.
20 x 200 VO2max and a bit of them are sprints. he does this on hills. 3 mins rest in in the middle
20s strides at the end of the session (wierd, usually is before)
The rest easy.

Strength + mobility work, 3 times a week.

Shd be good reference for those running 5k , parkruns or even 2.4 training. Think can get silver or gold even with 10k a week (cut the reps). 🤣

Kuudere

If you are interested, can even go search more on supersetting the squats (as runners/cyclists, pls really do the single leg variants) with drop jump or whatever plyo. Really also cuts down on the time needed.
There is also 1 phenomenon called post activation potentiation which enhances the plyometric exercise, since you are mainly going after quality/speed of the motion. Has been shown to improve exercise performance, but whether or not that further translates to running performance, not sure.

Just for info : of coz, these are just side tips and should never compromise your main training plans.

https://www.scienceforsport.com/post-activation-potentiation/

Post-Activation Potentiation (PAP) is a phenomenon where a muscle's force production is temporarily increased (potentiated) after high-intensity activation, such as heavy resistance training. This increased state of neuromuscular readiness, which lasts for several minutes, allows for higher power output and speed in subsequent explosive movements.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +4

Assuming time isn’t an obstacle, I will still cap plyometrics + strength training to 2h/week. I don’t see myself going more than that. Peak running season, just cut down or don’t do. Running mileage should always be prioritised unless you are sprinter.
Is it even possible....... (guess it is)
80% threshold/high intensity i think is VO2max, and 20% easy. Coz he could not tahan 80k/week with his weight.

20 x 400, in between can rest 3 mins if you want to reset.
20 x 200 VO2max. 3 mins rest in in the middle
The rest easy.

Shd be good reference for those running 5k , parkruns or even 2.4. Think can get silver or gold even with 10k a week. 🤣

Doable, I think shorter distances are a lot more lenient on bigger body frames. I know a number of folks with his build that do hyrox. 8km broken down into 8 splits of 1km.

If want to run longer distances, then leaner build helps to prevent injuries.

Also, with shorter mileages, it’s easier to go hard on vo2max workouts, since there’s more recovery period in between.

WussRedXLi

Assuming time isn’t an obstacle, I will still cap plyometrics + strength training to 2h/week. I don’t see myself going more than that. Peak running season, just cut down or don’t do. Running mileage should always be prioritised unless you are sprinter.

2h per week. :oops::oops:

Im currently at around 45-50 mins per week only. And that's with the deadlift and calisthenics also built in. 🤣 Then quite a number of them, like i said to bro Whisper, i do while watching youtube, so it isn't going to really impact anything. As supersetting most exercises really can save time. Oh another factor is 2 working sets i guess.

Only overhead press, dips, pullup, deadhangs and calf raises i do at the fitness corner, prior to the cardio sessions. Also with some degree of superset so in between no need to rest a full 3-4 mins, though i do rest like ~1 mins more to shake out the lactate.

Doable, I think shorter distances are a lot more lenient on bigger body frames. I know a number of folks with his build that do hyrox. 8km broken down into 8 splits of 1km.

If want to run longer distances, then leaner build helps to prevent injuries.

Also, with shorter mileages, it’s easier to go hard on vo2max workouts, since there’s more recovery period in between.

Well, that's impressive nevertheless. That's like a longer version of a 10 min 3k, which is in turn a longer version of a 8 min 2.4.

Heck, you run shortish distance from Promonitory to Art science museum or MB to art science museum at that 3:20 pace with good form (kinda forced to also at such speed) already got pian jiak pian jiak aura. 🤣
Around 1.3km

Next time if got more time/chance, might attempt it.

WussRedXLi

Came across this vid.

Vid stopped at slightly before PSA building, that is around 0.9km left to the chevron part. If we use 44kmh, that shd be ~ 1 min 15s left to the chevron. So low 6 mins to travel from chevron to chevron starting from Vivo.
Vo2max + anaerobic.

Shd be a pretty young fella, at most early 20s.
edit - shd be below 18

Really sucks to be old (me). :frown:

Kuudere

2h per week. :oops::oops:

Im currently at around 45-50 mins per week only. And that's with the deadlift and calisthenics also built in. 🤣 Then quite a number of them, like i said to bro Whisper, i do while watching youtube, so it isn't going to really impact anything. As supersetting most exercises really can save time. Oh another factor is 2 working sets i guess.

Only overhead press, dips, pullup, deadhangs and calf raises i do at the fitness corner, prior to the cardio sessions. Also with some degree of superset so in between no need to rest a full 3-4 mins, though i do rest like ~1 mins more to shake out the lactate.

Well, that's impressive nevertheless. That's like a longer version of a 10 min 3k, which is in turn a longer version of a 8 min 2.4.

Heck, you run shortish distance from Promonitory to Art science museum or MB to art science museum at that 3:20 pace with good form (kinda forced to also at such speed) already got pian jiak pian jiak aura. 🤣
Around 1.3km

Next time if got more time/chance, might attempt it.
2h is realistic. 1h for plyometrics, 1h for strengthening.

Mostly target legs/core, a bit of arms. That's it.

I think this video is more relevant lol, 20k/week doesn't always result in 16.46 5k if the runner isn't talented enough. I will agree that the workouts make it optimal to run fast without much training, but wouldn't market to the wider audience that you can easily run 16.46 with 20k/week. Doesn't work that way at all.
inspired by the new HM WR.. going to attempt a max effort HM at the tracks tomorrow morning.
weather forecast looks decent .. wish me luck :cool:
All the best! Prepare some gels and water on the side before your track HM attempt. I did mine on the track before, ran 53 laps. Thinking about it, track is a good way to run solo time trial, just more mind numbing.

WussRedXLi

PB in strict pull ups.

6 reps of hollow body with paused deadhang at bottom and pause at the top chin over bar, hollow body zero swing zero kip. Will check out hybrid type (arched at bottom hollow body pull ups) soon to see if there is an difference.

Hope to be able to do 12 eventually, shd be possible but it will take a while. Max i have seen around is 10 reps, for somewhat old uncle age grouper (he shd be in his 60s).

WussRedXLi

Pending confirmation by Guiness
These ang mohs who are really talented really always on another level. First HM already sub 1:20

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.