jogging and motivation thread

Ender

what is new to me is the above. I did not know the linkage to alzheimer's disease and the worrying trends! Very insightful.
I dive into his research in the past more from a fitness and endurance perspective. And it is amazing how his research has been seriously twisted by so many influencers for the sake of eyeballs!
Some studies even say most cancer are related to mitochondrial health. But I don't know how strong are those studies. Just watch a few youtube that mentioned these studies.

WussRedXLi

I think the key think is high volume in the zone. Zone 2 and 1 can give you that without overburning. But that is for people who are professional who can afford the time. one week 14- 20 hours?

For the rest of us, I think due to our shorter commitment time, some of our easy runs can be at zone3 to maximize our shorter duration. Also have to balance with real zone 2 for other runs so we do not burn out and kill our consistency.

Another reason I advocate for some zone 3 is from my own thought process. The true meaning of metabolic flexibility is our mitochondrial cells switch fuel very quickly and burn them very efficiently regardless it's carb, fat, or lactate. If we never give our body the chance to burn carb or produce lactate, our mitochondrial will never learn to be efficient burning those carb and lactate. Don't forget, in the aerobic system, which our mitochondrial is responsible for convert fuel to ATP, it uses CARB, Lactate and FATS. True metabolic flexibility is the mitochondrial cells burn them all when the intensity requires it. Those with poor metabolic health struggle to switch and feel fatigue even when fuel sources are abandon in their system

Yeah.....even if we take away the professional of free hours that he can train and recover, some pax also cannot tahan burnout, be it physical or mental.

Over 10 h/wk really need to be at the hobby level....then only can one love the process. The faffing around with the bike, even just general maintenance like washing bike every 200-300km (already pushing it) to charging of lights, BT speaker, washing of sports attire, gloves and helmet nearly daily , wiping/cleaning shoes, prep bottles can go crazy liao.
If working, even if job is low requirement role and can knock off on time and you live nearby, literally after work is go hoot after dinner liao.....and then watch some yotube surf some TB and sleep. Nothing else. lol

Anyway, seriously, a lot of road cyclists often in zone 3 one...very roughly based on their speed. So if you are wondering if got such pax, yeah. heh...... But fun lah.

GlassDoor

Some studies even say most cancer are related to mitochondrial health. But I don't know how strong are those studies. Just watch a few youtube that mentioned these studies.
ya.. the recent ones i browse through are related to chronic inflammation pointing to cancer...

rECKleSSfElla

Thanks I will look for the section. More colours always welcomed.

飞电6E also have new funky color. But unsure about it haha.
XNWeMGe.jpeg

Oh yar.....that one particular new Feidian 6E colorway is just way too fanciful and hipster for most folks to pull off. The 3 colors i highlighted are the ones i saw yet to be available on the Redhare 9U.

GlassDoor

just share another observation
i seldom feel hunger or the brain urging me to eat after doing easy pace runs even long easy efforts >90mins.
But any high intensity efforts, like intervals, threshold runs even hill repeats.. I will get really hungry after, sometime that hungry feeling last for quite a while.

Edit:
if you a sucker for timtam like me .. the white chocolate version is going for like half price as of two days ago at NTUC :ROFLMAO:

Kuudere

WussRedXLi

didn't have to pay since my friend had connections and was able to do it for free.

This is the cheapest option to test for body composition.

https://www.activesgcircle.gov.sg/activehealth/our-programmes

$7 only, can do for free if you claim the sg100 activesg credits last year. Quite worth it actually.

7 dolllars! Going nao!

wait let me google where the heck is my activesg credits, seems like in my lifesg app or something
Hmm can cycle to stadium area quite near. Tot only at Bishan only which is a bit far for day time cycling coz im "allergic" to the hot sunlight. lol

WussRedXLi

just share another observation
i seldom feel hunger or the brain urging me to eat after doing easy pace runs even long easy efforts >90mins.
But any high intensity efforts, like intervals, threshold runs even hill repeats.. I will get really hungry after, sometime that hungry feeling last for quite a while.

Edit:
if you a sucker for timtam like me .. the white chocolate version is going for like half price as of two days ago at NTUC :ROFLMAO:

Yes, same same here.

But then for me and my kid, the easy rides also got a limit, is generally after 2 hours or around 50km, need to pitstop and refuel. eg go LCK neo tiew, mandai loop.

rECKleSSfElla

7 dolllars! Going nao!

wait let me google where the heck is my activesg credits, seems like in my lifesg app or something
Hmm can cycle to stadium area quite near. Tot only at Bishan only which is a bit far for day time cycling coz im "allergic" to the hot sunlight. lol
ActiveSG is fully web based now. You gotta head to https://activesg.gov.sg/home and login using singpass to access your account and whatever amount of credits you have. Also can do all the bookings there once you logged in.

xllms

Finally received my Redhare 9U from PDD after around 20days. Supposed to be 涂码和取芯片 but all labels/tags came intact

Original box
ok70gLV.jpeg

Weight test. Bought a precision scale just for this.
Left 266g
v5invyA.jpeg

Right 268g. 2g more due to the tag
QatIFsq.jpeg

Impeccable QC by Li Ning to keep weight difference down to 1-2g. For reference, Hui's same size 45 weighs around 270g. Weight test can be a barometer to judge authenticity, so in this sense, i think my pair should be original.

Did a visual check for signs of use or damage and nothing of note other than what looks like glue residue on the exterior of the boom capsule layer(both sides have it).

As for fitting, i have slightly wide foot but no real issues with size 45. Length wise, around 1finger spacing at the heel while the toe box is very roomy. Only minor complaint is the mid foot area is very snug, probably narrower than other china shoes i own.

Overall as long not from official store, there is no way to 100% guarantee the authenticity but i am inclined to say the shoes should be authentic. Downside paid rmb580 tax included for it and the price has since dropped to sub 400rmb in just a matter of weeks.
congrats on your new shoe and good price.
you can try to authenticate your shoe using the following apps:
得物
识货
Screenshot-2026-03-14-11-24-19-02-b783bf344239542886fee7b48fa4b892.jpg

xllms

Can try for 3 months. See if got difference. But dont be mistaken, you still need to factor in some easy sessions also, really easy low zone 2 to get the volume up sufficiently, just no try not to get fatigued for your easy sessions coz you dont wanna compromise your workouts.
Something like 2 workouts of your choice, 2 x really easy,....short strides for all 4 sessions. 1 day strength/plyo/whatever accessory training you want. 2 days rest. That's a 7 day training week, if too cramped the cycle can be 8 or 9 days. If can handle, maybe add 1 more easy.

Actually tbh, no need to 3 months to see results, by the 1st month, if properly executed, you should more or less can see small signs of improvement liao.

I share with you calisthenics - It's something like pull up.......if anyhow execute, anybody in this thread i give them 4 months also nothing just stuck there be it 0 or just 1 or 2 half reps. Trust me, i had been through this stage initially.
If properly done, just 4 weeks already got signs of pretty noticeable improvements.

If not difference, then LL, try the other way, just slow the heck down and really racewalk/power walk for hours/wk liao.
I also started from racewalking before i ran.......it confirm works, the very first time i tried to run was 1.6k which is 2 laps at my bridge area, i did 6:20 mins (3:58 pace) as per stopwatch.....

Too bad you cannot cycle, you can get a ridiculously enormous amount of easy volume in aerobically and still enjoy it (even if it is not totally specific to running so the carryover efficiency is going to be quite bad). Also much more cooling as you are approaching summer in 2 months time, you can bring your fav snacks, drinks etc. Is just afraid that you cannot spare time from your work or family nia.
It should work........3 youtubers and 1 hyroxer tried it other than myself (else really no other way to explain, i only have 1 short workiout type run session and my zone 2 commute office runs are sort of garbage in the eyes of true runners, it's only really just that i bo bian coz office location is as such).

Sprints of any type - 10 reps seems to be is a wee bit too much if not advanced runner. If form breaks then it is time to cut, so i think the majority of us wont cut it past 6-8 reps. Also not meant to be pushed beyond 12 seconds. If you dont think it is enjoyable then better not force to do coz it carries a bit higher injury risk unless very well conditioned in strength/muscles. Benefits are there though for those time crunched and have extra benefits far beyond running......

But again, might not be quite compatible for the type of distances that you are after.....it needs ample recovery before trying again. But if you are willing to try the higher intensity block i mentioned earlier as something to experiment with, you can slot 1 in per week, but maybe cut the reps to 4-6 or something. It's like a surgical strike, dont do it like 10 12 reps intervals training coz it isnt intervals.
indeed, reps beyond 7th, legs were struggling to keep up the cadence. By the 5th rep, leg lifts and pushing off feel veey different. In fact, the 2nd rep, it was already a huge difference in how i feel in my strides.
you are correct, i should keep the reps to 6-8 depending on my conditions. And cut down the intensity to build it up gradually.

WussRedXLi

indeed, reps beyond 7th, legs were struggling to keep up the cadence. By the 5th rep, leg lifts and pushing off feel veey different. In fact, the 2nd rep, it was already a huge difference in how i feel in my strides.
you are correct, i should keep the reps to 6-8 depending on my conditions. And cut down the intensity to build it up gradually.

Yeah, i think just gotta try out various options. So can just try less reps, more quality. (y) In fact right now if you feel that you are still not there yet, try out 3 reps......max out 4. After a month or, then add 1 more rep....then another month another rep, till max of 6 or even till 8 if you enjoy it. Solid focus quality and progressive loading this way. Also, in between needs to be 3-4m recovery, so go play mobile TB app or something lol.
It's also something to be enjoyed, i am sure you like speed as well (who doesn't), so it's gotta be 100%, in minute doses so as to keep the speed maxxed out.

Really no harm to try and see what is best, you know your body best.

eg side story abt trying various options out :
For my pull ups, im also trying out more sets and less rest in between. Right now is 72h recovery between sets as usual (do till somewhat past failure, next 12-24hrs sure got a bit of DOMS). So after work and during lunch, i will just run and route a wee bit farther to my home's fitness corner and hoot out 1 set of approx 6, hollow body pull ups solid form but not to failure....then do some jumping reps.
Then the 72-96hrs workout i will hoot till failure or even past it (I like to do till "max", then shake it out 5-8 seconds, then hoot again, then shake, then hoot....usually 3 times shd do it, to flush the lactate out).

If that works out then i will also do for my dips.

Really, the only way to confirm all the various YT vids is to try out all the various patterns out yourself and then only will you know which works best.

Just came across this recent vid, so decide to change a bit and try out 🤣

xllms

Yeah, i think just gotta try out various options. So can just try less reps, more quality. (y) In fact right now if you feel that you are still not there yet, try out 3 reps......max out 4. After a month or, then add 1 more rep....then another month another rep, till max of 6 or even till 8 if you enjoy it. Solid focus quality and progressive loading this way. Also, in between needs to be 3-4m recovery, so go play mobile TB app or something lol.
It's also something to be enjoyed, i am sure you like speed as well (who doesn't), so it's gotta be 100%, in minute doses so as to keep the speed maxxed out.

Really no harm to try and see what is best, you know your body best.

eg side story abt trying various options out :
For my pull ups, im also trying out more sets and less rest in between. Right now is 72h recovery between sets as usual (do till somewhat past failure, next 12-24hrs sure got a bit of DOMS). So after work and during lunch, i will just run and route a wee bit farther to my home's fitness corner and hoot out 1 set of approx 6, hollow body pull ups solid form but not to failure....then do some jumping reps.
Then the 72-96hrs workout i will hoot till failure or even past it (I like to do till "max", then shake it out 5-8 seconds, then hoot again, then shake, then hoot....usually 3 times shd do it, to flush the lactate out).

If that works out then i will also do for my dips.

Really, the only way to confirm all the various YT vids is to try out all the various patterns out yourself and then only will you know which works best.

Just came across this recent vid, so decide to change a bit and try out 🤣

i had 5min break (walked down the slope, catch my breath) in btw each rep, but every new rep needed more effort til beyond 7th, slowed down drastically till behtahan...yah the logic was to push myself till near failure.

need to tweak slightly and go for less rep on slopes, mix with some strides intervals (200m) and 100m sprints (no slopes) just to regain my sprinting mechanics.

need to build up my strength and core muscles as well to "cycle" more effectively.

WussRedXLi

i had 5min break (walked down the slope, catch my breath) in btw each rep, but every new rep needed more effort til beyond 7th, slowed down drastically till behtahan...yah the logic was to push myself till near failure.

need to tweak slightly and go for less rep on slopes, mix with some strides intervals (200m) and 100m sprints (no slopes) just to regain my sprinting mechanics.

need to build up my strength and core muscles as well to "cycle" more effectively.

I see....

Anyway, AI Also recommends 4-6 reps

Yes, Sprint Interval Training (SIT) is fundamentally designed to be performed at maximal or near-maximal effort (90-100% capacity) rather than moderate-intensity reps. However, it is not typically run until "total muscle failure" (like lifting weights until you cannot move them). Instead, SIT focuses on performing a small number of "all-out" bursts (4-6 reps) with long, 4-minute recovery periods to maintain high intensity across all reps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.