Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

coedes

I read all posts, including yours, seriously.

My view is that this thread is for discussion of technical issues, not on govt policy.

Hence MDA's reply is on technical issues - I.e. To explain tt non cable subscribers need set top box n antenna, or inbuilt tuner n antenna. And to explain another technical issue of why non-subscribers cannot use starhub infra for DTV.

U can't just say don't mention govt policy when the policy explains the technical aspects of how to get DTV. And why not another way which is technically possible.

For better or worse, n like it or not, MDA's reply is informative to DTV adopters, here n elsewhere.

Being aware of background of DTV technical requirements n discussing which equipment to buy or set up to get DTV can all b part of the discussion. They r not mutually exclusive.

And if u did read the posts, n the background to the moderator's comment, u wld realize it is a completely different context. Moderator was asking ppl not to digress to discussion on MDA treatment of websites. This is MDA giving an update/explanation on DTV. N it is being shared in a thread about DTV.

Kiwi8

I've got this one from Aliexpress.

See my earlier post, it does not support the DVB-T2 spec here.

Yes, I got the same USB stick too.

Anyway, it will still work in tuning to DVB-C signals from the StarHub antenna point, so dun throw it away! :o

chuppachop

MDA should mandate that HDB upgrade the MATV antennas. HDB does not maintain them anymore, walk around any blocks and u can see some of the MATV got knocked down by strong winds and has been lying in that state for the longest time.

One shouldn't depend on SCV network alone.....what if their infrastructure fails (like it did previously)? No one can watch any chs? Best to have a backup in the form of personal antenna or HDB ones.

Seems like no communication between HDB n MDA.

Kiwi8

MDA should mandate that HDB upgrade the MATV antennas. HDB does not maintain them anymore, walk around any blocks and u can see some of the MATV got knocked down by strong winds and has been lying in that state for the longest time.

One shouldn't depend on SCV network alone.....what if their infrastructure fails (like it did previously)? No one can watch any chs? Best to have a backup in the form of personal antenna or HDB ones.

Yeah, but they wun do it cos they want to "encourage" every household to at least subscribe to paid-TV services.

And besides, they dun want u to use the MATV antenna to tune to foreign country TV channels to avoid paying hefty sums to watch the World Cup and Euros. :o

mingfreakrsx

Recently i saw someone maintaining my HDB block's MATV antennae and the other nearby blocks.Hmm quite a rare scene to see. :)

AnDyLe0

I think the audio is softer. I need to increase the volume higher as compared to my original tv sound

i only get softer audio for DVB-T2 5(HD) when selected "Dolby D+" audio track.
that is not really audio prob... but because of 5.1 surround supported by the tv.

for tv that supports Dolby Surround (eg. Sony, Samsung, LG etc), when 5(HD) outputs 6 audio channels, ur tv will output softer audio due to the sound is split into 6 speakers.
if ur tv does not support Dolby, either u get no sound, or extra loud sound (due to 6 channels downmix to 2 channels).

chngsk

Just purchased a Daiyo digital from COurts (AMK)

Just purchased the Daiyo antenna an connected to to my DVB-t2 capable Sony tv today. I live in AMK. TV is located on the grd floor. I can only detect (auto scan) only 2 digital channels ( 5 & Suria). These two HD channels quality is good and clear.
I tried to use a combo tv plug for
1) Wall tv outlet & for analog channels
2) Daiyo antenna for digital channels.
Unfotunately, it did not quote work out as the analog channels becomes quite snow-ee. I have to unplug the Daiyo antenna to get back a acceptable quality for the analog channels.

Just got the daiyo EU 1702 to try HD digital tv on my DVB-t2 capable tv. I live red hill area. I do not have mio or starhub subscription. I know some folks r frus about the HD TV rollout, but I just want to say the pic looks amazing.

Watched ch8 journey in HD (n 3D too, using LG passive) n it's really good. The pic, not the show. The show still sucks.

Of course my assessment of the pic is coming from one who lived with snowflakes analogue for last 2-3 yrs.

Also unlike analogue tv, digital tv provides all the additional info on the prog. I can toggle between eng n Chinese subtitles too. And now I can programme the tv to record shows using lg's time machine cos digital channel has all the tv listings.

All in all, now more reason to suck me away from interacting w humans n to watch more tv.

V nice. Worth the $64 for the daiyo. Previously a salesman tried to warn me tt no guarantee will get signal, must put antenna near window etc. turns out as long as it is high enough n pointed a certain way is ok. Of course this may b subjective to areas other than red hill.

osirisis

Maybe maintenance by the town council and add more $$ to our conservancy charges? most likely the way to go if everybody want it?

coedes

Just purchased the Daiyo antenna an connected to to my DVB-t2 capable Sony tv today. I live in AMK. TV is located on the grd floor. I can only detect (auto scan) only 2 digital channels ( 5 & Suria). These two HD channels quality is good and clear.
Unfotunately, it did not quote work out as the analog channels becomes quite snow-ee. I have to unplug the Daiyo antenna to get back a acceptable quality for the analog channels.

u live landed property? think so far those who share they got it are in higher rise hdb (tho i may b wrong), so hopefully some other landed property dweller or other amkians can advise, or anyone know if it makes any difference.

at least u got 2 channels, means there is hope. assume u already tried turning your antenna this way n tt n putting it high up etc.

chngsk

Right. In landed property. The Daiyo antenna is quite good. It can received the 2 digital channels irrespective of whether I located it in the middle of the living room or next to the front door. I assume that I will be able to received the other channels in early 2014.
Cheers

coedes

@coedes

We have different views. Let's agree to disagree.

Cheers.

In this case, it's not about views. But simply being able to distinguish between what is relevant n what is not.

MDA policy n tech info on DTV in a thread on DTV? Relevant.

MDA policy on news websites in the same thread? Irrelevant.

Based on your 'views' to post only technical discussions, then we should not relay or share any info on MDA's DTV rollout plan for different estates (which is a policy decision) cos tt is 'policy', n not a 'technical' matter? The 'policy' info is relevant n useful to folks, n can shape their decision whether to adopt DTV earlier, which is a tangible benefit of reading such a thread.

Others have commented on MDA policy n handling of DTV matters in this thread too, though if it were to move beyond mere info sharing or simple comment to govt bashing, then moderators shld stop it, even if the bashing is w regards to DTV related policies.

AnDyLe0

u live landed property? think so far those who share they got it are in higher rise hdb (tho i may b wrong), so hopefully some other landed property dweller or other amkians can advise, or anyone know if it makes any difference.

at least u got 2 channels, means there is hope. assume u already tried turning your antenna this way n tt n putting it high up etc.

if u r staying in landed prop... no need to buy indoor antenna... just install ur own rooftop antenna... and all probs solved... cuz nobody is stopping u from installing rooftop antenna, unlike for hdb/condo.

coedes

Right. In landed property. The Daiyo antenna is quite good. It can received the 2 digital channels irrespective of whether I located it in the middle of the living room or next to the front door. I assume that I will be able to received the other channels in early 2014.
Cheers

Ya based on MDA's rollout schedule amk is q1 2014 for complete indoor, so not long to wait.. If by then don't have go n see ur pm, I mean, mp lor.

mrsun18

Cheers
I suppose you are a starhub subscriber since you didn't mention anything about roof-top antenna. The MediaCorp roll out plan said "From Dec 2013: Outdoor Reception Island-Wide". But the outdoor signal isn't going to just hentak kaki outside, that's why you are able to receive some of the channels. You can try doing a manual scan to capture the other channels as explained with reasons, in my post #395 in this thread. Don't worry about different indoor antenna or tv set.

For starhub subscriber, I understand your reason to combine the two sources of signal to one input for the tv set. Your method can't work for reason explained in my post #169 of this closed thread:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...cussion-thread-[consolidated]-3614256-37.html

You may have to spend some time reading. If short of time just skip. A better method to do it is using an a/b switch:

Finally found them with the help of my best friend...Google "A/B Antenna Switch"
$T2eC16hHJGYE9nookQjcBR-I82R,dQ~~60_57.JPG

It has an operating frequency of 5 ~ 1000MHz which is suitable. But the insertion loss is unknown. If adaptor such as F to IEC is needed, there will be more losses.

Here is the url:
Antenna Cable Switch | eBay

For those who need help with the wiring connection:
A/B Switch Setup

Disclaimer: I have not used the products listed. Try at you own risk.

coedes

I suppose you are a starhub subscriber

Think if he bought the daiyo digital antenna means he is not a pay-tv subscriber?

Or there are cases where subscribers still need to buy the digital antenna isit? Until the rollout complete? Tho MDA/mediacorp didn't mention leh

MoneyFace =p

Or there are cases where subscribers still need to buy the digital antenna isit? Until the rollout complete? Tho MDA/mediacorp didn't mention leh

Nope paid TV subscribers will never need any of those, they rely the channel signals from their own infrastructure.

coedes

Nope paid TV subscribers will never need any of those, they rely the channel signals from their own infrastructure.

Yeah tts what I thought, tt u can get the FTA digital signal thru ur pay tv service.

hence asking why mrsun was supposing chngsk to b a starhub subscriber even though he had hooked up the daiyo digital antenna. Thought there was something we missed. Better to clarify lest other subscribers or would b subscribers think they will still need an indoor digital antenna for FTA digital TV.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.