Where to tailor clothes =D

dark_aLLeY

How much does sze sze charge for a pair of tailor pants? Not fancy details. Just a navy pair that fits me well

Can call and ask the pricing lor...

Add:Upper Cross Street Hong Lim Complex #02-12
Singapore 050531

Tel:+65 65337095

Fax:+65 65345406
Email:szesze@hotmail.com

Where is a good place to get a suit altered? Would it be those usual suit tailors mentioned here? Or do they not accept alterations?

Most tailors do provide alterations service, only price & worksmanship differ.

Otherwise, can look for alteration specialised shops (with all the seamstresses).

Lippyt

Where is a good place to get a suit altered? Would it be those usual suit tailors mentioned here? Or do they not accept alterations?

I've always gone to one of the many alterations tailors at far east plaza to get my jackets to fit. I would say that they always get the fit right most of the time, but workmanship seems to vary according to their schedule and temperament.

PetiaC

Btw anywhere in chinatown got good tailor? Pants budget $99. Just need 1 pair for my blazer

Refrain from trying to make a matching pants. go for a different color that is suitable.

My regular pants maker in Chinatown is Gold Tailor Fashion House. 2nd floor of Peoples Park Center.

CMT price used to be $40, CNY Period increased to $50. Will be $45 after CNY Period.

gaoxing84

Refrain from trying to make a matching pants. go for a different color that is suitable.

My regular pants maker in Chinatown is Gold Tailor Fashion House. 2nd floor of Peoples Park Center.

CMT price used to be $40, CNY Period increased to $50. Will be $45 after CNY Period.

will be going for a full navy suit leh. haha
maybe not exact same, maybe a different tone but same blue.
will check it out there.
What's CMT?
hehe sorry abit noob in this section.

urbanturban

will check it out there.
What's CMT?

Cut Make Trim
I think you should stick to the same material if you want to be all blue.
Otherwise, Blue-Grey or Blue-Khaki.

My 2 cents.

MookieTea

will check it out there.
What's CMT?

For CMT, you're to bring your own fabrics of choice there to the tailor, lowering the total cost by quite a bit.

If you're going for a navy suit, it's almost certain that you have to use the same fabric and same color from the same swatchbook. That's what makes it a "suit". Otherwise, you'll look... :s22:

Why not a navy odd jacket with maybe a grey trousers?:)

gaoxing84

For CMT, you're to bring your own fabrics of choice there to the tailor, lowering the total cost by quite a bit.

If you're going for a navy suit, it's almost certain that you have to use the same fabric and same color from the same swatchbook. That's what makes it a "suit". Otherwise, you'll look... :s22:

Why not a navy odd jacket with maybe a grey trousers?:)

the thing is i already bought the "blazer" ready made from zara.
and the zara pants of the same line is too skinny for my liking.
so i have find similar material or color to match it. Don't feel the mix color look for my first suit.
oh ya, won't have my own fabric, gotta choose from what the tailor have.
will be bring my blazer down to match

this is what i got from zara (i hate the pants can i got huge calfs, and sorry for my dumb smile :(, and dont mind the shoes)
the blazer material is some sort different from the regular material, so have to bring down to the tailor to see if i can find smt similar.
IMG-20140108-WA003_zps6072145e.jpg

All in a Day

the thing is i already bought the "blazer" ready made from zara.
and the zara pants of the same line is too skinny for my liking.
so i have find similar material or color to match it. Don't feel the mix color look for my first suit.
oh ya, won't have my own fabric, gotta choose from what the tailor have.
will be bring my blazer down to match

this is what i got from zara (i hate the pants can i got huge calfs, and sorry for my dumb smile :(, and dont mind the shoes)
the blazer material is some sort different from the regular material, so have to bring down to the tailor to see if i can find smt similar.
IMG-20140108-WA003_zps6072145e.jpg

Yandao sia!

Jacket looks abit tight. Like what many hv advised, wil probably look better if u simple wear another colour pants than trying v hard to find a matching blue (will never be possible unless u really found the exact material used).

Good thing is the shade of ur blue jacket looks quite versatile. Can consider dark grey pants or much darker blue pants (that will show u r not trying to pass off as a suit) for evening function or khaki chinos or light grey pants for daytime function (n depends on stipulated dress code)

gaoxing84

Yandao sia!

Jacket looks abit tight. Like what many hv advised, wil probably look better if u simple wear another colour pants than trying v hard to find a matching blue (will never be possible unless u really found the exact material used).

Good thing is the shade of ur blue jacket looks quite versatile. Can consider dark grey pants or much darker blue pants (that will show u r not trying to pass off as a suit) for evening function or khaki chinos or light grey pants for daytime function (n depends on stipulated dress code)

thanks but not even yandao. lol
i guess i have to find a darker shade of blue/navy. same material i don't think can find.
will pair with a chino or beige pants for other function. but i wanna pull off the suit up look. hahaha.
that's why the tie and white shirt. hope marcella don't disappoint me. just a simple white shirt.

the jacket is slim fit. that's why look abit tight. lol. another angle.
and since already sexposed myself. must as well. lol
will be paring it with brown belt and brown shoes
anyway for pants, should i do a one fold or just let it sit on ankle nicely without fold? lol
IMG-20140108-WA002_zps6700ad43.jpg

trying to go for this look. anyway, the end of the tie should be tucked into the pants or? lolol i have seen people doing it.
20130914-122639.jpg%3Fw%3D479

wanna to try this look one day. for less formal events
1891427_lookbook.jpg%3F1327430903

dark_aLLeY

Ok, based on my experience, good old tailor can find u the material and shade that will match pretty closely. Try to ask around the tailors that's being discussed here-- SzeSze, Dylan, Iris tailor etc.

For Zara RTW, prolly will have some polyester mix.

gaoxing84

Ok, based on my experience, good old tailor can find u the material and shade that will match pretty closely. Try to ask around the tailors that's being discussed here-- SzeSze, Dylan, Iris tailor etc.

For Zara RTW, prolly will have some polyester mix.

yes, i think there is.
gonna visit sze sze and the tailor that petiac intro.
see what they have and pricing. haha
hope good price too!

Lippyt

thanks but not even yandao. lol
i guess i have to find a darker shade of blue/navy. same material i don't think can find.
will pair with a chino or beige pants for other function. but i wanna pull off the suit up look. hahaha.
that's why the tie and white shirt. hope marcella don't disappoint me. just a simple white shirt.

Hope I don't sound like a downer, but it is really difficult to get matching cloth for a navy jacket.

My best advice: return the current size of trousers you have to zara, get the same trousers one or two sizes bigger. Get the tailor to slim down the waist. TBH since you are going for the current slim lapel look, I think the calf-hugging, floating pants matches it well (so hem up those trousers too!).

An alternative would be to consider your Zara purchase as a sunk cost and go to ebay to find an affordable suit, there are full suits starting around $150.

A sample ebay search, I've made a big assumption you'd be around 38R:
navy suit 38r | eBay

Also consider going to Marks and Spencer as they have suits with italian fabric around $250-$300 now, which would be a good choice if you are willing to spend a bit more for alteration. These are branded under their collezione range.

Lastly, I would also suggest this brand, perhaps you could take a risk and try it for us:
https://www.combatgent.com/

urbanturban

I support Lippyt's recommendation. Almost impossible to get the same material (needle in haystack). Your best option is to change the size from Zara.

I have had a bad experience with Marcella on its quality, so take it FWIW.

gaoxing84

Hope I don't sound like a downer, but it is really difficult to get matching cloth for a navy jacket.

My best advice: return the current size of trousers you have to zara, get the same trousers one or two sizes bigger. Get the tailor to slim down the waist. TBH since you are going for the current slim lapel look, I think the calf-hugging, floating pants matches it well (so hem up those trousers too!).

An alternative would be to consider your Zara purchase as a sunk cost and go to ebay to find an affordable suit, there are full suits starting around $150.

A sample ebay search, I've made a big assumption you'd be around 38R:
navy suit 38r | eBay

Also consider going to Marks and Spencer as they have suits with italian fabric around $250-$300 now, which would be a good choice if you are willing to spend a bit more for alteration. These are branded under their collezione range.

Lastly, I would also suggest this brand, perhaps you could take a risk and try it for us:
https://www.combatgent.com/

i didn't get the pants from zara because i asked the SA there and they say if i were to get 1 -2 size bigger and alter, it will look ugly.
that's why i got the blazer only.
so now have to find something similar, don't have to be exact. probably a darker shade blue.
personally, i don't like the calf hugging look. not comfortable in it. a little more room will be better.
nah, don't want to spend any more on RTW suits. this is a one time RTW blazer.
don't trust ebay on this kind because i don't any records of my current measurements from any professional tailor.

however, next i will be joining the big boys here to tailor a entire suit from a single tailor. haha

i.curtis

The Lapels look like its too low? It does look abit too boxy as well? Or is all DBs like that?

So how do I look in my 60s seersucker db sports jacket?

Collected from the Chipmunk Not So Mystery Already Tailor. Going to wear for CNY after that send back to fine tune the fit further.

I posted more photos on fb for those who like to see the details of the workmanship.
B2F2076A-302B-47CD-ADF6-E753EDE38661-3967-0000046FA5FC0124_zps769bf34b.jpg

PetiaC

I echo the sentiments of the gents here.

Do not try to make a suit out of mismatched material and color. Go for constrasting look.

Or you can go back Zara buy the pants to alter.

gaoxing84

Do not try to make a suit out of mismatched material and color. Go for constrasting look.

contrasting look not formal enough i guess? lol
i will but not this event i am heading for.

zhane

agree.... buy bigger pants alter easier

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.