Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

mrsun18

so my china stb can decode mpeg audio better than aac, that is the reason :s13:
Not sure if I have misunderstood you, but it appears that you are not following the conversation.

My image is in response to somewhat's request to show audio codec of test channel using Draco stb, which reveals that the codec is mpga.

What the Draco's audio using Sony's chipset can do is shown below:
7khta.jpg

There is no issue with Draco's sound quality (as confirmed from users feedback including mine in this forum, if you stb is better, then why are you saying this:
i have the exact audio low quality problem with you, but the test channel sounds crisp and clear, only the 7 FTA T2 channels, may i know which china stb u bought? :)

singpal

Not sure if I have misunderstood you, but it appears that you are not following the conversation.

My image is in response to somewhat's request to show audio codec of test channel using Draco stb, which reveals that the codec is mpga.

What the Draco's audio using Sony's chipset can do is shown below:
There is no issue with Draco's sound quality (as confirmed from users feedback including mine in this forum, if you stb is better, then why are you saying this:

what i am saying is my china stb have low quality audio issues is because it cant decode aac audio properly. i am the one who said earlier the test channel sounds fine, and base on the pic u posted it is not in aac.

draco no doubt can decode properly, never doubt about draco, sorry for any miscommunication

PoloBoiBoi

i have the exact audio low quality problem with you, but the test channel sounds crisp and clear, only the 7 FTA T2 channels, may i know which china stb u bought? :)

i bought this

singpal

SilveR1_09

hi friend, so have you check out the audio of HD5, can play all 3 streams? how is the quality of the sound, clear or muffled?:)

Hi pal, yup, sorry didn't get back to you earlier.
The TV set is playing BabyTV or nursery rhymes most times for my little toddler princess. :D

Yes, I've checked the audio of HD5.
It can play all 3 streams.

Quality differs though. The other 2 streams, the sound is soft.
But the Dolby+ stream is VERY clear and crisp.

Hope that helps. :s12:

singpal

Hi pal, yup, sorry didn't get back to you earlier.
The TV set is playing BabyTV or nursery rhymes most times for my little toddler princess. :D

Yes, I've checked the audio of HD5.
It can play all 3 streams.

Quality differs though. The other 2 streams, the sound is soft.
But the Dolby+ stream is VERY clear and crisp.

Hope that helps. :s12:

thanks pal, looks like getmecom is the best cheap stb :s12:

now must find lobang to get it :)

SilveR1_09

thanks pal, looks like getmecom is the best cheap stb :s12:
now must find lobang to get it :)

Must be careful and check with the reseller though regarding the demodulator chip being used.

Like @kenny cheung noted, his Getmecom board is MSD7816_T02_V1.1_120718 and demodulator chip is MSB1230. This one doesn't support DVB-T2 standard v1.3.1

Mine has a board MSD7816_T06_V1.1_130311 and demodulator chip MSB1236.
This chip supports DVB-T2 standard v1.3.1

AnDyLe0

It didnt state stereo or dolby digital but the default audio for the box is stereo but some channel shows that support Dolby will auto convert to dolby digital. :)

ic. that means mio tv is using aac audio for 8(HD) same as DVB-T2.
from starhub ch154 test channel, there is a possibility that starhub will use dolby audio for 8(HD).

singpal

Must be careful and check with the reseller though regarding the demodulator chip being used.

Like @kenny cheung noted, his Getmecom board is MSD7816_T02_V1.1_120718 and demodulator chip is MSB1230. This one doesn't support DVB-T2 standard v1.3.1

Mine has a board MSD7816_T06_V1.1_130311 and demodulator chip MSB1236.
This chip supports DVB-T2 standard v1.3.1

ok thanks, will look at the firmware version to determine, kenny mentioned that firmware from 2012 dec - march 2013 will be MSB1230, so i guess any firmware dated after mar will be MSB1236 :)

PoloBoiBoi

but that's little bit funny, this set according to kiw8, the sound quality is good, have u tried to set HDMI audio output to RAW, and let the tv do the decoding?

my set is also china no brand but not the same as your model:

Hot Sale DVB T2 Digital Receiver H.264/MPEG4 DVB,Compatible with DVB T DVB T2 Russia-in Satellite TV Receiver from Consumer Electronics on Aliexpress.com

i tried to set off, raw on raw off all the same leh :(

on dvb-t channels (8SD 5SD CNA HD5) audio sounds good, even for DD on HD5

PoloBoiBoi

8 - HD

Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 9 439 Kbps

Audio #1
ID : 330 (0x14A)
Menu ID : 3 (0x3)
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Muxing mode : LATM
Codec ID : 17
Duration : 35s 840ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Channel count : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Back: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 24.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : -144ms
Language : Chinese

Audio #2
ID : 331 (0x14B)
Menu ID : 3 (0x3)
Format profile : HE-AACv2@L2 / HE-AAC@L2 / LC@L2
Duration : 35s 584ms
Delay relative to video : -94ms

Audio #1 Not Working
Audio #2 Working

PoloBoiBoi

Test 1

Audio
ID : 256 (0x100)
Menu ID : 703 (0x2BF)
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 2
Codec ID : 3
Duration : 30s 528ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 128 Kbps
Channel count : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Delay relative to video : -2s 520ms
Stream size : 477 KiB (2%)
Language : English

Audio #1 Working

PoloBoiBoi

CNA (DVB-T2)

Audio
ID : 631 (0x277)
Menu ID : 6 (0x6)
Format profile : HE-AAC / LC
Duration : 30s 208ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Channel count : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz / 24.0 KHz
Delay relative to video : -78ms
Language : English

Audio Working

PoloBoiBoi

So that DVB-T2 Box I have can handle

AC-3, MPEG, AAC (HE-AAC)

but it has problem decoding

AAC (LC)

:(:(:(

killerslayer92

ive read thru the entire mediacorp faq but i hv not found the ans to my qn..

currently im using underground cable to receive tv signal (probably sharing the starhub tv cable). is the signal in the cable digital?

im asking this bcos the faq keep saying buy a DVBT settop box with antenna, but if the signal in starhub cables are alr digital, can i juz plug that cable into the settop box to decode the signal rather than mess with poorer quality OTA signals?

mingfreakrsx

ive read thru the entire mediacorp faq but i hv not found the ans to my qn..

currently im using underground cable to receive tv signal (probably sharing the starhub tv cable). is the signal in the cable digital?

im asking this bcos the faq keep saying buy a DVBT settop box with antenna, but if the signal in starhub cables are alr digital, can i juz plug that cable into the settop box to decode the signal rather than mess with poorer quality OTA signals?

The signal in StarHub cable is digital but not as in DVB-T2 format, it's in DVB-C format. The StarHub cable point(known as SCV point too) carries analog and DVB-C(both encrypted and non-encrypted) signals only.

If you have a subscription cable TV plan with StarHub, you don't need to worry as it is already broadcasting in digital(C) format. If you are just receiving local signals only, you may need to get a DVB-T2 settopbox and an antenna(or if you have a HDB/Condo MATV point, you don't need the antenna. it depends).

If you have a TV that's equipped with a DVB-C tuner, you may want to try tuning it. Currently the channels in the DVB-C(non-encrypted) of the SH cable are the 6 analog channels and 1 HD5 channel. More HD FTA from non-encrypted DVB-C signal may be coming in the future once StarHub carries Ch8/Suria/Vasantham in HD too. :)

coyote

Saw this interesting gadget at the most unusual place, NTUC Fair price, JEM. With a DVB-T2 tuner box & an antenna, one is supposed to be able to watch HD5 on their TV. But asking NTUC staff to confirm the 'functionality' of such gadget isn't going to be fruitful.

Currently, I am still using a DVB-T USB dongle to tune & watch on my PC. I have an active powered antenna with booster. Even that, only certain spot at my window can catch this DVB-T signal. DVB-T2 coverage is supposed to be islandwide.

So, has anyone uses any such gadget to tune HD5 with to DVB-T2? Reporting success & location in Singapore will be helpful.

stiz.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.