MyRepublic fibre - Part 4

BusteR

well, i don't mind the $2.88 if their service is top-notch and fiber is stable.
but from what i read, a lot of negatives reviews in this thread.
since already so much negatives and questions unanswered, why would i even be willing to fork out +$2.88 more? :eek:

they could just show me the 300mbps plan for me to re-contract after i login my MR account, dead simple but now things are not shown on the front.

It depends on what you need. They each have their selling point:

Big 3 - cheapest plans, free home voice (but u get the throttle)
MR - most affordable fastest speed if u need (but now its not so stable)
VQ - most stability (but very expensive)

Seriously home voice if need to pay is $2.88 per month, thats cheaper than a bowl of fishball noodles or even public transport fee. It is still money of course, but if your family use phone at home very often (<1000 mins local calls), then its at least well spent.

VQ I believe has it included in their promotion plan, but u got to ask them first to confirm

However if u choose Big 3 and kena throttle....no $2.88 will buy u the speed u want at the time u need.

Lehnsherr

since already so much negatives and questions unanswered, why would i even be willing to fork out +$2.88 more? :eek:

they could just show me the 300mbps plan for me to re-contract after i login my MR account, dead simple but now things are not shown on the front.

The 300Mbps choice was there when I opt-in. They might have removed the option altogether. They are a business entity, and businesses can choose what they want to sell to max out profits or for their own gains, consumers can choose what they want to buy. I see nothing underhand in removing the choice of choosing 300Mbps. No obligations to declare and announce anything either.

It sounds like u want cheap and stable. If you don't torrent, just terminate and choose the big 3. If not, pay more and go for VQ.

If you want cheap and torrent, you got to gamble now and go with MR.

Lehnsherr

They throttle normally is in peak hours .But to due large availability of bandwidth these days I think not that terrible in the past liao .

I don't have much experience with them for fiber, but personally I think I won't wanna take the chances if price is ok with me I will go with MR or VQ.

xRenol

I believe you can only get the best bang for buck with the available options as of now.

Cheapest plan - Big 3 with additional saving on mobile (probably)
Most stable but expensive - VQ
Somewhere in between - MR

Lehnsherr

How can I tell whether my torrent is throttled or not ?

You should constantly see a sharp turn down of speed during peak hours. Speeds like below 1mb/s

Test with content that you know has a healthy level of seeds that u are very sure that speeds are great on that torrent.

BusteR

thanks for the sum up
guess i will go the big 3 (cheapest) as i'm the only 1 who use internet at home plus only night time i use. i do torrent but only like once or twice a week.

The 300Mbps choice was there when I opt-in. They might have removed the option altogether. They are a business entity, and businesses can choose what they want to sell to max out profits or for their own gains, consumers can choose what they want to buy. I see nothing underhand in removing the choice of choosing 300Mbps. No obligations to declare and announce anything either.

It sounds like u want cheap and stable. If you don't torrent, just terminate and choose the big 3. If not, pay more and go for VQ.

If you want cheap and torrent, you got to gamble now and go with MR.

Rock

Anyone who had jumped ship from MR to other ISP earlier on, do you know any termination fee incurred even though the contract already over? Called MR customer service hotline but always put on hold. Is there a charges of $100 by open net if we terminate the service? Thanks to those who known the answer and reply.

ArleFK

Anyone who had jumped ship from MR to other ISP earlier on, do you know any termination fee incurred even though the contract already over? Called MR customer service hotline but always put on hold. Is there a charges of $100 by open net if we terminate the service? Thanks to those who known the answer and reply.

Their hotlines are always busy one. Try either PM the staff accounts here or their live chat, higher chance of getting the info you want

chuanz

thanks for the sum up
guess i will go the big 3 (cheapest) as i'm the only 1 who use internet at home plus only night time i use. i do torrent but only like once or twice a week.

Pretty same sentiments here...

Gone were the days of Lawzer, nivleK, Bolts, etc. Thanks to MR for the good times while it lasted, and for showing me what's life like outside the traffic lights. You have decided that small fry customers like me probably doesn't make economic/business sense to keep anymore as you join the big pool and turn into another faceless monolithic business entity. Congratulations on "making it there" already. Now let me enjoy the remaining couple of months on my contract before reluctantly being kicked in the nuts out of your house...

wc1985

There's no charges if your contract is over and you return the ont on your own.

xRenol

thanks for the sum up

Are you into gaming?

I think there is one termination fee of $48.15 according to A Clear & Complete List of MyRepublic Fibre Broadband One-Time Charges unless you return the ONT on your own.

Termination Fee (includes ONT collection if applicable. Customers who do not have to pay this fee will have to return the ONT at their own cost)
Only for Residential customers on No Contract and Business customers who have subscribed for less than 2 years
Charges: $48.15

||||||||||

Anybody knows where to return the ont? I search but there's nothing on MR websites on termination of contracts.

They scared many ppl terminate ah? Totally no info

micheloving

Pretty same sentiments here...

Gone were the days of Lawzer, nivleK, Bolts, etc. Thanks to MR for the good times while it lasted, and for showing me what's life like outside the traffic lights. You have decided that small fry customers like me probably doesn't make economic/business sense to keep anymore as you join the big pool and turn into another faceless monolithic business entity. Congratulations on "making it there" already. Now let me enjoy the remaining couple of months on my contract before reluctantly being kicked in the nuts out of your house...

Well it was good when it lasted . I had bad feeling about this 1Gbp launch thingy all along , it probably ruined MR reputation which Lawzer, nivleK, Bolts painstaking build up over the years in HWZ just in a few months .

Contract/recontract terminate before installation invokes penalty too which is the main reason why I am still in MR......
Why shld I pay this crap:( its not my fault they dun have the time to schedule installation for me!

xRenol

Anybody knows where to return the ont? I search but there's nothing on MR websites on termination of contracts.

They scared many ppl terminate ah? Totally no info

MR's office at Ubi. I am not sure if one can return the ONT to one of their MR store.

Do you mean the termination charges or other information?

xRenol

Well it was good when it lasted . I had bad feeling about this 1Gbp launch thingy all along , it probably ruined MR reputation which Lawzer, nivleK, Bolts painstaking build up over the years in HWZ just in a few months .

Contract/recontract terminate before installation invokes penalty too which is the main reason why I am still in MR......
Why shld I pay this crap:( its not my fault they dun have the time to schedule installation for me!

I believe MR is not only about Lawzer, nivleK, Bolts etc but more of the sustainability of the daily operation model. It seems like the current MR is unable to sustain or continue the customer service level that the pioneer MR staffs have provided.

BusteR

not trying to showcase i am jumping off to M1

but can anyone that used M1 previously feedback to me if gaming on M1 is ok?
heard from 2-3 guys that it will d/c or lag 1sec etc.

i wan cheap but don't want cheap till play game d/c -> very frustrating de

temptemp

not trying to showcase i am jumping off to M1

but can anyone that used M1 previously feedback to me if gaming on M1 is ok?
heard from 2-3 guys that it will d/c or lag 1sec etc.

i wan cheap but don't want cheap till play game d/c -> very frustrating de

bro. be practical a bit lah... even you take the most premium plan also doesn't guarantee you no dc or lag, no to say you are taking a lower-end plan... there is no cheap, fast & good ISP found as yet.

goodfastcheap-173.gif

chuanz

bro. be practical a bit lah... even you take the most premium plan also doesn't guarantee you no dc or lag, no to say you are taking a lower-end plan... there is no cheap, fast & good ISP found as yet.

goodfastcheap-173.gif

Unfortunately, seems that MR only offer ONE category of service... :(

rojiko

hi just to check .. my internet was down since yesterday, anyone having this issue also?

staying in the west, called up MR hotline and they say most of the people in the west encounting the issue, can detect the network but cant use it..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.