[Fan Club] LCHF Lifestyle - Part 3

Luc777

As before, I suggest people read www.dietdoctor.com/lchf

Bacon, while good, is not a complete food in itself

Do note that it is preserved with sugar and sodium nitrate so excessive consumption may not be all that good for us in the long run

I usually go for "chinese bacon" which is sliced pork belly - unsalted and I season them to my own preference :D

Most processed snacks have sugar in them - need to check the labels properly

There are some that don't use sugar :s13:

jus read...only banned item im having now is fruits due to my dad...he still cant get used to me not eating rice but whacking the fats on the meat...

You can get nice roasted pork knuckles at large Cold Storage & NTUC Finest outlets; around $25 only. Skin very crispy, much nicer than sio bak.

$25 can jiak how many meals?

zedane

You can get nice roasted pork knuckles at large Cold Storage & NTUC Finest outlets; around $25 only. Skin very crispy, much nicer than sio bak.

I personally prefer sio bak over german pork knuckles. Sio bak is cheaper ($20/kg from wholesaler) and much easier to eat too :s13: I get mine from Yan Chuan somewhere in ubi(near Aztech's HQ). You can get their whole roasted duck for around $16!

I'm sure you can get decently priced sio bak in other wet markets too. Most places I see sell them in the range of $20-$25/kg.

For those who think it is a hassle, buy in bulk and freeze them, that is only if you have sufficient space in the freezer. Partition it prior to freezing makes the reheating process all the more hassle free.

saiyan2005

jus read...only banned item im having now is fruits due to my dad...he still cant get used to me not eating rice but whacking the fats on the meat...

$25 can jiak how many meals?

wait for offer from cs.their pork knuckle ard 13.99.one can eat 2 meal

aaur4man

ytd bought $11.99 full slab pork ribs from CS...jin happy.

go home dig in find that it is extremely sweet.

jialat, now bbq meat also coated heavily with impurities. sadded.

even more sadded, auntie was clearing PK at $10 but i didnt bite.

merrr111

the pork ribs from CS nice anot?
always wanted to buy but I scared the meat abit tough plus not enuff fats so go giant hoot 3 slabs of siobak instead lol...

saiyan2005

ytd bought $11.99 full slab pork ribs from CS...jin happy.

go home dig in find that it is extremely sweet.

jialat, now bbq meat also coated heavily with impurities. sadded.

even more sadded, auntie was clearing PK at $10 but i didnt bite.

ya that why i dont buy pork ribs. meat and fat not that alot. only buy pork knuckle when offer. The aunties there always allow me to choose cos regular customer liao haha. wait for next round of PK offer ba

The_King

ya that why i dont buy pork ribs. meat and fat not that alot. only buy pork knuckle when offer. The aunties there always allow me to choose cos regular customer liao haha. wait for next round of PK offer ba

same, also waiting for the pk

saiyan2005

I personally prefer sio bak over german pork knuckles. Sio bak is cheaper ($20/kg from wholesaler) and much easier to eat too :s13: I get mine from Yan Chuan somewhere in ubi(near Aztech's HQ). You can get their whole roasted duck for around $16!

I'm sure you can get decently priced sio bak in other wet markets too. Most places I see sell them in the range of $20-$25/kg.

For those who think it is a hassle, buy in bulk and freeze them, that is only if you have sufficient space in the freezer. Partition it prior to freezing makes the reheating process all the more hassle free.

sio bak is shiok but compared offer from CS pork knuckle. I still prefer pork knuckle haha. cos cheaper if offer

If boh can go giant buy those raw pork belly. 0.79 per 100g. alot of them really got alot of fats!!! you can buy and store. just cut and steam add in some butter can eat liao. or combined with cs pork knuckle and steam the also very nice cos the flavour from that go into the pork belly

The_King

guy what are the cheese that you guy brought?

i seem all almost the same

looking for fatty fat cheese for lchf diet

thanks

The_King

my side giant dont have wor. maybe those bigger store wan might have

the bone can used to make soup

i use a thermal cooker to boil it for 3 days. (as in heat up to maintain it temp every 6 to 10 hr)

NFH_03_003%20530X600.jpg

the all the pork flavor all come out.

very tasty

gkhchay

wait for offer from cs.their pork knuckle ard 13.99.one can eat 2 meal

CS got offer meh?? Never see their pork knuckle on offer before leh; on the other hand, they have regular offers for salmon - the entire fish: the staff there quite good, they will cut up & slice the entire fish for you. Grill with grass fed butter damn shiok! Lol

saiyan2005

CS got offer meh?? Never see their pork knuckle on offer before leh; on the other hand, they have regular offers for salmon - the entire fish: the staff there quite good, they will cut up & slice the entire fish for you. Grill with grass fed butter damn shiok! Lol

haha have usually once per month. they rotate ard with different meat. so this week is chicken ard 4.99

carey

But the nitrates in vegetables are naturally occurring just like natural trans fats in grass fed beef etc.

I think we need to distinguish from made made vs natural lah otherwise folks may think salami, ham etc are also OK to eat.

Actually salami and other preserved meats are okay and even good for us :s13:

Anyway, some experts do not think there is much of a difference between nitrates in vegetables and the nitrates used in seasoning bacon though

But up to individual preference again - if you think it's not good, can skip :D

carey

the bone can used to make soup

i use a thermal cooker to boil it for 3 days. (as in heat up to maintain it temp every 6 to 10 hr)

NFH_03_003%20530X600.jpg

the all the pork flavor all come out.

very tasty

Same - I usually save the bone in my freezer for future use :D

And after a few days in my slow cooker, the bone would crumble and I feed it to my dogs...hahah

carey

guy what are the cheese that you guy brought?

i seem all almost the same

looking for fatty fat cheese for lchf diet

thanks

No such thing as super fatty cheese...hahah

Just need to avoid all the processed cheese and those "low fat" ones :s13:

Go for natural cheese like brie, camembert i.e. those in a block, not those sliced ones

If the cheese comes with more than 3 ingredients, it is likely processed (aka Kraft) :D

The_King

No such thing as super fatty cheese...hahah

Just need to avoid all the processed cheese and those "low fat" ones :s13:

Go for natural cheese like brie, camembert i.e. those in a block, not those sliced ones

If the cheese comes with more than 3 ingredients, it is likely processed (aka Kraft) :D

thanks a lot

will take a look again at phoon huat when i free.

Btw sometime when i near red man, i buy 1 stick of buter those 100gram and eat it, but once a while got people call me siao. told me if i eat like thise will Heart attack and die..

carey

thanks a lot

will take a look again at phoon huat when i free.

Btw sometime when i need red man, sometime when need red man i buy 1 stick of buter those 100gram and eat it once a while got people call me siao. told me if i eat like thise will Heart attack and die..

No worries :)

I usually buy the shredded cheese mix from Phoon Huat - damn shiok for cooking omelettes :D

Don't worry about those people - let them eat their cake =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.