The Big Bang Theory

GgEyMPB.jpg

best snack ever

gkhchay

Oic, usually drink the marigold powerbean unsweetened for the protein n the calcium :(

http://www.livestrong.com/article/425074-soy-milk-advantages-and-disadvantages/#page=1

Sent from a poor fugly buibui loser using GAGT

Nope, don't touch soy at all. Of course once in a very long while is OK, if you like tau huay or tofu. If you're lactose intolerant go buy almond milk instead.

carey

Yalor, as if the hazards of soy hasn't been made known enough...

A lot of people kena psychoed until :s22:

Food manufacturers have been pushing soya milk cos it's LOW FAT :s8:

Conveniently forget about all the bad effects :s13:

Anyway, traditionally prepared soy milk may be okay in small quantities as the beans have been soaked overnight and the milk is extracted by grinding them with a stone mill...

But I won't try - my moobs are big enough liao :sad:

gkhchay

A lot of people kena psychoed until :s22:

Food manufacturers have been pushing soya milk cos it's LOW FAT :s8:

Conveniently forget about all the bad effects :s13:

Anyway, traditionally prepared soy milk may be okay in small quantities as the beans have been soaked overnight and the milk is extracted by grinding them with a stone mill...

But I won't try - my moobs are big enough liao :sad:

Honestly I don't think the local food manufacturers actually know the dangers of present day GMO soy.:s13: they just follow whatever the Health Promotion Board promotes & publishes as "healthy"..:s22:

Of course mainstream medicine & nutritionists here are still in the stone age as far as preventive nutrition is concerned..

You're absolutely right about how traditionally non GMO soy was prepared - I still remember my late grandma grinding the beans that way back in the 70s when I was a teen.

gkhchay

I calculated; let's assume soy protein isn't bad for you. The $2 one litre soy milk pack works out to roughly 0.05 grams of protein which is expensive! And you're paying for protein which doesn't have much BCAA (branch chain amino acids) unlike whey protein.

If you want to increase your protein intake, a much better & cost effective way is whey protein which contains a high amount of BCAA.

aaur4man

I calculated; let's assume soy protein isn't bad for you. The $2 one litre soy milk pack works out to roughly 0.05 grams of protein which is expensive! And you're paying for protein which doesn't have much BCAA (branch chain amino acids) unlike whey protein.

If you want to increase your protein intake, a much better & cost effective way is whey protein which contains a high amount of BCAA.

whey protein supplement is another school of knowledge imho.

cheap ones arent really quality and contain alot of other stuffs.
but good ones really good as a health and muscle supplement.

BCAA can buy raw and eat it neat

gkhchay

whey protein supplement is another school of knowledge imho.

cheap ones arent really quality and contain alot of other stuffs.
but good ones really good as a health and muscle supplement.

BCAA can buy raw and eat it neat

Whey protein must buy natural flavor w/o fillers at all; also preferably EU or Australia & NZ where hormones on cows are banned.

If buy from iherb it's gonna be expensive. Only local online store that sells whey protein from Europe is Lush Protein: $150 for 5 kg; works out to 0.037 cents per gram of protein. Each 25 gram serving contains 20 grams of protein & 6 grams of BCCA.

aaur4man

Whey protein must buy natural flavor w/o fillers at all; also preferably EU or Australia & NZ where hormones on cows are banned.

If buy from iherb it's gonna be expensive. Only local online store that sells whey protein from Europe is Lush Protein: $150 for 5 kg; works out to 0.037 cents per gram of protein. Each 25 gram serving contains 20 grams of protein & 6 grams of BCCA.

I get natural factors iherb

harky

thermal cooker can boil for 3 day meh? i tot the heat only last 6 to 10 hr

the bone can used to make soup

i use a thermal cooker to boil it for 3 days. (as in heat up to maintain it temp every 6 to 10 hr)

NFH_03_003%20530X600.jpg

the all the pork flavor all come out.

very tasty

The_King

thermal cooker can boil for 3 day meh? i tot the heat only last 6 to 10 hr

the bone can used to make soup

i use a thermal cooker to boil it for 3 days. (as in heat up to maintain it temp every 6 to 10 hr)

i heat up (near boiling temp every 6 to 10 hr)

carey

Honestly I don't think the local food manufacturers actually know the dangers of present day GMO soy.:s13: they just follow whatever the Health Promotion Board promotes & publishes as "healthy"..:s22:

Of course mainstream medicine & nutritionists here are still in the stone age as far as preventive nutrition is concerned..

You're absolutely right about how traditionally non GMO soy was prepared - I still remember my late grandma grinding the beans that way back in the 70s when I was a teen.

Think they don't care - just pandering to market demand and ignorance :s13:

That's why a lot of traditional food aren't that healthy these days cos they forgo the traditional preparation for "efficiency" and maximum profit :(

rachdanon

Why don't you switch to grassfed better instead? The profile is much better than pig's lard.

These brands of butter are from grassfed cows:
- Anchor
- Kerry Gold
- SCS
- West Gold

Doesnt butter have a low smoke/turning chao da point and make it not suitable for frying?

I would also think cost would be high?

fat_bb_fat

http://www.high50.com/beauty/why-fat-and-oil-in-your-diet-can-make-your-skin-look-younger

"Side effect" of having a fat diet :p

carey

Doesnt butter have a low smoke/turning chao da point and make it not suitable for frying?

Don't need to use very high heat to cook...hahah

Can also consider ghee - clarified butter - higher smoking point cos all the water has been taken out :)

frozenh2o

Butter burns easily on high heat. So be careful if you do so. It'll get really brown and ugly and you'll know it's burnt then.

But it makes everything taste sooo good. Especially eggs. Mmmmm.

gkhchay

I use butter for stir/pan frying, no problem at all unless you are talking deep frying which I think is extremely unhealthy.

Yes it's slightly more expensive but I don't think you can put a price on good health; you can also use clarified ghee like Carey suggested; some folks use coconut oil, you can try that too. Personally I prefer grassfed butter & EVOO.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.