The Watch Thread - Part 8

TeenTitan01

Thank u uncle teen!!! In my opinion you are damn sakti. Knowledge is sakti! Thanks for sharing learnt alot from you. Steady pompipi la

Not at all.

Although I'm uncle, I'm new to the watch craze. Just happen to blab the tiny bits I learn from the internet niah.

Many bros here who aren't a gasbag like me know much, MUCH more.

They show it with REAL ACTION... like their power wrist shots of watches that matter! :s12:

slow_mo

So, when are you hooting the JLC Master Ultra Thin Moonphase? ;)

Not in the near/distance future. I'm uncle liao, need to save up for my future and my boys' future. Not enough $$$ to hoot the JLC!m

Share your WOTD leh!

TeenTitan01

Yupp I have seen the Laco and even intro it to my friend during the NSF days. It is the most authentic and original styling wise like you said but I don't like its vintage styling. I like Stowa's and Steinhart's modern interpretation of the flieger.

I am a rather particular person, dunno is it due to OCD or not but since my Type A is a Steinhart I should pair it with a Type B Steinhart but at the same time I would really want to have a Type B from Stowa as it is one of the original 5 manufacturers and from what I read online the most beautiful flieger available as of now.

Haha as for 55mm original size I think I can only use it as a small table clock liao. My wrist is only 6.5" and 44mm watches are already pushing it hahaha.

If you are me will you get a Steinhart or Stowa Type B to complete the set?

After Type B I hope to continue collecting, starting from Damasko DA47, a Sinn 6000 series watch, a Speedmaster, the new North Flag, the ever safe choice of Submariner etc. They are still dreams for now since I'm still a student :(

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

Uncle here very the lau kui, so old then got into watches.

But I'm very impressed that young chaps like you (together with young bro Donten and the rest - you know who you are) are already seasoned watch lovers! Good! Good!

I assume you've got the plain, no logo version of the Type A B-Uhr, so you'd want to get a no logo version of the Type B. Since you like the modern case, whether Steinhart or Stowa shouldn't really matter since that's what they both offer. It all boils down to your taste in the crown (onion anyone?), strap (whether riveted or not), case size or even the curvature of the lugs.

Personally, I'm partial to Laco's efforts in maintaining vintage authenticity. Not surprising since I'm on my way to being an old fart (I mean old fossil) soon... roflmao! Another reason why I'm partial to high dome watch crystals. :s13:

I can understand why a young man (and the young at heart) likes Tudor's North Flag - even I'm partial to a splash of yellow on black: it's so sporty & energetic. Got seduced to part w/ premium hard cash for the yellow accented Seiko SRP639. :s34: What to do, it was (and still is) a hot watch.

But b/w the Tudor North Flag and Black Bay (burgandy bezel), it's the BB (bb) for me hands down! What to do, old man like old things like gilt dial and distressed leather strap mah, wahahahaha..... :D

Henabi

I think my fren just trying to poison me with rolex so that maybe he can get some commission if he recommend sme lobang to me. Not too sure. I see how.

Why not? Friend recommend rolex. Not Some street brand like Sovil titus.

let him earn a bit for recommending a good watch doesn't hurt at all.

--------------------

Agree with TT01... definitely BB for me as well. Goes well with almost all kinds of straps, leather, metal, mesh, nato, rubber, silicon. A very well balanced watch which you can transit effortlessly between business, casual n sports

TeenTitan01

Not in the near/distance future. I'm uncle liao, need to save up for my future and my boys' future. Not enough $$$ to hoot the JLC!m

Share your WOTD leh!

Bro slow_mo, one word: Consolidation!

You can trim the fat, excise the duplicates, rationalize & liquidate some of your collection so you can have the funds to perhaps consider trading up your FC Moonphase to an heirloom-potential JLC MUT Moonphase?

Just don't part with your super-chio Seiko SDGZ013 - unless you want to it sell to me! I book first, can? Thanks in advance! :D

My humble WOTD (my firm fav since I bought it fairly recently. Can confirm it's not merely honeymoon glow):

C6HJHcv.jpg

So many reason to love my 2nd gen SRP309 Orange Monster:

1. Those iconic fang hour markers with matching black outline like the hour & minute hands (the 1st gen OM hour markers has no border)!
2. It's even, matching white lume colour compared with the unmatching 1st gen OM.
3. Certified 200m diver.
4. Windable & hackable 4R36 movement.
5. Solid links bracelet with foldover button release & safety clasp.
6. Solid end-links (amazing for a watch at this price point!)
7. Diver's extension to fit over wet suit.
8. That gorgeous, deep orange dial giving off the DOXA Professional vibes.
9. Legendary "radioactive" Lumibrite lume that lasts for hours (yep, even Superluminova lume is sourced from the Seiko-related company!)
10. Its cleaner dial compared to the 1st gen OM (not cluttered with arabic numerals on the insides of the hour markers).
11. Slightly domed mineral crystal (ok at this price point, saying no sapphire is trolling, ok... anyway, for you tactile lovers out there, gliding your fingertips over a dome crystal is a treat!)
12. Its knurled screw-down crown not only looks sexy (like the surface of a filing tool, it's super grippy and easy to unscrew from its lock-down position).
13. Interesting tidbit: when the minute hand overlaps the hour hands, it forms a "rocket"!
14. A solidly well-constructed, tough, heavy, hefty, manly watch with charismatic presence!
15. A bracelet that outclasses many divers in its price range (including its famed stable mate the well-loved classic SKX007/009/173 - I'm waiting impatiently for Seiko to drop the 4R36 movement into this venerable design. For me, watches w/no hacking & no winding - no talk w/ reluctant concessions to greats like the Omega Speedmaster Moon Watch).
16. Its DAMN GREAT VALUE-FOR-MONEY!!!
17. My specimen has very close to COSC standards.

Apologies for ticking off the long checklist of reasons why I love my OM.

It's a man thing, as you bros can understand.

What more can you ask for? :s12:

slow_mo

Bro slow_mo, one word: Consolidation!

You can trim the fat, excise the duplicates, rationalize & liquidate some of your collection so you can have the funds to perhaps consider trading up your FC Moonphase to an heirloom-potential JLC MUT Moonphase?

Just don't part with your super-chio Seiko SDGZ013 - unless you want to it sell to me! I book first, can? Thanks in advance! :D

My humble WOTD (my firm fav since I bought it fairly recently. Can confirm it's not merely honeymoon glow):

C6HJHcv.jpg

So many reason to love my 2nd gen SRP309 Orange Monster:

1. Those iconic fang hour markers with matching black outline like the hour & minute hands (the 1st gen OM hour markers has no border)!
2. It's even, matching white lume colour compared with the unmatching 1st gen OM.
3. Certified 200m diver.
4. Windable & hackable 4R36 movement.
5. Solid links bracelet with foldover button release & safety clasp.
6. Solid end-links (amazing for a watch at this price point!)
7. Diver's extension to fit over wet suit.
8. That gorgeous, deep orange dial giving off the DOXA Professional vibes.
9. Legendary "radioactive" Lumibrite lume that lasts for hours (yep, even Superluminova lume is sourced from the Seiko-related company!)
10. Its cleaner dial compared to the 1st gen OM (not cluttered with arabic numerals on the insides of the hour markers).
11. Slightly domed mineral crystal (ok at this price point, saying no sapphire is trolling, ok... anyway, for you tactile lovers out there, gliding your fingertips over a dome crystal is a treat!)
12. Its knurled screw-down crown not only looks sexy (like the surface of a filing tool, it's super grippy and easy to unscrew from its lock-down position).
13. Interesting tidbit: when the minute hand overlaps the hour hands, it forms a "rocket"!
14. A solidly well-constructed, tough, heavy, hefty, manly watch with charismatic presence!
15. A bracelet that outclasses many divers in its price range (including its famed stable mate the well-loved classic SKX007/009/173 - I'm waiting impatiently for Seiko to drop the 4R36 movement into this venerable design. For me, watches w/no hacking & no winding - no talk w/ reluctant concessions to greats like the Omega Speedmaster Moon Watch).
16. Its DAMN GREAT VALUE-FOR-MONEY!!!
17. My specimen has very close to COSC standards.

Apologies for ticking off the long checklist of reasons why I love my OM.

It's a man thing, as you bros can understand.

What more can you ask for? :s12:

Great review!!!

Have we met? How you know that I need to trim my fats!!! :(

I love my SDGZ013, don't think I'll part with it unless I get a very good offer. I have a very small collection and they are the affordable ones. Don't think I can consolidate to get the JLC!

rboyboy

But I'm very impressed that young chaps like you (together with young bro Donten and the rest - you know who you are) are already seasoned watch lovers! Good! Good!

I assume you've got the plain, no logo version of the Type A B-Uhr, so you'd want to get a no logo version of the Type B. Since you like the modern case, whether Steinhart or Stowa shouldn't really matter since that's what they both offer. It all boils down to your taste in the crown (onion anyone?), strap (whether riveted or not), case size or even the curvature of the lugs.

Personally, I'm partial to Laco's efforts in maintaining vintage authenticity. Not surprising since I'm on my way to being an old fart (I mean old fossil) soon... roflmao! Another reason why I'm partial to high dome watch crystals. :s13:

I can understand why a young man (and the young at heart) likes Tudor's North Flag - even I'm partial to a splash of yellow on black: it's so sporty & energetic. Got seduced to part w/ premium hard cash for the yellow accented Seiko SRP639. :s34: What to do, it was (and still is) a hot watch.

But b/w the Tudor North Flag and Black Bay (burgandy bezel), it's the BB (bb) for me hands down! What to do, old man like old things like gilt dial and distressed leather strap mah, wahahahaha..... :D

639 vs 643 KYM? :s13:

20150711_210026.jpg

TeenTitan01

Great review!!!

Have we met? How you know that I need to trim my fats!!! :(

I love my SDGZ013, don't think I'll part with it unless I get a very good offer. I have a very small collection and they are the affordable ones. Don't think I can consolidate to get the JLC!

Wah lau, bro slow_mo, fat as in excess watches rah!

Anyway, healthy body fat is good - a sign of good nutrition. Suffering on only small, regular meals of steam veggies and skinless chicken breast just to get that "cutting" and 6-pack is waaa......yyy over-rated and is meant for himbos, masochists with absolutely no taste buds and people who don't have a real world job where you'd be lucky to have time to scoff down your lunch/dinner/supper before putting your nose to the grind/computer screen again... "small, regular meals"? Pfft.

The rest of us normal, mentally well-adjusted humans enjoy our char kway teow, laksa, orh luak, chicken rice, soy sauce chicken noodles, mushroom mince meat mee pok tah, fish ball kway teow, roast meats, mee rubus, mee/kway teow goreng, mee siam, nasi padang, dum nasi bryani, roti prata, tosai masala, puttu mayam, assam pedas, dim sum, poh pia, kueh pie tee, guo tie, hor fun, zhi char, yee mian, mutton soup, bak kut teh, steak, sushi, sashimi, tiramisu, bandung, ice kachang, chendol, portuguese egg tarts, pineapple tarts, durian cakes, etc, etc and weekly/monthly buffet ok - but all in moderation of course lah! heheh. ;)

I support your cautious budgeting discipline!

Uncle here poor man also cut my coat according to my cloth. Seiko/Orient/Citizen is good & respectable enough to satisfy my itch for the moment, at least until uncle strike TOTO lah, roflmao.

While the JLC MUT Moonphase is roughly the price of a rollie sub date (maybe a tad more), we can enjoy its uber elegance & uber style vicariously though photos & videos until such time when budget allows!

Cheers!

Henabi

#walloftext by TT01 hahaah!

but super good review... i tried the monster before but my wrist too small so it look really weird on me :(

PiPiChew

Haha mine has the Steinhart logo since I was too impatient to get a watch of my own using my first salary after ORD and the rest of the watches are like out of stock. Also being my first big ticket purchase I don't dare to buy from Steinhart direct, want to support local business so buy from gnomon lo.

http://[URL=http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/pipichew/media/SteinhartFliegerTypeAPremium_zpsb91b1a57.jpg.html] [/URL]

Anyways I'm not really well versed in watches yet. I only know external factors like materials used and crowns/lugs/bezel/caseback/gasket/straps materials etc.

But internally I have lots to learn. Terms like silicon springhair or bridge or what I don't really know. I have yet to understand the beauty of the movements and I can't even tell visually the difference between ETA and other movements. As of now only know how to appreciate externally but not internally. Long way to go. Bought a Steinhart cos I couldn't afford a Stowa and I wanted to start small.

As for my interest in watches, I guess it came from my dad. He has lots of seikos and citizens and G-Shocks but all divers hahahha. Since young ask for electronics cannot ask for G-Shock confirm approve :s13:

Right now I only have 2 watches, a G-Shock GX56-1A and a Steinhart Type A. Since I know that I would never be able to collect exotic cars or properties might as well collect watches hahaha.

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

TeenTitan01

#walloftext by TT01 hahaah!

but super good review... i tried the monster before but my wrist too small so it look really weird on me :(

Glad you folks like the review. It's truly how I feel about my 2nd gen OM.

Who knows? Maybe it's a start of a mini-craze for the Monster (be it Black, Orange, Vampire, Halloween, Sunburst) just like the mini-craze for the Orient Bambino early last year? =:p

Well, the good thing about the Seiko Monster is that while its case size is 43mm, it's lugs are very short and will not cause overhang like watches with longer lugs.

Bro Henabi, if you can pull off your Tudor Day-Date, the Monster should be no biggie. Because of its thick bezel, the watch dial is relatively small compared to dress watches with thin bezels that are all dial so to speak. The Monster actually wears small for its case size.

My wrist isn't big at all. Didn't bother to measure my wrist size, but from lug-to-lug, the Monster just about fits within my wrist. Perhaps having a flat wrist helps. :D

TeenTitan01

hey teentitan can recommend some sites to learn more about watch movements? i'm interested to learn more about them but i don't really know where to start. Maybe start with parts of an automatic watch? haha

Bro KingJio, perhaps some general mechanical watch appreciation to start off with?

Sharing is Caring:

slow_mo

Wah lau, bro slow_mo, fat as in excess watches rah!

Anyway, healthy body fat is good - a sign of good nutrition. Suffering on only small, regular meals of steam veggies and skinless chicken breast just to get that "cutting" and 6-pack is waaa......yyy over-rated and is meant for himbos, masochists with absolutely no taste buds and people who don't have a real world job where you'd be lucky to have time to scoff down your lunch/dinner/supper before putting your nose to the grind/computer screen again... "small, regular meals"? Pfft.

The rest of us normal, mentally well-adjusted humans enjoy our char kway teow, laksa, orh luak, chicken rice, soy sauce chicken noodles, mushroom mince meat mee pok tah, fish ball kway teow, roast meats, mee rubus, mee/kway teow goreng, mee siam, nasi padang, dum nasi bryani, roti prata, tosai masala, puttu mayam, assam pedas, dim sum, poh pia, kueh pie tee, guo tie, hor fun, zhi char, yee mian, mutton soup, bak kut teh, steak, sushi, sashimi, tiramisu, bandung, ice kachang, chendol, portuguese egg tarts, pineapple tarts, durian cakes, etc, etc and weekly/monthly buffet ok - but all in moderation of course lah! heheh. ;)

I support your cautious budgeting discipline!

Uncle here poor man also cut my coat according to my cloth. Seiko/Orient/Citizen is good & respectable enough to satisfy my itch for the moment, at least until uncle strike TOTO lah, roflmao.

While the JLC MUT Moonphase is roughly the price of a rollie sub date (maybe a tad more), we can enjoy its uber elegance & uber style vicariously though photos & videos until such time when budget allows!

Cheers!

6 pack?! I'm always taught that "United we stand, divided we fall", that's why mine is a United 1 pack.

Don't think I'll get the JLC. I prefer a Rolex (I'm a common uncle). I like the FC cause it's a dress watch and it fits my budget! :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.