The Watch Thread - Part 8

reikizi

Wrist shot?!

with toys look nicer mah ... my wrist ugly .....hahahaha ..

an old wrist shot pic ....

P_20150710_144915.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

randomgreen

P_20150710_144915.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

just a question!

the sumo/blumo that I tried at big time has a different bezel from yours.

as I know that sumo's bezel number font like a bit stretched out one. yours looks more elegant. did you change the bezel or is there another version of sumo out there? :s22::s22:

Minty Mint

P_20150710_144915.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

wahh, very nice watch indeed. can't wait to go try on my wrist myself. Think I almost know which watch to buy already...;)

LondoBell

just a question!

the sumo/blumo that I tried at big time has a different bezel from yours.

as I know that sumo's bezel number font like a bit stretched out one. yours looks more elegant. did you change the bezel or is there another version of sumo out there? :s22::s22:

his bezel is from yobokies;)

TeenTitan01

I love fight club. Recently i watched the shining and i was thinking maybe there is no ghost and thats actually a world which Jack created within himself. We are indeed our own worst enemy

The Shining as in the film by Stanley Kubrick?

Apparently, the film departed from Stephen King's novel to such an extent that the novelist repudiated the film.

And there's some conspiracy theory that says elements within the film suggest Stanley Kubrick helped fake the Apollo 11 moon landing, just like how his last film Eyes Wide Shut, allowed a peek into the Illuminati... ;)

TeenTitan01

Happybro, you mean they can even replicate the movements mechanisms as well as the original rolex? I thought fake ones quality are alot worse than original brand. No mah?
Im also worried of paying 10k for a fake one so asking my fren for lobang seller.

Protip: If you're willing to cough up 10 grand plus for your sub AND INSISTS ON PEACE OF MIND, drop by and pick up your rollie from an AD lah!

Going to RSC to verify a rolex movement when buying Grey or 2nd hand already cost you 100+ bucks, eating into any price savings you may have, plus you won't know how badly that watch may have been abused by don't know how many ex-owners.

Whats a grand difference if you can afford 10 grand - especially for peace of mind? Take it as buying insurance lah! :s13:

Want to be seh, satki and act baller, no moolah how can?

Otherwise be like poor uncle here: stick to respectable Seiko/Orient/Citizen. :)

randomgreen

his bezel is from yobokies;)

thanks for the input :s13::s13:

been wanting to change the bezel or the glass of some of my watches to sapphire. but have been told that any changes to the watch part voids the warranty?

anyone can share whether you mod it after the warranty ends or usually after how long or just don't care buy already mod liao? :s22:

TeenTitan01

depending on what material of the bezel you are going for for the Ocean 1, the Squale ATMOS is slightly more expensive than the Ocean 1 aluminium or around the same price as the ceramic version. I went to gnomon watch recently and tried both. Might wanna call in first and check for stocks if you decide to go there and try.

in my opinion, you can't really compare the above 2 with sumo. Sumo is rather a sportier watch compared to ocean 1 or atmos classic. if you prefer a slightly more casual and sporty look, go for the sumo. i am eyeing the blumo currently :s13::s13::s13:

as for comparing between squale and steinhart...in terms of looks, I abit buay gum the logo of Squale on the dial itself. so in the end I chose to get the Steinhart Ocean 1 Black instead. but with regards to workmanship and overall quality of the watch, I've heard from people that for the price you are paying, Squale probably provides a better quality of the watch overall.

DH7_6074-crop.jpg

picture stolen from WUS by heebs
s_sbdc001a_1_large.jpeg

picture stolen from seiyajapan

just my 2 cents! :s12::s12:

Good post!

I feel Squale's cyclops magnification is higher and closer to Rolex's 2.5x. In contrast, Steinhart's anemic in comparison.

I much prefer the 50th anniversary Sumo's bezel, dial and hand design, with elements that harkens to vintage Seiko divers.

While I admire Seiko's 6r15 movement with its Spron mainspring that powers Seiko's mid-range Presage and Prospex series, the Sumo's bezel font and hands simply feels grotesquely bloated, which is why I'm not keen on the current Rolex GMT II bezel font as well - all squashed sideways... simply don't look elegant.

Also, the proportions of the Sumo is better paired with a 22mm lug width instead of a 20mm.

My 2.14c w/ GST.

fade_white

hi bros and sis, any recommendations for places to get leather straps, either online or brick and mortar? 18mm...

thanks in advance...

TeenTitan01

Thanks bro. Can teach me how to differentiate real and fake? I only know the real one seconds hand glide smoothly while fake ones tick. TIA.

Generally speaking, watches that "tick" are quartz watches because the second hand advances in 1 sec increments by deliberate design. This is done to conserve the watch battery, allowing it to last longer b/w battery changes.

While standard quartz derives its accuracy from being able to vibrate 32,768 times per sec, it will exhaust the battery's energy faster if the second hand is allowed to "glide" across the dial at that rate.

Watches with hands that sweep across the dial tends to be mechanical watches, be it automatic (powered by a rotor through hand motion) or manually hand wound. Actually, it's not a totally smooth sweep. The second hand actually advance at a rate of 6 to 10 "ticks" per sec, depending on the watch movement. Just like how our eyes can be tricked into perceiving motion when enough still images are flashed before our eyes - like a movie at 24 frames/sec.

Nevertheless there are hybrid technology/quartz watches whose second hands glide smoothly across the dial. Among the notable ones are:

1. Bulova's Tuning Fork movement made famous by the Accutron Spaceview.

2. Seiko's Spring Drive.

3. Bulova's Precisionist 262kHz UHF Quartz movement, found slightly detuned in its Accutron II so the watch battery can last longer (they claim 2 yrs).

Seannie

Teentitan uncle, i got what you mean but citizen sakti meh? Japanese watch lei. I thought sakti musbe expensive like Patek. First time heard cheapo also can be respectable. So good why they sell so cheap? Dont really understand? U said jap watches even better cos have their own in house movements etc. So does that mean swiss watches are expensive just to chop our carrots?

Seannie

U know just like cars. People no look up to jap cars like toyota but people lok up to cars like mercedes, ferrari, lambo. Why huh? Can you tell me why? U mean jap cars inferior meh. Cheap thats why not sakti?

Seannie

Uncle titan, by the way, my citizen watch is ecodrive but ticks dont glide, considered quartz high accuracy? Eat sunlight only, never waste battery. Maintenance free. So far so good haven spoilt yet. Once spoilt just throw and get a new one no need repair? Oh and the titanium makes the watch so light very practical for daily wear. I think Japanese inventions creativity very sakti leh. Loving them more and more. Even their ramen also much more delicious and cheaper than chinese wanton mee that i ate at imperial treasure. But hor jap ple ngau lar. Else i go jap co work liao. :(

soilwork

The Shining as in the film by Stanley Kubrick?

Apparently, the film departed from Stephen King's novel to such an extent that the novelist repudiated the film.

And there's some conspiracy theory that says elements within the film suggest Stanley Kubrick helped fake the Apollo 11 moon landing, just like how his last film Eyes Wide Shut, allowed a peek into the Illuminati... ;)

Read about it as well. Like how Danny was sitting down wearing an Apollo 11 sweater and he stood up ( like the rocket launching) and he walked to room 237 ( the average distance from earth to moon is 237,000 miles) and the Illuminati reference is heavy as well in this film.

TeenTitan01

Teentitan uncle, i got what you mean but citizen sakti meh? Japanese watch lei. I thought sakti musbe expensive like Patek. First time heard cheapo also can be respectable. So good why they sell so cheap? Dont really understand? U said jap watches even better cos have their own in house movements etc. So does that mean swiss watches are expensive just to chop our carrots?

Short answer: yes. How you think Swatch Group, Richemont Group, Rolex, etc post record profits year after year? Can't really blame them. It's the nature of luxury goods.

Citizen Chronomaster: Accuracy within 5 sec A YEAR! No need any radio waves to sync to atomic time which only gets limited coverage across the globe. How Satki? To The Max!

Because affordable but high quality, reliable Japanese watches are machine-made in highly automated assembly lines with high QC. Of course, you're always welcome to Grand Seikos, Credor, etc if you like to spend more for extra-special Japanese quality. :D

Own in-house movement means the watch company designed and makes the movement = "engine" of the watch completely on their own, not bought off the shelf from another company like some swiss made watches.
To me they are merely watch assemblers.

patryn33

citizen campanola are great watches!
Japanese Quartz complication but a lot of work done by hand to ensure quality of dial etc.
Their mechanical range are Swiss

patryn33

I was thinking of a basic seiko automatic chronograph... then realized price tag starts from 2k onwards... ouch.

eventually got a blue monster for 3xx instead. might get a sumo next.

p.s.
was thinking of something around S$500-700.
to be honest i didn't know chronographs are substantially more expensive than plain automatics, so was expecting it to cost just a bit (say $50 to $100) more than automatic equivalent... how wrong i was!

i wished i never got bitten by the watch bug... a collection add up to substantial amounts in a hurry

Unless used you not finding chrono that cheap. Chrono movement cost about 2x the price of 3 hand, it's more development than what you think

Uhr on 7750 is under sgd$1k
https://www.uhr.info/en/Chronographs-from-UHR
Grey u can find under 1k
http://www.ashford.com/us/watches/hamilton/khaki-field/chrono-auto/H71466583.pid?nid=cpg_cat6032&so=13

TeenTitan01

thank you dominic, thank you for taking the effort & time to type such a long post today. Im truly apologetic if i did offended you last year regarding your query on lenses, probably i sounded too harsh but i meant well. I didnt expect you to remember it till now, if you never mentioned i already long forgotten. Sincere apologies. I probably was too disappointed by my own sad experience that time to have spoken so bad.

On the topic of rolex, thanks for confirming that the seconds-hand of a real rollie glides smoothly, and a fake one will surely tick. Will look out for that. So will the card also prove its authenticity? I know for spectacle lenses they can fake the card, but im a noob in rolex world. Will they do that too?

Im not too sure if my friend's seller can be trusted or not. But buying straight from AD is a bit steep and the moment i swipe card i lost few k already. Actually rollie is more for attending functions, meetings etc. You know my boss, my clients, professional bodies never look up to us. Not to mention my family. Now i admit this society is much too brand conscious, especially applicable in sg. They see you treat you differently when you are dressed in a certain extent. Im ok with fgake cartier ring cos nobody can tell the difference, really. It looks exactly like the real, just as exquisite and made from real 18k gold. I sell i get back sme monies. But sell fake rolex?

If i wear fake rolex like one bro here said, those rich bosses can surely tell its fake and more look me no up. But cartier you cant really tell unless take the whole ring out and scrutinise. LOL.

I'll keep it simple for you:

When peasant use all his hard earn money to buy genuine rollie until no cash left - just to wear to show off = people say fake because that watch is way above his station. What's worst, if he wear it to jb & kena robbed. Damn sad! :(

When bossman wear fake lolex = people thinks it's the real thing, because he can afford the real thing. Plus it helps if he drives a Merc. Not easy to fake a Merc mah! :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.