Air purifier?

RalliFTO

I think this was shared before but for those looking for Samsung AX40 English manual, you can actually go to the Samsung Singapore site and download the manual for AX41. It's exactly the same.

HorseyPow3r

where got best price sia. base price is 284, the extra free 1 filter need + 60.

this seller has an updated listing which is better @ 304 for the same thing.

Best is the above mentioned if you are looking for AX40 + 1 more filter, cost = $304.
If dun wan filter, go to rakuten SG and buy. $319 less 15% discount code(SEMAIR10) + earn $3 worth of points. 5% additional off OCBC card on thursdays. Can use shopback with rakuten, it seems.

Or get from qoo10 daiso, $269.

ahhhhhhhhh
I bought last week from Rakuten at 313
its selling at 303 now!

where did u see 319?

and don't think shopback works when we have the SEMAIR10 right? tried many times didn't get anything leh

kendrick272

Hi - just want to contribute a bit of info, especially for those around AMK. I went around today, and as result:
AMK Hub Fairprice Xtra - nothing available.
Harvey Norman Djitsun - nothing available.
Courts AMK Central - I saw one Novita (not sure exact model, but quite big - with price $999). Didn't check more detail as it's too expensive anyway for me.
Gain City AMK - only have Hitachi 3000 (2 units left) and LG PS209 just restocked (around 10 units left). Hitachi if not mistaken is $500-something, LG is $299. I finally bought the LG one.

All these are as of lunch time today.
What is the model that you bought?

whoooo

where got best price sia. base price is 284, the extra free 1 filter need + 60.

this seller has an updated listing which is better @ 304 for the same thing.

Best is the above mentioned if you are looking for AX40 + 1 more filter, cost = $304.
If dun wan filter, go to rakuten SG and buy. $319 less 15% discount code(SEMAIR10) + earn $3 worth of points. 5% additional off OCBC card on thursdays. Can use shopback with rakuten, it seems.

Or get from qoo10 daiso, $269.

Daiso now selling $255 wor ..**** so many things to learn for buyong Q00 :s13: me blur liao

YNMmhLT.png

WussRedXLi

Well...you are paying for the outstanding air flow right that you can't deny...
Waiting for users/reviewers of Blurair 203 or 650E to surface and let us know about their experience and whether worth it...

As measured by a govt test lab.

88HogMt.jpg

You'd need change the filter out in about 6 months time. Coz it is not really HEPA, but has an electrostatic element in the filter media. What this means is that as the filter gets "used up", the electrostatic attraction by the fibre drops. This is covered in detail in filter like 3M Filtrete furnace filters (all the way up to MERV 13). This phenomenon is well-known.

It was tested in a lab that the output has a concentration of 8 ug/m3 whereas the others (HEPA) were close to 0 ug/m3. That's really alright, if your absolute airflow is high and you are doing > 5 ACH. Afterall, F7-F9 filters do filter down at 0.3 microns and even 0.1 microns alright.

Anyway, I am doing Taobao HEPA filters with other models, ACH is close to 20, and I can whack it up to 30+ ACH even. At 200 ug/m3 external load, I can dig down to approx. 0.2 ug/m3 in my room. But not feasible, of coz. lol!

The overall CADR number always rules. That is affected by filter efficiency and airflow - CADR.

WussRedXLi

Only has Sharp which I find it quiet...

Maybe going to cost u since u looking for larger AP...Maybe need to get 2-3 :(

Ask Mr Wuu our AP expert :D

Can anyone recommend a quiet and efficient air purifier? I'm using a Honeywell 170e which I find it quite noisy to use at night when sleeping in the MBR. Staying in a 94sqm 4 room HDB. A bigger unit for living room use is fine too.

Samsung AX40 from qoo10, or LA-Q378SB (local model PS-R459) on qoo10 as well. I have 3 pieces of he LG and 1 pc of the Samsung. Used to have the LG PS-S209 as well but gave to my niece who had difficulty breathing starting last week.

Other small points, like replacement filter availability, have to do the calculations yourself. All the info is in this thread.

Since the 2013 Air Purifier thread (deleted), it's pretty standard. Consider the design, power consumption (makes a big difference for 12 hrs daily use, over say 5 years, you can get another AP free coz the electrical consumption difference is more than double), HEPA filter availability, cost.

Some folks new AX40 HEPA filter already starting to smell and need to replace after 2 weeks of use. Looks like the PM filtered inside is quite power. It's not due to the AC filter.

My 2 day old Taobao HEPA is starting to change to a mild grey colour. Still can use of course.

hOp3SoT

ahhhhhhhhh
I bought last week from Rakuten at 313
its selling at 303 now!

where did u see 319?

and don't think shopback works when we have the SEMAIR10 right? tried many times didn't get anything leh

the price fluctuate here and there from 303-323 +- from ytd.

Shutterbox

Samsung AX40 from qoo10, or LA-Q378SB (local model PS-R459) on qoo10 as well. I have 3 pieces of he LG and 1 pc of the Samsung. Used to have the LG PS-S209 as well but gave to my niece who had difficulty breathing starting last week.

Other small points, like replacement filter availability, have to do the calculations yourself. All the info is in this thread.

Since the 2013 Air Purifier thread (deleted), it's pretty standard. Consider the design, power consumption (makes a big difference for 12 hrs daily use, over say 5 years, you can get another AP free coz the electrical consumption difference is more than double), HEPA filter availability, cost.

Some folks new AX40 HEPA filter already starting to smell and need to replace after 2 weeks of use. Looks like the PM filtered inside is quite power. It's not due to the AC filter.

My 2 day old Taobao HEPA is starting to change to a mild grey colour. Still can use of course.

Bookmark first!

kendrick272

WussRedXLi, I saw this link that you provide states samsung ax40 is safe. So it should be alright for newborn?

WussRedXLi

one problem: how do I get rid of the accumulating CO2 if I keep everything sealed for a long period and everyone stays at home? I was planning on opening once the PSI drops, but it's really worrying me now that it will stay this high :sad: I only have a small bowl of a cluster of 5 mini Cacti, wonder if it can help me to suck in the CO2? lolol T__T

Every 6-12 hrs, open the windows wide for 1-2 minutes. Close, blast air purifier at max speed.

PS. Don't rely on the Samsung AX40 / 20 LED indicator as a measurement of air quality. The best sensor I have experienced is Sharp.

If you are interested in checking air quality, get a laser particle counter. And or TVOC meter.

Dew36

actually rite, if an AP doesn't state that it has HEPA then it means it doesn't?

e.g. the sharp fu-z31e - read the product specs but nowhere does it say it has HEPA?
Fu-z31e is h10 for local model. I've the jdm version and it came with true hepa. So if you're concerned, can replace the filter with taobao or jap original filters.

Sent from Samsung GT-I9500 using GAGT

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi, I saw this link that you provide states samsung ax40 is safe. So it should be alright for newborn?

All the stuff I have mentioned are safe. Ionisers can be turned off. I am not sure why so many people are bothered by that though. Besides, the state of California measures the ozone production. Sharp APs, Samsung/LG aircon etc.......all are 50 times below the Ozone limit stipulated by US EPA.

(1) O3 50X below safe limit
(2) Turn off.

meesoto

I have 3 pieces of he LG and 1 pc of the Samsung. Used to have the LG PS-S209 as well but gave to my niece who had difficulty breathing starting last week.

How does the LG compare with the Samsung? Do you prefer the LG for some reason?

Dew36

Every 6-12 hrs, open the windows wide for 1-2 minutes. Close, blast air purifier at max speed.

PS. Don't rely on the Samsung AX40 / 20 LED indicator as a measurement of air quality. The best sensor I have experienced is Sharp.

If you are interested in checking air quality, get a laser particle counter. And or TVOC meter.
Agreed on the ax40 sensor. It's a hit or miss affair. At times, air quality on meter reads near 100ug/m3 and the ap can go blue...

Sent from Samsung GT-I9500 using GAGT

kendrick272

All the stuff I have mentioned are safe. Ionisers can be turned off. I am not sure why so many people are bothered by that though. Besides, the state of California measures the ozone production. Sharp APs, Samsung/LG aircon etc.......all are 50 times below the Ozone limit stipulated by US EPA.

(1) O3 50X below safe limit
(2) Turn off.
Im more concerned for the baby than myself :)

Thanks for the info!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.