TV repair discussion thread (consolidated)

rza29

Mine was 55LW6500 - mainboard no longer in production - so had to buy new TV.

Believe it should be the same case for the 47" model - please do update on the outcome, thanks.

yup LG just called back and confirm mainboard obsolete.

tv repair man say he can change for $220 but i am afraid change liao few mths down the road spoil again.

did u sell away your faulty set? he quoted me $120 for the faulty set.

kun1he2

yup LG just called back and confirm mainboard obsolete.

tv repair man say he can change for $220 but i am afraid change liao few mths down the road spoil again.

did u sell away your faulty set? he quoted me $120 for the faulty set.

The repair man says he's able to get hold of the spare part? If I'm not wrong, they get the parts from LG - unless he happens to keep spares which is very unlikely.

I sold mine for $100 and bought a Sony.

popimac

i have a LG branded tv that is now unable to power up. Went plugged in with power on, only the red light came up and blinked slightly. Pressed other buttons on the side panel but doesn't work. Pressed the Power On/off button and heard a click, but nothing more happen.

the model is 42LW5700-TA. Any bro with similar problem or tv repair expert can advise on the potential problems? Much appreciated!

rza29

The model quite close to my mine but symton diff. U may try calling repair man to ask

peanuthunter

Hi popimac, my TV got exactly the same problem as yours.
My one is a 55LW5700. Eve the date also same. Maybe LG configure the TV's lifespan.
Called LG, they charge 215 for sending a guy, likely charge 200 - 300 for parts. Same 215 charge even if i send the TV to them. No suggestion on possible additional life if repaired, no suggestion on any other solution. really lousy service..

popimac

wah how to check the board whether working or not sia...
dun throw...sell away
Visual check on the power supply board only, for bloated capacitor or burned components. Had my bro in law who is a semicon engineer to check. But the ceramic fuse cannot visual check so need to use multimeter.

On selling instead of throwing, it's too bulky to be laying at home for long so wanted to get rid asap. Also lazy to find buyer. Haha

Sent from Samsung SM-G901F using GAGT

popimac

Hi popimac, my TV got exactly the same problem as yours.
My one is a 55LW5700. Eve the date also same. Maybe LG configure the TV's lifespan.
Called LG, they charge 215 for sending a guy, likely charge 200 - 300 for parts. Same 215 charge even if i send the TV to them. No suggestion on possible additional life if repaired, no suggestion on any other solution. really lousy service..
I really don't trust tv repair service. Most likely they will change the whole board even it's some small component became faulty. And the diagnostic charge is their service fee, no choice.

rza29

Visual check on the power supply board only, for bloated capacitor or burned components. Had my bro in law who is a semicon engineer to check. But the ceramic fuse cannot visual check so need to use multimeter.

On selling instead of throwing, it's too bulky to be laying at home for long so wanted to get rid asap. Also lazy to find buyer. Haha

try calling this Mr Ng 9787 8927. describe your problem and model and he will quote u from there

the_dog

During the heavy thunderstorm today, my Panasonic 32" TV got damaged by a current surge. Now it wont power up. Any recommendations for a 3rd party repair service ? The TV is 2.5 yrs old and cost $600+ new so can't decide whether or not it is worth it to repair it.

petetherock

Factor in that a new 32" is about $300+... then decide.
Of course if you are handy with repairs yourself, it may be easy to find a faulty component.

the_dog

Model is L32E6S. Don't think I've seen any slim bezel smart TV models around $300+. More likely a replacement of similar specs is over $500

Henry Ng

the_dog

Henry Ng

This Sharp is smart TV meh ? No WiFi or Ethernet. Smart TV means generally internet connectivity and built in apps.

Sorry i see the wrong model. There is one model $300+. Remember seeing one sharp smart tv at a fair selling at $399. Panasonic got 3 yr warranty? A good LG 32lf630t is only $400+ with 3 yrs warrenty. Just bargain for a lower price.

the_dog

Don't think any manufacturer will cover lightning surge damage under their warranty. So no point for me to bring it back to Panasonic and pay a bomb for repair. Think if repair costs are max $200, I will get it fixed , anything more I need to look at other options.

Henry Ng

Don't think any manufacturer will cover lightning surge damage under their warranty. So no point for me to bring it back to Panasonic and pay a bomb for repair. Think if repair costs are max $200, I will get it fixed , anything more I need to look at other options.

If under warranty just tell them can not power up and act blur not to know what happened. They will believe you do not know what happened. Just claim their warranty and see what they say. If too much repair cost just get a new one. This LG 32lf630t is 2015 model so it is around $400+ and I guess $469 can get it. They have google play movie app, youtube, toggle and others like Viewster. Google play movies is ~ $4.95 for a movie and some $3.95 and the movies are quite new one like 2015.

mrsun18

If it was a direct lightning strike extensive damages would be obvious. This scenario is unlikely because all our buildings are protected against direct strike. [Latest building codes also specify protection against lightning surge]

It would be difficult, if not impossible, to proof that the tv failed because of lightning surge. There won't be tell tale sign unless you inform the Service Centre.

Since your set is still under warranty, send it to Bedok. It may be far away unless you live nearby. But I believe they will honour the warranty. In any case they will inform you of the repair cost for your agreement, if charged, before they proceed. That's my experience with Panasonic products. Out of warranty repairs are usually slightly less than half of cost of products.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.