Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread II

b00mxer

Wah ok, all along i thought when they go digital, it's to make use of the optic fiber point. Remind me of the times when buses had TV to watch, so nice.

Digital can mean alot of things. Fiber is one. Which StarHub and SingTel is already carrying, called IPTV. Another one is DVB-T2 using traditional ways like antenna to receive better quality images which mediacorp is doing. ;)

albertlee

Has anyone brought STB from Sinho and happen to have the firmware update package?

Kiwi8

anyone try to retune cos Malaysia side DTV signal is up as report by fellow ly members. these are the freq for Malaysia DTV

post-857978-1452272273_thumb.jpg

post-857978-1452272325_thumb.jpg

South Johor now got total of 14 DVB-T2 channels from MYTV & Mediacorp.
List ******************
TV1 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV2 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV3 (MY) 714.000mhz
NTV7 (MY) 714.000mhz
8TV (MY) 714.000mhz
TV9 (MY) 714.000mhz
TVAH (MY) 714.000mhz
I am unable to receive the signals at 714Mhz.

albertlee

amazingone

anyone try to retune cos Malaysia side DTV signal is up as report by fellow ly members. these are the freq for Malaysia DTV

post-857978-1452272273_thumb.jpg

post-857978-1452272325_thumb.jpg

South Johor now got total of 14 DVB-T2 channels from MYTV & Mediacorp.
List ******************
TV1 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV2 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV3 (MY) 714.000mhz
NTV7 (MY) 714.000mhz
8TV (MY) 714.000mhz
TV9 (MY) 714.000mhz
TVAH (MY) 714.000mhz
Are you staying around the North area? :)

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

Kiwi8

Probably only those staying in the north will be able to receive the signals. No luck for me in the west. :(
I am staying in the North, 8th storey of an 12-storey block, and I even put out my antenna just for testing purposes, still dun get the signal. :o

albertlee

I am staying in the North, 8th storey of an 12-storey block, and I even put out my antenna just for testing purposes, still dun get the signal. :o

Did you scan for just 714Mhz or full frequency range? There are other allocated frequency/channel beside this one, check here.

chengsun

My guess this is due to a source of interference, a electrical appliance that is turned on during dinner hours perhaps.

I also thought about that, but there is really nothing that turned on during that period and off after that. most of the appliances are on all the time, or long before that, or long after that period of time.

chengsun

Do your digital channels freeze or flicker often during dinner hours?

I just started watching digital since Monday. And I notice that everyday during dinner hours (starts from 7pm, last for 1 hours plus), the images will freeze or flicker every few minutes, maybe 2, 3 times within 10 minutes. I did not notice such condition in the morning, or at night (like just now watching a bit of Star War on Chn5 HD was very smooth). I did not touch the antenna since Monday after I fixed it at the spot. I honestly do not think that it is due to signal strength or signal quality. Rather, I feel that it is similar to our internet access during peak hour, everyone surf so everyone getting slower access.

Another observation, my ChnU on channel 007 and okto (HD) on channel 008 actually freeze and flicker quite frequently now (yes, now when I am typing this), but ChnU and okto (HD) on channel 701 and 702 are absolutely fine. I switched between the 4 channels to compare, stayed longer period on 701 and 702, no freeze of flicker observed, freeze and flicker observed on 007, 008 within 2, 3 minutes.

Kiwi8

Did you scan for just 714Mhz or full frequency range? There are other allocated frequency/channel beside this one, check here.

I only tried 714Mhz as listed in the previous post. When I have time to tweak the antenna I will test the other frequencies.

Henry Ng

Another observation, my ChnU on channel 007 and okto (HD) on channel 008 actually freeze and flicker quite frequently now (yes, now when I am typing this), but ChnU and okto (HD) on channel 701 and 702 are absolutely fine. I switched between the 4 channels to compare, stayed longer period on 701 and 702, no freeze of flicker observed, freeze and flicker observed on 007, 008 within 2, 3 minutes.

Signal too unstable? Dvb-t2 quite troublesome.

WakaTech

Probably only those staying in the north will be able to receive the signals. No luck for me in the west. :(

maybe u try tweak ur antenna abit. i can receive but its weak. i guess its still testing phase so the transmission power is not that high yet.

albertlee

maybe u try tweak ur antenna abit. i can receive but its weak. i guess its still testing phase so the transmission power is not that high yet.

How to tweak? Using HDB MATV antenna leh.

Anyway, seriously doubt their transmission power will be that strong (and why would they want that?) to cover whole of SG.

Henry Ng

It is not a testing phase, it is a confirmed phase. They are advertising so much on Tv and saying to cut analog Tv so it can not be a testing phase.

Kiwi8

How to tweak? Using HDB MATV antenna leh.

Anyway, seriously doubt their transmission power will be that strong (and why would they want that?) to cover whole of SG.

Judging by the good trend of the Malaysia's old analog signal reception it should probably be the same for Malaysia's DVB-T2 signals, cos the geography of the Johor coastline means that there will still be signals going into almost whole of Singapore, so as long as one's flat is relatively high enough reception should be no problem. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.