Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread II

human_shieldz

True for us but cutting analog tv by end 2017 is not a good news for those super old people who are super poor.

Yeah, i still think a lot of those living alone or something wouldn't know about this and pretty sure a lot of them still using CRT.

b00mxer

Yeah, i still think a lot of those living alone or something wouldn't know about this and pretty sure a lot of them still using CRT.

Still supporting the good move to cut analogue early. If not keep delay delay delay and people will never move ahead.

Kiwi8

Cutting analog tv by end 2017 is not a good news for those super old people who are super poor.

Actually MDA has a scheme in place to set up and give free STB boxes to the lower income households lor. It's reported in the news. :o

albertlee

Cutting analog tv by end 2017 is not a good news for those super old people who are super poor.

Well if you really care about these old folk, can always help out with donation. For big CEO like yourself who subscribe to paid TV and Netflix service, this would not be such a big deal rite? :s8:

jeffrey745

I have 2 tvs that dun support dvbt2 .. think have to buy the set top box.... have one that is of a CRT TV too.... anybody have any recommendations of cheap set top box and antenna? Tkx...

amazingone

I have 2 tvs that dun support dvbt2 .. think have to buy the set top box.... have one that is of a CRT TV too.... anybody have any recommendations of cheap set top box and antenna? Tkx...
You may want to try this set top box available on Qoo10: http://www.qoo10.sg/su/164816027
For the indoor antenna, you can try the add-on mini antenna for another S$1 or you can get this Wavelength indoor antenna: http://www.qoo10.sg/su/164817483

Sent from using GAGT

albertlee

Agreed with amazingone recommendation but do check through the previous buyer's review first especially regarding the sellers.

BTW, you have the same number (and combination) of TV as myself. And this particular STB have HDMI and AV output so there is no problem supporting these TVs.

human_shieldz

I feel u should just buy 1 first, then maybe couple of months before the taking down of analogue then you buy if you still need cos your TV may kaput during this time and u'll buy a DVB-T2 ready TV by then.

jeffrey745

I feel u should just buy 1 first, then maybe couple of months before the taking down of analogue then you buy if you still need cos your TV may kaput during this time and u'll buy a DVB-T2 ready TV by then.
Thanks everybody for the advise!

tk

No hurry if non-hd is still serving you well.. I also have 2 tvs that dun support dvb-t2.. I'm waiting for them to either break down or will change them to new TVs towards the end of 2017.. :D

dexter9898

NTUC fairprice extra at Ang Mo Kio Hub selling it.

You can call Skycom at 67494111 to ask where you can get one (local distributor for Funke).

Funke is a reputable company in Netherlands that specialise in Digital antenna (http://www.funke.nl/).

Some people in the forum may be using a DIY antenna and receive the DTV signal with no problem. I have even personally seen a flat in Yishun able to receive the DTV signal upon powering up the set-top box without the indoor antenna plugged in but if you happened to stay in a low DTV signal level area, a good antenna really makes a big difference.

Funke also comes with a USB 5V inserter cable for IDTV which usually does not supply a 5V power to the indoor antenna.

jeffrey745

No hurry if non-hd is still serving you well.. I also have 2 tvs that dun support dvb-t2.. I'm waiting for them to either break down or will change them to new TVs towards the end of 2017.. :D
Actually I have 3 Tvs all dun support dvbt2, 1 of which I have starhub hd set up box so can watch mostly local channels ,other 2 dun have,jus plug into starhub scv point... problem is my CRT tv using for more than 10yrs n have no problems,dunno when will spoil. Thinking of gettin digital tv box so save $$ and can receive local channels? Tkx

albertlee

Actually I have 3 Tvs all dun support dvbt2, 1 of which I have starhub hd set up box so can watch mostly local channels ,other 2 dun have,jus plug into starhub scv point... problem is my CRT tv using for more than 10yrs n have no problems,dunno when will spoil. Thinking of gettin digital tv box so save $$ and can receive local channels? Tkx

Those CRT TV can really last, I remember my old 14" Akira TV lasted more than 10yrs and another 28" CRT more than 15yrs.

But if you really want to save $$, you should consider discarding the CRT TV as it consume a fair bit of electricity. Just for comparison, a 19" LED TV consume 32W whilst a 14" CRT TV consume 66W.

zoneguard

You can call Skycom at 67494111 to ask where you can get one (local distributor for Funke).

Funke is a reputable company in Netherlands that specialise in Digital antenna (http://www.funke.nl/).

Some people in the forum may be using a DIY antenna and receive the DTV signal with no problem. I have even personally seen a flat in Yishun able to receive the DTV signal upon powering up the set-top box without the indoor antenna plugged in but if you happened to stay in a low DTV signal level area, a good antenna really makes a big difference.

Funke also comes with a USB 5V inserter cable for IDTV which usually does not supply a 5V power to the indoor antenna.

Frankly antenna industry has a lot of snake oil.

Comparing some figures from other commercial antennas vs Funke's claimed figures for Home 2.0 and Combo 5.1, I'll take the claims with a pinch of salt. I personally own a Home 2.0 from DVB-T days. The real life performance of this model compared to my DIY antennas - not much difference but the price difference is a big one.

These days, I rather DIY my own antennas especially if it is a passive antenna. The prices being charged for antennas compared to the prices of dvb-t2 tv boxes from China, it is a ridiculous ratio.

Henry Ng

Frankly antenna industry has a lot of snake oil.

Comparing some figures from other commercial antennas vs Funke's claimed figures for Home 2.0 and Combo 5.1, I'll take the claims with a pinch of salt. I personally own a Home 2.0 from DVB-T days. The real life performance of this model compared to my DIY antennas - not much difference but the price difference is a big one.

These days, I rather DIY my own antennas especially if it is a passive antenna. The prices being charged for antennas compared to the prices of dvb-t2 tv boxes from China, it is a ridiculous ratio.

Please note that funke antenna is an active antenna not a passive one.

chrisvin

Well..it seems that if the cabling is not long and you can already receive well, there is not much need for an active antenna :O

Kiwi8

Active is good if you want stable reception.

But for certain scenarios active antenna also dun work that well. Although they boost the useful signal they also boost the noise in the signal.

zoneguard

Since the active antenna relies on the antenna amplifier to turn from passive to active, I paired my DIY biquad antenna with the amplifier from my Funke/Margon Home 2.0 for some testing.

With USB power supplied to the amplifier, TBS 5220 showed signal quality/SNR of 100% and Signal Strength of 95%, Channel 8's Sheng Siong Show 18 used for this testing.

When I cut power to the amplifier, there was no change to the 2 figures.

kawaii_boy

MediaCropTV DVB-T2 only at 1080i. Look very blur on Full HD LED TV. Hope they can switch 1080p soon

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.