Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread II

hwaa

Of course normal lah. SuperSports Arena is only available via either DVB-C or analog when connected to StarHub's TV point. U use indoor antenna how can it be connected to StarHub's TV point? The signals aren't transmitted through the air unlike MediaCorp's DVB-T2 signals. :s22:

my thinking also like that lah.

but then i asking a qn mah, if i know i still ask meh.

relax lah. :o

hwaa

my fil jin farnie, he rather forgo the HD channels just becos of the supersports channel.

so now back to analog again.. antenna just bought can keep liao.. ok la as long he happy can liao.

by the way analog channels till when then uplorry??

Kiwi8

my thinking also like that lah.

but then i asking a qn mah, if i know i still ask meh.

relax lah. :o

Then u still ask? :o

Just consider the fact that StarHub already has cable laid in almost all households, and that carrying signal via the DVB-T2 platform has high initial costs such as antenna, transmitter, video processing systems etc. Why would StarHub spend more money to carry the SuperSports channel over the DVB-T2 platform when it's not required to do so?

Kiwi8

my fil jin farnie, he rather forgo the HD channels just becos of the supersports channel.

so now back to analog again.. antenna just bought can keep liao.. ok la as long he happy can liao.

If u want best of both worlds, then consider getting a DVB-C set top box. Then can tune to digital MediaCorp HD channels and digital SuperSports Arena channel from the StarHub TV point.

Henry Ng

2020 up lorry la.

Evoker

Anyone can help advise where to get the Funke antenna in Singapore? I went to Best during lunch time. The Taiyo antenna cost $69.90.... If the Funke antenna is good I dun mind getting it over the Taiyo. Thanks

albertlee

jeffrey745

Is it necessary to get digital set up box to receive digital channels? Or can jus use antenna its gd enuf? Thanks.

human_shieldz

Which meant there's still plenty of time left for the switch-over.

Some smart-aleck (refer to a few post back) still claimed it's 2020. :s8:

I always thought it's 2017 or 2018 even before this article. Didn't they state it quite some time back.

albertlee

Is it necessary to get digital set up box to receive digital channels? Or can jus use antenna its gd enuf? Thanks.

Depend on whether your TV has DVB-T2 tuner, if yes then just use any indoor antenna. Even cheap rabbit ear type will work if your area is indoor reception ready. Otherwise a DVB-T2 STB is require.

amazingone

If your current TV does not support DVB-T2, then you have to get a digital set top box to receive digital channels.
If you already have a DVB-T2 TV, you just have to get a indoor antenna will do. :)

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

amazingone

I always thought it's 2017 or 2018 even before this article. Didn't they state it quite some time back.
MDA say analog transmission to be shut down before 2020 but no confirmed deadline, but now it's confirmed that analog transmission will be shut down after 2017, which means from 2018 onwards there will only be digital fta channels available. :)

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

albertlee

Not that I can recall, my own "projection" is end of 2016 or early 2017. Well at least now it is official rather than plain speculation.

Henry Ng

Anyone can help advise where to get the Funke antenna in Singapore? I went to Best during lunch time. The Taiyo antenna cost $69.90.... If the Funke antenna is good I dun mind getting it over the Taiyo. Thanks
NTUC fairprice extra at Ang Mo Kio Hub selling it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.