[新明]四马路 15僧人‘集体化缘‘ ‘包围’公众讨钱惹议

yokine3a

Monks not supposed to touch money and own things. Some local monks and nuns no qualms accepting any pows given to them voluntarily but maybe can understand when cost of living in Sg high. But when I see them living a better life than me (drive car, go casino, wear lolex), I also shake head and lose any faith in religion.

I even know of local monk who put on weight during the Covid years! Dunno jiak simi ho liao.
Yes, they are not allowed to handle money, this is spelt out by buddha in our precepts.

Drive car maybe that car is not owned by them, but under the temple name. Go casino is definitely wrong, according to the precepts. But if he is a fake monk without committing to buddhism precepts, how do we fault him? Wear rolex is something interesting, to ordinary ppl like you, you know rolex is expensive watch, but to a monk, it is just a piece of device to tell time, he probably dun care expensive or not.

To us, we use dharma to govern anything in this world, so, dun use your social knowledge to judge a monk, instead you should learn to use dharma to judge him.

williewombat615

Yes, they are not allowed to handle money, this is spelt out by buddha in our precepts.

Drive car maybe that car is not owned by them, but under the temple name. Go casino is definitely wrong, according to the precepts. But if he is a fake monk without committing to buddhism precepts, how do we fault him? Wear rolex is something interesting, to ordinary ppl like you, you know rolex is expensive watch, but to a monk, it is just a piece of device to tell time, he probably dun care expensive or not.

To us, we use dharma to govern anything in this world, so, dun use your social knowledge to judge a monk, instead you should learn to use dharma to judge him.
The words in bold… my family engaged this monk’s services for funeral prayers. One of my relatives said he ever saw the monk going to casino. Would you classify the monk as fake when he is providing prayer services?

On the point on not allowed to handle money… my mum has been giving red packets to monks at a certain temple during CNY for years. None of them ever rejected the ang pows.

AUTUMN&WINTER

Very easy to recognize the Thai monk real or fake.

1. They don’t ask for money but only take food offering, that’s real

2. Their eyebrows must be shaved then is real one
Thanks for sharing. I know no. 1 but did not know about no. 2. Will take note.

AUTUMN&WINTER

The words in bold… my family engaged this monk’s services for funeral prayers. One of my relatives said he ever saw the monk going to casino. Would you classify the monk as fake when he is providing prayer services?

On the point on not allowed to handle money… my mum has been giving red packets to monks at a certain temple during CNY for years. None of them ever rejected the ang pows.
Giving ang pows willingly to the monks at the temple is ok. It's a way of accumulating merits. The monks did not ask for it, we give willingly. Sometimes I give ang bao to monks at the temple, they did not reject but they put the ang baos in the donation box. It's different from 化缘 when the monks ask for offerings. When the monks 化缘, we can only offer food.

Practicing Buddhists will only engage true monks because we know who are the true monks.

dhlnsz

Every day morning, there are monks and temple helpers from a Local thai temple collecting food alms near hawker centres in bedok and tampines round market. These are real, proper monks from Palelai thai temple in Tanah Merah, they only accept food, not money. If you want to make merit, you can donate food to them.

Visit Palelai temple website

https://palelaibuddhisttemple.org/visiting-palelai/#daily-schedule

Alms-round (Pindapata)​

The daily alms-round, where monks (bhikkhus) gather alms-food in their alms-bowls while barefooted, is practised by the resident bhikkhus of Palelai Buddhist Temple. This practice allows the public to learn about the Theravada Buddhist tradition's monastic way of living and the mutual support between monastics and lay supporters.
Anyone is welcome to offer only consumable and/or uncooked food requisites into the bhikkhus’ alms-bowls. The bhikkhus are accompanied by our volunteers to the alms-round that takes place at 8:15am to 8:45am at the following locations:
Upon returning to the monastery, volunteers will re-offer the cooked food to the bhikkhus during the meal offerings of the same day. All uncooked food requisites will be utilised responsibly by the Kitchen to prepare the subsequent days’ meals.

yokine3a

As stated by another bro, botak with a robe doesn't mean he is a monk. For your case, his job is provide prayer service. He is a monk or not I dunno, maybe you can ask him to show you his 度牒, this is a cert to prove where n when he became monk. Then you can report him to the temple saying you saw him going to casino, his senior monk should know what to do.

tomatosause

Back in December i saw monks in the gucci shop at airport…

knn limbei work so long also cannot afford

BMWguy

Just last few days 初2 I saw 1 of them at the Queen street at coffeeshop opp the temple order char siew rice... I scratched my head o_O and in full monks robe no less
u shd have taken a photo and publish here

Laguna123

Very easy to recognize the Thai monk real or fake.

1. They don’t ask for money but only take food offering, that’s real

2. Their eyebrows must be shaved then is real one
Why monk must shave off eyebrows? Only knew that the alms bowl they use can only ask for foods?

begintoend

why they go guanyin temple?

why the monks dun go to the buddhist temple to ask?

i is not scared bad karma,
i will confront the monk on their purpose huan....
chest front walk upright... :s13:

Lareina

Why this appear in news only no mention of police to intervene this cuz it's illegal and causing public disturbance?
All the aunties unkers dunno how to contact mata??

bigrooster

Some lay people, in a haste to "gain merits", even if they might have half-doubt on these "monks", would also give them money.

These scammers give a bad name to the real practising monastics and the religion; they are committing unwholesome actions themselves too. More people should call them out and stop feeding their deceptive lies and pockets.

Devotees, if they wish, could give alms food to legit monks on alms rounds (e.g. from Palelai Buddhist Temple), donate to the temples directly, or give to other legit charities.

menthol28

u shd have taken a photo and publish here
Lol... I dun like to snipe others.
After he taken his char siew png, the hawker assistant also looks at me in disbelief 😆
Like what some mentioned some monks can eat meat and like some monks in China, they can go KTV and call chicken... So we dun kaypoh so much, as long as got hai gongs donate to them who are we to say it's wrong. Sinkies hai gongs happy 就好

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.