2 weeks Turkey Trip

sprouts

I hope it'll be a good trip for us too. Always been a country I've wanted to visit before kids and I finally get to visit now that they're in lower pri.

Thanks for your many tips!

Thoma5

I hope it'll be a good trip for us too. Always been a country I've wanted to visit before kids and I finally get to visit now that they're in lower pri.

Enjoy… there will be lot of walking also… Haha

naz1983

any update?

looking for year endish trip to turkey hopefully

rough places that are planning to visit are istanbul(obviously), trabzon and cappadocia.

is the taxi situation there really bad? saw the google play review of bitaksi and sounds like a lawless place...lol

really not much trip report of this underrated travel destination.

sprouts

It was a good 2 weeks + trip for us.

We stayed at Sultanhamet area in Istanbul which is within walking distance to many of the main sights if it's your first time to Istanbul. And the hotel we were staying at was also located right in front of a team line which brings us to the ferry pier to visit the Asian side and the Karakoy side where you'll need to cross the waters. It is also easily accessible by the metro or tram from Sultanhamet area. However, be warned that the pricing in this area is tourist kind, high and waiting to katok you. I don't like that area as it's very touristy but it was great for me with young kids.

Other than this area and Cappadocia which is also ex, pricing in other cities aren't that bad. Inflation has also hit Turkey hard and when doing a comparison with my friends, the pricing there has risen quite a bit over the years. So, it may not be as cheap as before.

The landscape is different and beautiful. We particularly love Cappadocia and staying in a Cave hotel was a memorable experience.

As for the Taxi, they will quote you sky high pricing seeing that you're a tourist so we just try to get Uber and negotiate for a more suitable price (slightly higher than Uber). If not, the trams and buses etc are good enough.

luckygal

So far no negative news about Türkiye this year right. As in unrest or something along that line. Plan to go near Xmas this year.

acidcrash

I'm going this June. Do i change Turkish lira or USD? I read they don't use cashless payment much?

claudiusje

I'm going this June. Do i change Turkish lira or USD? I read they don't use cashless payment much?
I just came back. Used cc pay mostly. Only recall the street stalls don't take cashless. I changed $100 worth of liras, brought some EUR as backup and withdrew abit from their ATMs. I recommend change some liras and withdraw as needed there or bring EUR/USD to change if u wanna save on the ATM fee/forex rate.

The few places that told me cc payment would have additional fee were my cappadocia hot air balloon/green&red tour package (but this we verbally agreed beforehand and i prepared the Euros) and taxi (if you flag down. i also read that not all of them take cc). Those shopping stops if you do day tours will quote you a lower price for cash payment in EUR/USD if you intend to buy at these tourist traps.

kennysme

cappadocia 1 dun save... go for it... u wont regret...
for istanbul hotel then go for a bit budget 1... my istanbul hotel only $80/night but the hotel hospitality really no horse run...

my experience of stayin in cave hotel is ok... but i gt a bit suay suay kena hypothermia at there on the second day,the room too big liao for the heater to heat up the whole room so i had to keep sitting near the heater to make myself warm...
Hi, can share which Istanbul hotel you stayed ?

acidcrash

My trip is tomorrow. Which card to use youtrip, trust or revolut? I had a look at the rates youtrip and trust almost the same. Leaning towards trust as can always transfer back the money.

Royaloyd

My trip is tomorrow. Which card to use youtrip, trust or revolut? I had a look at the rates youtrip and trust almost the same. Leaning towards trust as can always transfer back the money.
My personal experience is the YouTrip + Trust card combo is the best. no worries on any fees and the rates are very closely similar. you can use 1 main or the other as backup if anything fails.

acidcrash

My personal experience is the YouTrip + Trust card combo is the best. no worries on any fees and the rates are very closely similar. you can use 1 main or the other as backup if anything fails.
Thanks now in Dubai transit.

mrdeeds

Finally saw a post on Turkey travel. Agree that this is not on most S'porean travel places as have asked friends, colleagues and none has visited Turkey before

now planning for trip next year likely Oct or Dec with a buddy. Besides Istanbul and Cappadocia, any other recommendations for cities to visit and attractions ?

Synchroniza

sorry to hijack. anyone did greece + turkey? is it feasible if travelling for 3 weeks.
Plan to do greece first 2 weeks then otw back from athens fly to istanbul for 1 week before returning to sg.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.