40 per cent of women in S'pore between 21 and 34 years old do not foresee themselves getting married

zhoholang

Singaporean women are increasingly able to access equal opportunities in employment and have eclipsed men in attaining higher education.

In Singapore, the standard narrative has long been that fewer people are having children because fewer people want children. However, a recent analysis from Singapore’s Department of Statistics (DOS) shows that falling birth rates now result primarily from increasing rates of singlehood, rather than from couples choosing to be child-free.

Data that my colleagues and I collected in the Singapore Perspectives 2024 (SP2024) survey helps to explain what is going on. It found that 40 per cent of women between 21 and 34 years old do not foresee themselves getting married.

Already a subscriber? Log in

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...kip-marriage-are-gender-relations-behind-this

What about men stats?

ahnyaahnya

Still have not become the lowest TFR in the whole world. Must get first leh
But some other country already got to be the first to be below 1. And of course where getting to be the lowest, already got there before us. So how can we be the first to get it?🤦‍♀️😳😀

Okmolly

But some other country already got to be the first to be below 1. And of course where getting to be the lowest, already got there before us. So how can we be the first to get it?🤦‍♀️😳😀
Get there below them

Prime 13

What about men stats?

Women who unable to find partner are always presented as financially independent, stronk, hab standards.

Men who no want partner are presented as low ses, loser, unable to meet standards, hab behavioral problems, and put down and shamed in subtle ways.

Honestly the levels of misandry men nowadays are subjected to ish eberywhere.
Juz that many donch realize.

Justanewbie

Problem of developed nation with women in workforce.

High income, social media and K drama raising expectations.

askxyz

what's the reason given? sg too expensive and stressful to form a family? or ?

popsune1

yes, I think this is roughly the reality. The environment is not conducive for getting married.

hardwriter

Pls lah the government don’t want too much sinkies, what they want is RICH PRC and Foreign talent that can boost the economy faster like instant noodle
If got good birth rate is a bonus.

If birth rate lousy also lan lan. No one cares. :o

final1

Singaporean women are increasingly able to access equal opportunities in employment and have eclipsed men in attaining higher education.

In Singapore, the standard narrative has long been that fewer people are having children because fewer people want children. However, a recent analysis from Singapore’s Department of Statistics (DOS) shows that falling birth rates now result primarily from increasing rates of singlehood, rather than from couples choosing to be child-free.

Data that my colleagues and I collected in the Singapore Perspectives 2024 (SP2024) survey helps to explain what is going on. It found that 40 per cent of women between 21 and 34 years old do not foresee themselves getting married.

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...kip-marriage-are-gender-relations-behind-this
Take what you read from ST with a grain of salt.
Local news maybe can read but think critically pls.

Trump news definitely will be fake news if it's on ST. Don't bother.

iceiscold

Don’t worry. Singapore dogs population will going to increase. Can see people rather raise dogs than humans now.

sseasea

They don’t see they going to married sinkies
If marry to amdk I think the percentage will be lower

4Dluckystrike

You forsee yourself not getting rich , means you dont want to get rich ?
You forsee yourself not able to get a house, means you dont want a house to stay?
Mental twister article ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.