4K - A Word Of Caution!!

Norman Chan

If everybody think like this than we are back to the stone age...than why even bother to buy a FULL HD TV in the first place ?

I can always sell you my HD Ready LCD or plasma at a super-super low cost or you just go to those 2nd hand shops to buy a CRT TV instead....since all free to broadcast programs are still at the stone age stages....why even bother to shop for a FULL HD LED TV ???

alamakazim

....to become mainstream.... must be easily gotten from Bukit Timah

storage also must be even cheaper..... wait til 10TB.... so 4TB will be dirt cheap

2016 onwards

yx2000

Come on guys, no one is asking anyone to upgrade to a 4K TV on purpose because most of us know 4K contents are limited.

The thing is when people buy a FHD TV (eg. for new house), they will try to make the best out of their money. UHD TV pricing has came down quite a bit. If you are lucky, you can find a good mid-tier 4K 55" at ~$2,200 range, with HDCP 2.2.

UHD at 5-figure pricing was few years back so it is not relevant anymore. Visit those stores and you can find some good ones <$3000.

As a consumer, since the difference is so little, might as well go for 4K TV at this price right? For such consumers, HDCP 2.2 can be a consideration for their purchase, so as to future-proof it.

All I want to say is buy if it is worth it, and not buy just for it. Take it easy guys!

Happy new year!

surefire888

Come on guys, no one is asking anyone to upgrade to a 4K TV on purpose because most of us know 4K contents are limited.

The thing is when people buy a FHD TV (eg. for new house), they will try to make the best out of their money. UHD TV pricing has came down quite a bit. If you are lucky, you can find a good mid-tier 4K 55" at ~$2,200 range, with HDCP 2.2.

All I want to say is buy if it is worth it, and not buy just for it. Take it easy guys!

Happy new year!

Wise words!

As i mentioned b4, i started this thread for those potential buyers out there who are not aware of the significance of hdcp 2.2 or who have wrongly assumed that hdmi 2.0 is all thats needed.

For whatever reason, some people who have already bgt their 4k tv or amp or whatever have felt threatened and felt the need to defend their purchases. To them i say, this thread is not meant for you - u r free to go and start yr own thread.

As for me, i have done what i set out to do i.e. to raise awareness and I will now leave this thread to take whatever direction it chooses.

Happy New Year to all!

petetherock

Bear in mind, even if the 4k TVs drop in price and come close to the price of a Full HD set, one must think carefully about watching DVDs, or free to air programs on such a set..

It's not always better to use a higher resolution TV. Most members in HWZ aren't even using High Definition sources, so the result may be worse with a 4k TV.

YMMV...

Apparatus

Bear in mind, even if the 4k TVs drop in price and come close to the price of a Full HD set, one must think carefully about watching DVDs, or free to air programs on such a set..

It's not always better to use a higher resolution TV. Most members in HWZ aren't even using High Definition sources, so the result may be worse with a 4k TV.

YMMV...

4K TV is not meant for watching normal DVD lah. You need to watch at least HD DVD or blu ray and above for enjoyment. As for tv programs you have to watch digital channels leh

petetherock

4K TV is not meant for watching normal DVD lah. You need to watch at least HD DVD or blu ray and above for enjoyment. As for tv programs you have to watch digital channels leh

Well that's why I caution about blindly getting a 4k set. I don't think many are using hidef sources in hwz ..

katoboy

May I know if watching on a 4K TV with 1080p source format will it be better than those HD TV any advise thank :)

Apparatus

May I know if watching on a 4K TV with 1080p source format will it be better than those HD TV any advise thank :)

HD TV is before FHD TV. So watching on HD TV only gives 720p even for a 1080p FHD movie.

If you want to watch 1080p movie on a 4K tv it'll be best that the blu ray player comes with up scaling technology. Also, don't sit too close for you'll see pixelation on the screen which is normal for a 1080p movie on a 4K tv.

You'll need those mastered in 4K movies (or higher) to give better details on a 4K tv

cscs3

....to become mainstream.... must be easily gotten from Bukit Timah

storage also must be even cheaper..... wait til 10TB.... so 4TB will be dirt cheap

2016 onwards

You are right. This is not about if you want to go back to stone age. Is about cost of living and how much money you are willing to throw away.

Another good example is the OLED TV. I saw the first LG version. It was sold at $14999.00. 4 months later it was half of this price, at 6th month it was $5999.00 with $1000 free gift. So for those jump in during the 1st launch. They basically throw $10k away. Now is 8th month after 1st launch. New at better design is out at even lower price.

So is a matter of when you need it and if the price is reasonable. In IT world. It is always better and lower price tomorrow. But I am sure I do not want to be the one who paid at the highest price point when the product is not even stable and adopt by the industrial and consumer.

Carnage

The thing is, salesmen are promoting 4K TVs in a very big way.

Was at Best Denki earlier, and the salesman was promoting the non-3D curve samsung TV 55", active 3D. Wasn't interested in Samsung despite their better PQ compared to LG and Sony. Told him I wasn't interested in 4K TVs unless they were less than 2.5k.

glacieraze

Just to share only

Bought a LG 55UB830T on Christmas for 2575.08 from Best Denki.

Come with the following:
$50 Best Denki voucher and 2 more pairs of 3D glasses (From Best Denki)
$150 choice voucher, LG NB3540 Soundbar and skype camera (From LG)

In overall, think is quite a sweet deal since it has HDCP 2.2.

Panerai88

Please read this thread from the beginning b4 jumping in and making yourself look STUPID! My concern was more about AVamps than TVs. In fact, i posted this thread on the Home Theatre forum but it was moved into this House of Display forum by the moderator.

And who do u think u are that gives u the right to come in and insult people? Hv u been taught manners? Or maybe u r just a nine-yr old kid or maybe a forty-yr old with the mentality of a nine-yr old in which case u have an excuse. Otherwise please leave yr insults in some other forum b4 u get thrown out like u deserve - this forum is only for CIVILISED people (plse look that up in a dictionary if u dont understand the word)

I started this thread to give useful information to those who have NOT yet bought their av equipment. If u have already bgt your stuff and believe they are 4K compatible - good for you - I couldn't be less bothered - the road to hell is paved with good intention!

Clap clap! I knew you would do the prata and say that your "good intentions" are more concerned about AV amp connections and AV equipment than 4K TVs, then next time learn how to post in the correct category dufus! This is for display devices not HT category duh!

Anyway lots of posters here are going for 4K TVs anyway and this is 2015, AV equipment will come down in prices and be 4K ready. Do you think we are stupid and need your so called outdated "good intention" Captain Obvious caution?

petetherock

Guys lets keep the discussion to the technical aspects please.
I moved it here as the issue is more appropriate here.
Everyone have a great new year and keep it nice and fresh, thanks!

cscs3

The thing is, salesmen are promoting 4K TVs in a very big way.

Was at Best Denki earlier, and the salesman was promoting the non-3D curve samsung TV 55", active 3D. Wasn't interested in Samsung despite their better PQ compared to LG and Sony. Told him I wasn't interested in 4K TVs unless they were less than 2.5k.

When technology is new. Profit margin and commission is good. Take a look to LG 40" UHD model. Price can be $1099 to $899 in varies shop !

Listen to your pocket, not salesman (especially those promoter from respective brand).

surefire888

Clap clap! I knew you would do the prata and say that your "good intentions" are more concerned about AV amp connections and AV equipment than 4K TVs, then next time learn how to post in the correct category dufus! This is for display devices not HT category duh!

Anyway lots of posters here are going for 4K TVs anyway and this is 2015, AV equipment will come down in prices and be 4K ready. Do you think we are stupid and need your so called outdated "good intention" Captain Obvious caution?

ok, now that u have confirmed that u r just a kid, i will ignore you

surefire888

Guys lets keep the discussion to the technical aspects please.
I moved it here as the issue is more appropriate here.
Everyone have a great new year and keep it nice and fresh, thanks!

Agree 100%. And it was all civil unti Mr Panerai's post #53 when he resorted to insults and name-calling out of the blue. You may want to review that post and determine if he deserves a ban or at least a warning for breaching the etiquette of this forum

Panerai88

Agree 100%. And it was all civil unti Mr Panerai's post #53 when he resorted to insults and name-calling out of the blue. You may want to review that post and determine if he deserves a ban or at least a warning for breaching the etiquette of this forum

Which part of keep it nice and fresh do you not understand? If you have nothing futher to add that is positive to this thread then I suggest you keep quiet. Face it, since mod has decided that this thread is more appropriate for display devices all your previous condescending advice is really outdated.

Note: There is no name calling or insults in this post.

Jeremy1

My sister is a very good example.

She was still using a 34" Toshiba CRT TV for more than 10 years liao and when I asked her when upgrade, she told me still not spoil yet.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.