Votes: 55 75.3%
  • No, status quo remains

Votes: 18 24.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

uncle168

the telcos will cut dividend as they engage in price war to gain market share before 2018

all the share price at least drop by half as the telco nav are all very little

Mecisteus

tp

singtel $2.22
starhub $1.74
m1 $1.68

mm2 asia $0.00168

once starhub is doomed, mm2 will have no sugar daddy to milk

keekeekee

wah uncle trying to undercut starhub until so low? i think $2.90 can start to buy some. this was the price i bought a few years back. then sold all around $4+.

uncle168

starhub nav around $0.05

my father and i go tampines cpf to top up his retirement account

1s $30k 6%
2nd $30k 5%
>$60k 4%

we go uob get cashier order then the branch manager look at me like i want to cheat my father money

after she see cheque is to cpf board she then sign

kudo to the branch manager should be extra careful when old people withdraw large amount of cash

if u have retired and have idle cash it is best to deposit in cpf retirement account

the cpf officer say even thou the cash from my father saving the children can get max $7k tax relief

so next year i pay less tax

me and my sibling give our parents monthly allowance so its win win

my father meet an old friend who also did the same after losing money in lehman bonds

now monthly get money from cpf and interest rate much higher than bank deposit

uncle168

now the stock market is dead

sooner or later it will crash & u will lose all your coffin money

even telco dividend sure drop as 1 more player

better to enjoy life than gamble your coffin money away ah

most ssi will have to work until die to recoup losses

uncle168

m1 nav is higher than starhub as last time it retain its earning and give out less dividend than now

but to give dbs business m1 now give out all of its earnings as dividend

now both telco could default on its debt if the price war cause the telcos to lose money

is is what happened to sph and mediacorp

Sai777

Why use NAV to evaluate a telecom biz? They are in capital intensive biz, should not other financial indicators be used?

Mecisteus

There is a floor to how low the telcos can go. They both are unlikely to go bankrupt. Worst come to worst, can discount a max loss of 30 to 40% loss in their profitability.

Sai777

let's look away from financial and get back to intelligent speculation with common sense

how much is the 4th telco willing to fork out as investment? $400m? $700m or $1b?

Then, if google is providing trustworthy information, Singtel bidded $400m for EPL back in 2009. How much do they bid for the current season?

If I speculate Singtel had the EPL is $400m in 2016. It is still a good $400m. The real number is probably more than $400 as SKY bidded $5.14b in 2015.

So, is the 4th telco a threat, unlikely not.

sandwicher

80% of M1's service revenue comes from mobile services......so be cautious, guys.....M1 is heavily dependent on mobile which is the segment most vulnerable to 4th Telco

Starhub's is 55%

SingTel's is 13%

Given the % above, the proportionate drop in ST prices is more than warranted? Haha

sandwicher

but garment will let foreigners to take our money? will sinkies allow that?

Foreign or local companies will both pay corporate taxes. Local or foreign companies will both employ locals (with the FT cap imposed by MOM) and salaries will be paid to the employees (money back to locals).

What's the difference?

Average

*cough* NOL *cough*

they paid for it mah... nol not earning money liao right?

telco is cash cow leh.

one might cite the example of bus contracts to london operators... but wat i see is the garment just pushing for service improvements. they are forcing sbs n smrt to wake up and also learn from amdk... the contracts does not last very long and the big players are still local bus operators.

OngHuatHuat

The problem is this cash cow is already hugely priced in. Investors will expect forward yield to decrease and hence result in a drop in share price.

they paid for it mah... nol not earning money liao right?

telco is cash cow leh.

one might cite the example of bus contracts to london operators... but wat i see is the garment just pushing for service improvements. they are forcing sbs n smrt to wake up and also learn from amdk... the contracts does not last very long and the big players are still local bus operators.

Average

The problem is this cash cow is already hugely priced in. Investors will expect forward yield to decrease and hence result in a drop in share price.

i means we are discussing if garment will let foreign coy becum 4th telco...

OngHuatHuat

i means we are discussing if garment will let foreign coy becum 4th telco...

You don't let other company comes in, other country won't allow you to come in as well.
Anyway, it is kind of difficult to survive in SG actually.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.