50s and unwanted. How?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

econ food

I met a group of old classmates recently. They are in their mid 50s

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.

1 say he find very long. A few years liao. Steel no jod.

Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.

Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.

Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

Seriously, something is very wrong with our system.

Is this a new emerging crisis?

(Dun laugh at me. You will reach 50s one day and this will be your fate too)
Chu turn 55..alr? Have hit frs in cpf ?

yokine3a

exactly bro ... those 65% made their decision because the reality hasn't set in for them yet ... once they realise like what TS has described ... it'll be too late for them liao ... this is the result of selfish thinking that as long I'm not affected, it's none of my business ... but they don't know it'll have repercussion for them some time down the road in the future for them ...
I encountered a few ppl from 65% on internet during election debates, am surprised at their selfishness.

They bochap on pap open leg policies n suka suka drew electoral boundaries, one even laughed at oppo kena bullied by pap becos it is too weak, not becos of unfair system.

SBC

Why cannot enforce? They cannot use age as a reason to terminate your employment. Yes they still can retrench based on other reasons but that usually comes with retrenchment package
Ever heard of any retrenchment of oldies not made redundant due to job performance?
Or well-performed oldies retrenchment retracted?

stingray1211

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.
Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.
Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.
Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

why you never help them? you quite rich and doing well.

got give them $200k each ? or offer them a job ?

or you just gloat , treat them as strangers and expect others to help them when you know them ? or just typical , my family only. the rest of the world can burn , not my problem , but I complain so that it becomes other people's problems.

VIPHUAT888

They never say how much their CPF wor.

Plus, you never know if they are fake poor.

that’s why investing and saving is important during young age lah!

And also, put down your pride and do those retail job lo.

0218crawford

cool story bro. usually these folks will not join crass gathering one. if they really join, ask them to read the fine print on the t-shirt. 🤣

highsulphur

Ever heard of any retrenchment of oldies not made redundant due to job performance?
Or well-performed oldies retrenchment retracted?
Yes of course. Retrenchment at any age doesn't have to be due to job performance. It just happens.

Lchlch

True that after 50s or even mid 40s, coys usually shun away from those groups.

highsulphur

Hire boomers a lot of problems huan. Like to talk back to you and don’t like to followi instructions. Worst is take a lot of mc and maybe have to foot their hospitalisation bill :(
Wait till you hire gen Z. Think you will vomit blood

Reborn

I took the least MC among my team and I'm the oldest!
i mean thats one of the considerations generally of employers. lower chances of mc, hospitalisations. which they have to pay for interms of salary up to a certain mumber of days of course.

Elfblade

I'll have to ask whom did you vote for?

euro2012

Now is employers market. Don encourage throwing letter unless you took a better offer already..if not just suck it up first
since when there’s employee market one?? 50 years ago i guess?? when poly grads are highly sought after for managerial roles??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.