70-year-old man allegedly hit by cyclist behind Yishun bus stop, calls for 'dismount and push' sign

Akky85

U got to feedback to your constituency's town council and check back with them when are they gonna paint it.
It may be a switch in process.

As in the path initially was meant for a certain segregation, so paint as A, then later on, i assume due to feedback or whatever, change the segregation then need to repaint as shared path (red dotted lines).

My house downstairs, the shared path enlarged to the current sizing, less then 1 year, changed paint 3 times already. A > B > A.

Whimsica

Our social disorder is getting more and more jialat.

Have seen cyclists cycle through a bus interchange in the east before.

Recently saw someone walk his dog in the interchange.

When gahmen dun clamp down hard on such social disorder, our young people will grow up numb and not think twice about committing serious crimes.

That's why we've been seeing more and more assaults, carrying weapons, scams, money laundering and drug dealing by young sinkies.

This is where we miss LKY.

Kiwi8

It may be a switch in process.

As in the path initially was meant for a certain segregation, so paint as A, then later on, i assume due to feedback or whatever, change the segregation then need to repaint as shared path (red dotted lines).

My house downstairs, the shared path enlarged to the current sizing, less then 1 year, changed paint 3 times already. A > B > A.
On the topic of cycling paths I also see something wrong that I want to point out too.

For example a certain road's cycling path is closer to the road than the pedestrian path that is adjacent to the cycling path. But when the paths meet with the bus stop the other way round happens, which means the cycling path goes back to the back of the bus stop, fair enough.

But this results in those on the pedestrian path outside the bus stop have to cross the cycling path to get to the bus stop pavement and cross again to the pavement outside the bus stop.

The crossing would have been minimized if the pedestrian path is kept the same side as the bus stop side aka in front of the bus stop beside the road.

Akky85

On the topic of cycling paths I also see something wrong that I want to point out too.

For example a certain road's cycling path is closer to the road than the pedestrian path that is adjacent to the cycling path. But when the paths meet with the bus stop the other way round happens, which means the cycling path goes back to the back of the bus stop, fair enough.

But this results in those on the pedestrian path outside the bus stop have to cross the cycling path to get to the bus stop pavement and cross again to the pavement outside the bus stop.

The crossing would have been minimized if the pedestrian path is kept the same side as the bus stop side aka in front of the bus stop beside the road.
Retarded right?

It's like whoever planned the path has no eyedeer what he's doing or even why that was planned in the 1st place.

Shinning_Wolf

Pedestrians should not be allowed on cycling paths, and cyclists should stay off pedestrian paths. Clear separation will teach everyone to be more mindful of shared spaces. On shared paths, cyclists must slow down and exercise extra caution.

I’ve seen pedestrians wearing noise-cancelling earphones, completely unaware of approaching cyclists. The same type of pedestrian probably wouldn’t notice a car with a loud exhaust either. I’ve also seen people crossing roads without using pedestrian crossings, making no effort to check for oncoming traffic. Likewise, I once walked around a bend on a pavement and was nearly hit by a speeding cyclist who clearly couldn’t see what was ahead but didn’t slow down.

In Singapore, we have problematic behaviour on both sides, pedestrians and cyclists alike. Both groups must be held accountable.
Agree, never in my life I have seen anyone foolishly risk getting run over by blocking,
Solid Metal always beats flesh and bones.

jywy2005

Those bus stops in front of mrt station should mandate cyclists to dismount and push their bicycles. Imagine commuters rushing from train stations to catch the buses and get knocked down?

Even with signages advising cyclists to dismount and push at mrt station areas, I dun see any cyclists dismount. All continue to ride across. No one cares.. Station staff all hide in air con control room.

kan-kon

ish both must have awareness rah..

but i must say, cyclist have to have more.. cos they moving in higher speed..

simply walk with their bike can prevent many many mishaps..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.