70-year-old man allegedly hit by cyclist behind Yishun bus stop, calls for 'dismount and push' sign

Kiwi8

Walking is a necessity.

Cycling is a choice.
If one chooses to cycle, one should accept the risks of cycling on the road.

I don't understand why that idiotic Active Mobility Advisory Panel passed the danger of collision to pedestrians.

I won't be surprised most of the AMAP members are self-serving cyclists.
I dun agree with this.

If walking paths and cycling paths have been marked clearly, then it is up to both cyclists and pedestrians to follow the paths.

Walking doesn't mean tai sai until need to block cyclists from the pavement. :s22:

BigMonkey

I dun agree with this.

If walking paths and cycling paths have been marked clearly, then it is up to both cyclists and pedestrians to follow the paths.

Walking doesn't mean tai sai until need to block cyclists from the pavement. :s22:
with all due respect, i don’t think any pedestrain will purposely block cyclist (tai sai).

it is more of cyclist thinking they are the priority on shared path, they just rambut and ring ring all the way.

As a driver, we don’t keep horning our horns to ask other driver to get lost, even if we notice pedestrain, we give a single horn to warn the pedestrain that their action is dangerous. We don’t keep horning like the horn is a get of the way card.

Kiwi8

with all due respect, i don’t think any pedestrain will purposely block cyclist (tai sai).

it is more of cyclist thinking they are the priority on shared path, they just rambut and ring ring all the way.

As a driver, we don’t keep horning our horns to ask other driver to get lost.
Some do, especially at busstops where lanes have already been marked specifically for cyclists to move through. People waiting for the buses should take care to avoid standing in the middle of those marked lanes and either stand at the busstop or further back in the sheltered walkway, not stand in the middle.

Level42

I dun agree with this.

Pedestrians should not be allowed on cycling paths, and cyclists should stay off pedestrian paths. Clear separation will teach everyone to be more mindful of shared spaces. On shared paths, cyclists must slow down and exercise extra caution.

I’ve seen pedestrians wearing noise-cancelling earphones, completely unaware of approaching cyclists. The same type of pedestrian probably wouldn’t notice a car with a loud exhaust either. I’ve also seen people crossing roads without using pedestrian crossings, making no effort to check for oncoming traffic. Likewise, I once walked around a bend on a pavement and was nearly hit by a speeding cyclist who clearly couldn’t see what was ahead but didn’t slow down.

In Singapore, we have problematic behaviour on both sides, pedestrians and cyclists alike. Both groups must be held accountable.

dev_stg_prd

normally cyclist will go behind the bus stop so as to avoid commuters waiting or boarding the bus in front what
isnt that why there's a space behind most bus stop nowadays?

why this ah pek go stand behind the bus stop?
This ah pek when cycle got dismount and push ?

mcmxcii

I dun agree with this.

I was talking about pavements and walkways.
Not cycling paths.

BigMonkey

Some do, especially at busstops where lanes have already been marked specifically for cyclists to move through. People waiting for the buses should take care to avoid standing in the middle of those marked lanes and either stand at the busstop or further back in the sheltered walkway, not stand in the middle.
i can’t remember where, but i read somewhere before. but do correct me if i am wrong. there is a guidline for cyclist. if the path does not have a clear path, get down from the bicycle and push.

by that, logically it would mean not ringing the bell and ask other to get lost but it would mean getting down from the bicycle and push the bicycle to navigate the path.

Kiwi8

I was talking about pavements and walkways.
Not cycling paths.
I am referring also to pavements and walkways too.

Being a pedestrian doesn't mean tai sai until a group of pedestrians can walk side by side until the entire width of the pavement and walkway is blocked.

Commuter etiquette is both ways, pedestrian dun block cyclist and cyclist dun block pedestrian.

Kiwi8

i can’t remember where, but i read somewhere before. but do correct me if i am wrong. there is a guidline for cyclist. if the path does not have a clear path, get down from the bicycle and push.

by that, logically it would mean not ringing the bell and ask other to get lost but it would mean getting down from the bicycle and push the bicycle to navigate the path.
If the path is wide enough then it is reasonable to leave a gap for the cyclist to move through.

pohw0008

These cyclist and PMD won’t dismount for the short distant behind the bus stop lah. Must install railing at both end to force them to dismount to push over.
Even if install also won't dismount one.. the most can slow down.. unless you install until wheelchair also cannot pass..

PikaPika33

signs no use one la

everywhere got signs

yet they still zoom and ring you

point them towards the sign they curse at you

some malls install barriers they also no chap
always got ways to squeeze through, until become more of a nuisance to normal human

PikaPika33

stand behind mean can bang meh?

still a footpath

means cyclists on road means car can bang?
no right?

pohw0008

Cycling used to be banned from pavements & walkways. Then that Active Mobility Advisory Panel reversed the ban to protect these two-wheeled elites (from getting hit by cars on the roads) and let them hit hapless pedestrians instead.
Honestly never of that before 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.