About Betta (Fighting) Fish

yihao93

Hmm sounds uphill for a newbie... But else I end up quite boring with a male and female lor, cannot see them fight flare...

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

JUst buy another guy or put mirror for guy lor

kazuki666

buying another fish is less time consuming then breeding them and it would like take 3 to 6 month to reach adult size for betta, since it all depend on the water condition & food.

ok, this may sounds cruel. If i tried breeding with the duo, and results aren't ideal or turns out bad. Does it leave much impact on both the male and female betta?

foxer77

female rip tail, fin etc both stress after breeding.

it a experience gain for u ...

kazuki666

Hmm.... Maybe I see another week or two see how. A male and female put in a divided tank also seem sian...

Btw, I am using a tube to suck out the poo and some weird mucus membrane looking stuff from the water everyday, that's like 10-15%. Then top up with new water (anti chlorine plus salt). Is this alright daily, or leave it and then do it like every 2-3 times a week?

yihao93

Hmm.... Maybe I see another week or two see how. A male and female put in a divided tank also seem sian...

Btw, I am using a tube to suck out the poo and some weird mucus membrane looking stuff from the water everyday, that's like 10-15%. Then top up with new water (anti chlorine plus salt). Is this alright daily, or leave it and then do it like every 2-3 times a week?

Every 2 3 times a week u are already changing water Liao. So just suck out ooo daily. Suggest u buy dropper to make it much easier then using tube

kazuki666

Every 2 3 times a week u are already changing water Liao. So just suck out ooo daily. Suggest u buy dropper to make it much easier then using tube

When you say change 2-3 times a week, roughly how much do you mean? Because I was reading online some will say change maybe up to 50% or even lesser.

Anyway, just now i tried throw in a flying ant in, tried both the male and female. Both of them same reaction just keep circulating the insect but don't touch... I still thought they may eat... :p

foxer77

using straw also can .use your finger cover the tip so there air im the straw . put the straw into the tank where the waste is then release ypur finger the waste will be suck into the straw. put your finger back to the tip and remove the straw.

kazuki666

using straw also can .use your finger cover the tip so there air im the straw . put the straw into the tank where the waste is then release ypur finger the waste will be suck into the straw. put your finger back to the tip and remove the straw.

oh, thanks for the tip. :D

yihao93

When you say change 2-3 times a week, roughly how much do you mean? Because I was reading online some will say change maybe up to 50% or even lesser.

Anyway, just now i tried throw in a flying ant in, tried both the male and female. Both of them same reaction just keep circulating the insect but don't touch... I still thought they may eat... :p

50-60% is good.
Suck the waste daily.
That’s all
They do eat insects actually but it gotta be small if not won’t fit in mouth

kazuki666

50-60% is good.
Suck the waste daily.
That’s all
They do eat insects actually but it gotta be small if not won’t fit in mouth

Took me a few tries to understand the straw technique. :p It does help alot now that I don't need to use the tube to suck out and then top up almost daily.

Btw, I notice the male side usually have some milky mucus translucent looking substance floating around. Whats that ah??? The female side i don't see at all.
Also, recently the male seems to stop blowing as much bubbles as the first few days it came le. Is this ok??? :(

yihao93

Took me a few tries to understand the straw technique. :p It does help alot now that I don't need to use the tube to suck out and then top up almost daily.

Btw, I notice the male side usually have some milky mucus translucent looking substance floating around. Whats that ah??? The female side i don't see at all.
Also, recently the male seems to stop blowing as much bubbles as the first few days it came le. Is this ok??? :(

is ok, just continue water changes and feeding

u bored just hold up a mirror to let it flare or train it tricks, egfollow ur finger. rmb flare at most 1 time 5mins

kazuki666

SOS...
My male betta don't know why a while ago suddenly curled up and stayed at the bottom of the tank, not responding to my tapping on the tank too. To be safe I took out the female put in a separate small bottle for now.

He was still fine in the evening when I was feeding them. Just suddenly wan. What could be wrong ah???

foxer77

SOS...
My male betta don't know why a while ago suddenly curled up and stayed at the bottom of the tank, not responding to my tapping on the tank too. To be safe I took out the female put in a separate small bottle for now.

He was still fine in the evening when I was feeding them. Just suddenly wan. What could be wrong ah???

any water change? see body got itch or white spot? shine it under light.

kazuki666

Yes, about an hour before the strange behavior I did change about 30-40% water, but the water source and ingredients is pretty much same as last week too. I was also shining LED lights over the tank for about 30mins. I realize they tend to be more active when I do that, which I thought should be good for them something like exercise. Am I wrong? I am thinking if it could be the weather temperature being a little cold rather making it lethargic...
Ok, he seems slightly more normal this morning. Yesterday night he was leaning against the wall almost dropping to the ground already... :(
I was worried in case contamination, so I took out the female and put into a peanut butter glass bottle. Will likely monitor for another day before putting back together same tank.

yihao93

100 pct water change put 1/5 teaspoon of aquarium salt . Ur tank put how many litre of water ? 2L?

Also if u worried at night when u sleep cover the entire rank with a cloth or towel to prevent it from getting too cold because the colder it is the slower it is.

Or it just could be it's the lazy type

If u really worried can just up the water change schedule to change 50 pct every 1 or 2 day

kazuki666

100 pct water change put 1/5 teaspoon of aquarium salt . Ur tank put how many litre of water ? 2L?

Also if u worried at night when u sleep cover the entire rank with a cloth or towel to prevent it from getting too cold because the colder it is the slower it is.

Or it just could be it's the lazy type

If u really worried can just up the water change schedule to change 50 pct every 1 or 2 day

Hmm I never measure how big is the tank. Is those toyish plastic with green top.

When you say cover cloth, total darkness is ok for betta fish???

So by right for betta fish, water change better to change more frequently?

yihao93

Hmm I never measure how big is the tank. Is those toyish plastic with green top.

When you say cover cloth, total darkness is ok for betta fish???

So by right for betta fish, water change better to change more frequently?

My fish tank about 3L water I change every 2 day. Got 1 Betta only. Some more u got 2. Mine is 18x13x15cm

Ya total darkness ok when at night lah if during day got towel or not also ok.cos night colder mAh geddit

If u have the time and energy I will seriously suggest u to change 50% everyday

. By right is bigger tank u change water less frequently. Eg both tank with 1 betta. One is 4 litre one is 10. 4l tank change once per two days then ten l tank change once per 4 to 5 days. Then 4l tank got two betta ? Change every day

kazuki666

Can female betta live with other specifies like guppy or gold fish together in a tank?

hachi

Any good place in yishun selling betta? Just got myself 3 from haig Rd market.

kazuki666

QyIFHX9l.jpg

I changed this tank for my granny's betta. I noticed the pump seems to be shooting out water quite strong and pushing the fish. Is such tank and pump not suitable for betta fishes???
Btw, the vent holes are for sucking out???

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.