About PR status when jobless

1982-1994

If you were granted PR under the PTS (professional technical scheme), your REP will be renewed only if you have been working for most of the last 5 years (not official statement). Retirees are reported to be exempt from this requirement as long as they are resident in Singapore and have family ties in Singapore.

means safe as my FIL technically is considered to be a retiree since he's getting CPFLIFE

dambio

If you were granted PR under the PTS (professional technical scheme), your REP will be renewed only if you have been working for most of the last 5 years (not official statement). Retirees are reported to be exempt from this requirement as long as they are resident in Singapore and have family ties in Singapore.

means safe as my FIL technically is considered to be a retiree since he's getting CPFLIFE
Yea. N as long as he every 5 yrs go renew his pr n fulfills d requirements

congster2

Ya lah sg is not heartless lah.

wickedpuppy

Even if not retired, he can stay here permanently with or without job ...

wickedpuppy

yes.. they are 2 different thing but works hand in hand
:cry:
No ...

Eg : rep from 2010 to 2015 ...

He can leave SG from 2010 to 2014 .. and come back no problem...

But he left in 2015 and come back after 1 month but forgot to renew rep expiring in middle of the month..

Then Die. If not how those PRs go in and out so easily ?

1982-1994

No you can be an unemployed and remain PR. Nothing happens to you if you remain in SG. however if you give them grounds not to renew your REP, then if you leave SG, you cannot return as PR and you will become a normal foreigner on visit pass. Usually the reasons not to renew REP is if the PR remains overseas and is hardly here, or is a criminal etc.

Yea. N as long as he every 5 yrs go renew his pr n fulfills d requirements
But since it is hard for him to get a job (at his age), means it would be difficult to apply for a re-entry permit?
Without it, means he cannot step out of SG forever ah (as in to maintain his PR)?

congster2

That's REP ... not PR ...
In our immigration laws there is no such thing as a PR. A person who enters or remains in Sg on an Entry permit/re entry permit, is a PR. An entry permit/ reentry permit is a bit like an opposite of a visit pass. As PR you can remain indefinitely, and you only need an REP if you want to leave AND RETURN as PR.

wickedpuppy

In our immigration laws there is no such thing as a PR. A person who enters or remains in Sg on an Entry permit/re entry permit, is a PR. An entry permit/ reentry permit is a bit like an opposite of a visit pass. As PR you can remain indefinitely, and you only need an REP if you want to leave AND RETURN as PR.

Yes I know ... that's what I was telling him... it's the leaving and come back part ... not the staying

congster2

But since it is hard for him to get a job (at his age), means it would be difficult to apply for a re-entry permit?
Without it, means he cannot step out of SG forever ah (as in to maintain his PR)?
For retirees I don't think need to work lah. So long as he has been in SG and meet stay requirements I don't see any difficulties renewing his rep

jim889

No ...

Eg : rep from 2010 to 2015 ...

He can leave SG from 2010 to 2014 .. and come back no problem...

But he left in 2015 and come back after 1 month but forgot to renew rep expiring in middle of the month..

Then Die. If not how those PRs go in and out so easily ?

ask ica
:cry:

italki

PR never being revoked while REP may be revoked(meaning he can travel to overseas however may not re-enter to SG) depends on individual's condition. My colleague retired 2019 when she was 62yo. she still living in SG and travel to overseas. Seems her REP renewed.

coyote

My FIL is getting CPFLIFE monthly but he kena terminated at work for some reason which I can't disclose,so question, would his PR status kena revoked? Would he need to apply re-enter permit if he goes oversea?
He has a HDB flat which is fully paid

He sponsored my wife to be a PR ,so would she kena affected as well?

He must not leave Singapore without a valid reentry permit. Else he will risk losing his PR. If he leaves Singapore with a valid reentry permit. No issue. That's what I interpreted from ICA website. Why? I don't know. Check with ICA.

Snapshot from a PR friend...

dambio

Case by case basis. Also nv commit any big wrongdoing ok la.

those pr in jb living off hdb rent from their hdb flats. Still pr wat

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.