About PR status when jobless

y2c_whtdouwant

No you can be an unemployed and remain PR. Nothing happens to you if you remain in SG. however if you give them grounds not to renew your REP, then if you leave SG, you cannot return as PR and you will become a normal foreigner on visit pass. Usually the reasons not to renew REP is if the PR remains overseas and is hardly here, or is a criminal etc.
One possible scenario: PR spouse is the sponsor and they got divorced sometime ago, sponsor remarry and sponsored his current spouse instead.

PR now cannot renew REP, but can still stay in Singapore. Can only renew REP when a new sponsor is found.

hhab6ch

those pr in jb living off hdb rent from their hdb flats. Still pr wat
Well, I live in Johor too, but re-entry permit could not be renewed, so PR ended automatically.

This is how there can be 300k former PRs whose CPF accounts are now automatically closed. Majority probably just worked or retired elsewhere, and then became "former" PRs.

fire

One possible scenario: PR spouse is the sponsor and they got divorced sometime ago, sponsor remarry and sponsored his current spouse instead.

PR now cannot renew REP, but can still stay in Singapore. Can only renew REP when a new sponsor is found.

PR can be his/her own sponsor if working here

Krabs.

dont think will happen unless unless voluntarily give up or relocate elsewhere

fire

Well, I live in Johor too, but re-entry permit could not be renewed, so PR ended automatically.

This is how there can be 300k former PRs whose CPF accounts are now automatically closed.

Maybe cos you stay out of sg much longer than remain in sg

wickedpuppy

This is how there can be 300k former PRs whose CPF accounts are now automatically closed.
How come ? Not working in SG ?

hhab6ch

Maybe cos you stay out of sg much longer than remain in sg
I am retired, so there is no reason for me to be in Singapore everyday. But I am way younger than the CPF Life payout age of 65.

focus1974

My FIL is getting CPFLIFE monthly but he kena terminated at work for some reason which I can't disclose,so question, would his PR status kena revoked? Would he need to apply re-enter permit if he goes oversea?
He has a HDB flat which is fully paid

He sponsored my wife to be a PR ,so would she kena affected as well?

Ur wife definitely won't lah.
Ur wife is under you now.

She cannot get PR or citizen, they can all put the blame on you. hehe.

fire

I am retired, so there is no reason for me to be in Singapore everyday. But I am way younger than the CPF Life payout age of 65.

Maybe that's why they deemed you as not permanent, don't want to renew your rep 😂

sunsetbay

There's one jhk YouTuber & his wife left SG for 2yrs already still remain PR~ there's no renewal of PR, only need to renew re-entry permit, REP~ :s22:

fire

If you were granted PR under the PTS (professional technical scheme), your REP will be renewed only if you have been working for most of the last 5 years (not official statement). Retirees are reported to be exempt from this requirement as long as they are resident in Singapore and have family ties in Singapore.

means safe as my FIL technically is considered to be a retiree since he's getting CPFLIFE

Just don't try to get citizenship cos will be rejected 🤣

many elderly pr if have to stay in sg will try get citizenship due to medical cost but most will get rejected 😂

congster2

Just don't try to get citizenship cos will be rejected 🤣

many elderly pr if have to stay in sg will try get citizenship due to medical cost but most will get rejected 😂
Yes, and those are sound decisions. I have PR friends sitting on the fence. I told them decide now(take up), or forget about it.

fire

Yes, and those are sound decisions. I have PR friends sitting on the fence. I told them decide now(take up), or forget about it.
That's what I told my PR friends as well, best to decide before 50 after which good luck to them

weiess

PR can get revoke, but not the reason u mentioned lah..

jinsatkilife

There's one jhk YouTuber & his wife left SG for 2yrs already still remain PR~ there's no renewal of PR, only need to renew re-entry permit, REP~ :s22:
no leh, got PR friend say need stay in sg 6 months average each year

else revoke

Cowbellc

Funny. Instead of seeking authentic and authority reply, u seek advice here?

linzw00

I used to struggle with the concept and the word permanent is not permanent per se. Anyway pr is needs to be renewed periodically.

I read a news many years ago, abt this elderly malaysian spr aunty, for some unknown reasons cannot renew her pr and was stranded. Her hubby was sinkie, all her chewren all sinkies,only she spr and then she cannot renew her pr. Iirc she got no relatives and assets in MY. So became a wb news... dnt know what happened since.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.