ACCA Students.

jasonf31987

I passed F3 liao lah ... but not zhai enough, esp the dbl entry thingy.

Job wise -- 1 full time, 1 part time.

wah bro u power. i working 9 to 6pm already half dead.

only can study weekend.

dr cr is it? yea can attend class to gain better understand.

f7 a lot dr cr?

HornySamurai

seems like ACCA very popular and lots of students studying la.. if not why so many tution provider.

Not only is ACCA popular here, the more important factor for another tuition provider share the pie is that more than 50% of students failed their papers, repeatedly? This is very inviting for tuition providers I think :)

jasonf31987

Not only is ACCA popular here, the more important factor for another tuition provider share the pie is that more than 50% of students failed their papers, repeatedly? This is very inviting for tuition providers I think :)

acca not easy.

a lot of hard-work.

eldaazure

Hi everybody, I need some advise here. Currently i'm a NTU student taking Biological Sciences course, however I've lost interest in sciences, and since I've interest for accountings, I'm planning to change and take ACCA (can't get in to local uni acct), here's my plan, work full-time and study part-time ACCA, is it a good choice??? Or should I carry on with the degree just to get the degree?

Biogentic

It certainly is popular, is growing rapidly, and with the government pushing the accountancy sector here and looking to make Singapore an accounting hub in the region, I would imagine it will only grow further.

About time the likes of Kaplan, SAA and FTMS had some good quality competition I think!
yea especially the recent price increase of SAA and Kaplan no longer providing textbooks anymore... LBSF will sure give student a run for their money... i am look towards what courses it will be introducing... u from LSBF?

Biogentic

I think ACCA just dominates, so CIMA struggles to have a voice. When you see so many others doing a qualification, I guess it feels like it must be the one to do - yet in the UK, ACCA is probably viewed in a slightly lower position than CIMA and ICAEW, neither of whom have much of a name here (although both are trying to change this!)

I think ICAEW has a higher and stricter requirement to gain membership that is why it is not too popular in singapore or even globally. Imagine u have to fork out 30k sgd for your staff to study ACA and you have to get your organisation certified before allowed to be an Authorized training office... the securing of training contract is a key problem here.... there is not much flexibility here.. IMO, the most popular accounting body in singapore is ICPAS neither ACCA nor ICAEW... CIMA is a different category... as the focus is not so much on financial accounting but management accounting as the name implies. from what i know, employers in singapore dun really differentiate which accounting bodies you are from, so long as correct experience and a qualified accountant, it is good enough.
moreover 2 of the big4 here sponsor or send their non accounting graduate staff to ACCA for accountancy training so it is sort of recognised, this is further confirmed by ICPAS which accept ACCA for direct CPA Spore membership.

Biogentic

Hi everybody, I need some advise here. Currently i'm a NTU student taking Biological Sciences course, however I've lost interest in sciences, and since I've interest for accountings, I'm planning to change and take ACCA (can't get in to local uni acct), here's my plan, work full-time and study part-time ACCA, is it a good choice??? Or should I carry on with the degree just to get the degree?

if you will to work full time and study part-time ACCA, by the time you graduate which is like 4years time, u can only get to start clocking your experience from there unless your first job is an accounting related job which is quite unlikely as most requires at least a diploma in accountancy.
if u will to complete your degree first and part-time study ACCA it will be the same as above, u will need even more time to get your first accounting experience.
my advice is transfer to another course which has some linkage with accounting while part-time study your ACCA. economics and computer sci degree are quite good complement, life sci is a total mismatch.

eldaazure

Thanks biogenetic! Anyway, can I ask, in the duration of ACCA, how many papers must I clear before I can be qualified for any junior accounting jobs?

Biogentic

Thanks biogenetic! Anyway, can I ask, in the duration of ACCA, how many papers must I clear before I can be qualified for any junior accounting jobs?

minimum f1-f9 before any company will consider you... most probably start off as an account assistant or audit assistant in local cpa firm.

emokia

We run CIMA at our UK campuses, and whilst there I used to teach CIMA P3 - so if the demand exists in Singapore, why not?!

Are you doing CIMA?

hi.. i once considered taking up cima over acca. cos i wanted to do more of the management side. ended up taking acca though, for duno what exact reason also =X

would it be advisable to take up cima after completion of acca? or is acca enough?

devilbear

any changes of syllabus for the subjects for 2011?

i hear that there is changes of syllabus for june 2011.May i know what are the subjects that is undergoing the changes?Is it major or minor?

maisatomai

Not long ago, had a chat with a guy who is the general manager in ACCA office in Orchard. When I asked him whether Big 4 hire ACCA graduate, he told me he spoke to those partners in Big 4 and they rebutted him "Why not?"

Actually I salute those who has the determination to pass ACCA. It is a difficult course.

emokia

i hear that there is changes of syllabus for june 2011.May i know what are the subjects that is undergoing the changes?Is it major or minor?

i know P1 changed. as for taxation, its common for changes i guess?

jasonf31987

Not long ago, had a chat with a guy who is the general manager in ACCA office in Orchard. When I asked him whether Big 4 hire ACCA graduate, he told me he spoke to those partners in Big 4 and they rebutted him "Why not?"

Actually I salute those who has the determination to pass ACCA. It is a difficult course.

u pass how many modules already?

irvine83

hi guys. any recommendation for p6 advanced taxation tutors?
I saw kaplan and ftms changed their p6 tutors

jasonf31987

Of cos. Most imptly, it is affordable as compared to private degree.

I work 2 jobs so ya, not enough time is 1 factor. 2nd factor is my poor understanding of the modules, esp financial accounting portion.

I need to go back to basics now!

francis chin from ftms not bad.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.