F3Rm1nat0r
what salary is considered ok to ask? currently she is asking 2.2K, too much? she will complete ACCA (all papers this june)
she don't mind 2K also if the job scope is good.I THINK is reasonable. but the impt is that she has to pass the upcoming one....

I just went for the kaplan FIA talk and right now very interested to embark on my ACCA journey.
However, i do not know whether is worth it or not since i already have a degree cert in marketing from murdoch uni (DL). And i have like 4 years of working experience (non accountancy).
Reason why i wanna take ACCA is partly due to interest and also feeling stagnant in doing what i'm doing now. But seriously i do not know whether i am able to last the full 14 papers and of course whether it is worth spending money on the course and exam fees.
Advice?![]()
guys my wife has only 1 optional paper left to do (P4), seems like she is not getting any interviews at all. She has no work experience before this but is looking for an entry level accounting job. How do you all go about searching? any website for entry level acca jobs?
do you'll physically send your resume or apply through sites like jobstreet? she has been applying so many jobs through jobstreet but not even 1 reply so far![]()
agree with u. A/R A/P not easy. somemore in my section the A/R is doing treasury functions, have to do hedging and cashflow forecast along with basic A/R functions. there is still intercompany transactions and balances got to maintain.
it depends on your spectrum and how much u willing to learn. Im in GL but it dun mean i know exactly what everyone else is doing. im fortunate im in GL and last yr my colleague was hospitalized for 3 mths and i gotta cover the a/P side for 3 mths. made me learn alot abt payables and charging to corect cost centres. made me appreciate budgets too.
GL is not everything. is like overview of accts but u nv know the subledgers until u do them yourself.
going into A/R, cashflow, interco treasury function soon. CFO believes in job rotation everyone got to change something to do this yr or next. wish me luck =)
thanks bro, very useful post!I suggest she apply for some internship first?
why not try audit firm? seems like she is more interested in accounting but audit exposure is gd for accounting too.
For big4 and mid-tier audit firm USUALLY they wan full ACCA cert for full-time permanent position. Try applying internship in big4 or mid-tier? of cuz low pay, but would be a gd exp. Sent her resume + cover letter(optional i think but best juz write) directly through their website. FYI, small audit firm accept partial acca for full-time position.
Big 4 audit firm
Ernst & young
KPMG
Deloitte & touche
Pricewaterhouse
Mid-tier audit firms(not exclusively) are:
Foo Kon Tan Grant Thornton LLP
BDO Singapore
RSM Chio Lim Stone Forest
Baker Tilly TFW
Nexia TS
PKF Singapore
Moore Stephens LLP Singapore
Mazars LLP Singapore
Crowe Horwath First Trust
LTC LLP
Actually now isn't the typical internship period, so it might be hard but worth a try. Consider applying intern or full time positon in small audit firm too.
For commerical accounting internship, I dunno where hav but her sch(saa? kaplan?) should hav contacts? try asking?
i cleared my ACCA... jin happy!!
P5 50
congrats.
sian I fail my last paper, 45 marks P7, fail 2nd time already. first paper that fail 2 times. I thought I was quite confident somemore. this paper like quite important cannot switch to other option.
how man...?
dun give up.. i cleared my P7 on the 4th attempt..
dun give up hope!
Thank you.
No idea why so hard to pass it, other papers also not so bad.
Are you working when you take the papers? My last attempt not working but didn't clear it, now wanna find job also hard, not full qualification and got to cope with 2 things.
I Failed my F5 (43 Mark) as expected
and passed my F4 (52 Mark) not as expected, as I expect an higher mark, guess that is due to my poor english.