I did both...
i did bsc business but took elements of accounting, mgt accounting, financial reporting...
i think the only difference from accounting and finance is no audit and no managerial economics
ACCA is very stressful... every half a year got exam... by the time you receive your results, you have like 3 months to your next exam liao... the all the way is like exam exam exam...
UOL is very relax... the whole year like holiday... until May then i start to panic...
For exam...
UOL you know abit is enough... dun need to know too much... i got 4 subjects below 50 still pass...
ACCA... hmmm... always got alot of people get 48... 49... then repeat... maybe another 2, 3 times???
School wise...
UOL i attended a very lousy school... basically my third year got no lecturer... then the one that got lecturer i cannot hear what he say... even though i sit in the third row... no notes either... had to read study guide which was... cheem...
ACCA... because of the lousy school i attended in UOL... i was so impressed when i went to SAA for 1.1, 1.2, 1.3... good notes, good study guide, good exam kit...
hi i have to disagree with some points, i have graduated from both UOL and acca this sem,
as i have benefited from this forum over the past 3 years, i would write abit back for the users' benefit, and i hope this can continue on. for any examinations, it depends on what the individual wants, pass or high score?, lets say with the ultimate prize of achievement, in acca is as follows
worldwide finalist medal > local finalist medal > worldwide subject prize > singapore subject prize > all first time attempt passes > general pass
uol is as follows:
1st class > 2.ndup > 2ndlow > 3rd > pass + subject top > letter of distinction > merit
in either category the first few ones are hard not easy to get and it really depends on what one wants. i prefer see them on what the differences of focus are to look on how they compare on that basis, because they are technically different and people want them in the first place for different reasons.
my basis of the 2 education focus on two different areas.
UOL degree makes you more qualitative and generalist in the sense they make you think. Think of Intro to Econs, or any quantitative subjects, you cant run away from an essay component. They make you work your brains and logic a flow of sentence.
ACCA is clearly a more technical paper, if you know nuts or trying to write away to get it over, its clearly no way. you either know it or you dont. But its not just techinically, as you go into the accounting areas deeper of the FRS, you clearly understand that they make you think, i dont mean the question, they go deeper into understanding how people wants to think. I was a little disappointed with ACCA making the first 3 papers into a mcq paper, i dont think its a good idea for ppl progressing having a culture shock doing the real work in full workings.
I would not compare ACCA LVL 3 / Professional level in this discussion because it is at a higher level than any of the uni acc degree (including local uni, no doubt, if you wonder, because i have asked local uni lecturers / ntu alumni who has become lecturer) P1 P3 may not be, but P4 P5 P6 P7 P2 must surely be at a higher level than uni degree levels.
may i compare the subjects individually if i could,
i cant compare any of the MCQ papers, i have no idea how its like now,
business law - i have seen the uol papers, the idea is similar, but uol is open book and acca is close book
tax - no uol tax subject, and uol gets exemption for tax, its very strange i think, but tax is a really hard subject. i cannot remember remembering so many small details of any subject in my entire life.
F9 / 2.4 - compared to CF + FM (beta portion). Investment appraisals. The focus is very different, CF is very essay and very subjective of the topic that the examiner has focused. The answers to the questions are very specific for uol for the essays, but u wont get a really bad mark if you try. F9 is more FM, has a much wider scope. but then again i can also compare FM with a small portion bit of P4
FR 2.5 i have seen the papers, acca has a wider scope of FRS, uol has a few fRS covered in P2 but are not extensive. uol has an essay component, the question does not vary greatly per year. acca has a wider scope and the consolidation and FRS questions are designed very creatively.
2.6 / audit - acca is much harder. the case study they presented can be so challenging you may not find in the textbook, its good to pass, high score is a bonus. again the audit in uol is more essay based, there are case studies in uol as well. just that acca has one / 2 more questions on case study.
sleepy write another time